Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I had a great experience with PINCC- I have done a lot of international work and I was really impressed by PINCC's approach and model- really felt like we were leaving tools and skills that healthcare professionals would be able to use after we left.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been on two missions, both lasting two weeks: the first to El Salvador and Nicaragua in 2012 and the second to two places in Nicaragua in 2013. I volunteered as a translator, working with PINCC doctors and nurses to train the local medical staff. We worked hard, under demanding conditions, and the rewards were enormous: we were able to train the local doctors and nurses to be able to detect low- and high-grade cervical lesions that could lead to cervical cancer, a leading cause of death among women in Latin America.

PINCC volunteers are dedicated, knowledgeable professionals who give up their time and pay their own way to make an enormous contribution to the people in the developing countries (Latin America, Asia, and Africa). The very small PINCC staff organizes and runs a very tight ship and maximizes all resources. It is an incredibly fine organization that I am proud to be able to be part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more ways to enhance funding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

PINCC is the most rewarding volunteer work I have done. It teaches other health professionals to continue the work of checking for Cervical Cancer in third world countries. We have taught Midwives and Physicians who continue to teach others. And continue to see patients themselves.
When you
leave it feels as if you have done some good.
Plus I always feel as if I have received much more than I have given. PINCC is a great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more help for the overworked organizers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been volunteering for almost 5 years with PINCC as a Nurse Practitioner, and I love it. We work very hard when we are there to train the local nurses and physicians, so that when we are not there they can go on saving women's lives. Cervical cancer is so rare in the U.S. that we forget how many lives are lost every year in the developing world because of it. We know how to prevent this cancer; it is easy and inexpensive to do. PiNCC makes the most of every dollar donated and has a huge impact in women's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a long-term source of donations to increase the range of PINCC's work

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am a member of this board because I am so impressed by how many women's lives are saved with so little money. Medical and non-medical volunteers pay their own way to travel to parts of Central America, Africa and India to screen and treat women for cervical cancer who live in areas with little access to healthcare.

PINCC is always invited to the places they visit and they also train local health workers in the low cost screening method used. This organization's overhead is extremely low and I like knowing that most of the donations and money raised is going to the women who need it most.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it reach even more women.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

PINCC is a very well organized charity that does lots of good work on a very small budget. I have volunteered with them in a support, i.e. non-medical, role in El Salvador in November 2012 and in Nicaragua in June 2013. Carol Cruickshank led the team of volunteer doctors and support folks for both trips. She made sure that the local staff were taught in both a classroom and practice setting in how to perform the procedures to detect cervical cancer and treat it in its early stages. All volunteers were kept fully engaged in seeing the patients, counseling them on HIV prevention, and recording the results of our work. It is a terrific organization and I can't say enough good things about them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I was part of a PINCC trip to Nicaragua in June of 2013. The trip by far exceeded my expectations. Everything was so organized and handled with great care. We worked hard, but got time to relax and experience the city. I felt like our efforts were making real tangible lasting changes in the environment where we worked and we all left feeling like we had really made a difference. The best part about PINCC is that the work is really self sustainable. You leave feeling like you have left the local people with really valuable skills that they can continue to use as well as teach to their peers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

As a nurse practitioner, I have made 4 trips in the past 5 years as a PINCC volunteer. Since my first trip, I have been impressed with PINCC's method of sharing valuable cervical cancer detection & prevention education in locations where screening is neglected or difficult to obtain.

Opportunities to help improve health conditions internationally abound, but PINCC stands out. Why? Because PINCC does not swoop in periodically for a week to provide valuable services that are gone when they leave. PINCC makes 3 or 4 training visits to each site at approximately 6 month intervals until trainees are sufficiently experienced to safely carry on the work alone without supervision and educational support from PINCC. Doctors and nurses are trained in their usual health care clinic setting, with resources available locally, to carry out a sustainable effective cervical cancer screening & early treatment program. They, in turn, serve as a continued resource to their community to train others to carry on the work.

Cervical cancer takes years to develop after the woman is initially infected with the HPV virus. If regular screening methods are put in place, no woman needs to die from cervical cancer. It is preventable. PINCC leaves a sustainable legacy of lasting impact with new skills to carry on and teach to others after their PINCC training is completed and the "foreigners" have gone home.

P.S. PINCC makes volunteering your time and money feel worthwhile and rewarding personally. They take good care of their volunteers and smooth the way for enjoyable team work experiences. You never have to wonder if your personal needs will be met adequately by the housing, food and transportation plans they make for the team members.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I volunteered with PINCC on there most recent trip to Kenya. It was such a life altering experience. I am a Registered Nurse who has seen and heard quite a bit. This experience brought me to tears a couple of times (in a good way). The women were so greatful and the country was so beautiful. While there we educated hundreds of women and saved the lives of dozens who otherwise would have suffered.
I love the fact that PINCC is culturally senstive and does not judge. They take excellent care of their volunteers and really gives you a chance to understand what the world is really about; helping others. Many have asked if I would go back to help again and without a second thought I always say "Heck Yeah!!"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My experience working with PINCC in Kenya was fantastic. Before the trip I was nervous since it was my first time in a third-world country and safety was a concern. From the second I joined the group I felt safe.

Our work was amazing and left a noticeable and sustainable impact on the
communities that we worked with. I will definitely recommend PINCC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers