Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.589745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I am a professional also working in the Child Abuse Prevention field. I truly appreciate and value the information and support that I receive from PCA and the PCAWV state branch. Our organization benefits is many ways including information, resources, collaboration and legislative awareness. I am very impressed and grateful for the efforts of PCA and how it helps me do my job.....and protect children and families! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I worked as a Family Advocate with the Head Start Program in Pennsylvania for 17 years. I was introduced to the important work done by Prevent Child Abuse America when I attended a Child Abuse Prevention conference In Alabama. The commitment, passion, and dedication of the representatives of Prevent Child Abuse America touched me deeply. As a survivor, a parent, a grandparent, and as an advocate who regularly dealt with the impact of abuse of the children with whom I worked, I am grateful to PCAA for all they do. After that conference years ago I returned to work wanting more than ever to help make a difference. I developed a training for other Family Advocates to help share information I learned from PCAA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure they had all the funding they need to reach even more people and touch even more lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I have been a Supervisor with Healthy Families Florida for over 9 years and have witnessed first hand how Prevent Child Abuse America has made a difference in the lives of many children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I have had the pleasure of involvement with Prevent Child Abuse America ( PCAA ) for over a decade. I am the Executive Director of a state NGO and have consistently valued the leadership that PCAA has demonstrated in program development; advocacy/public policy; messaging and research.

I
currently serve as a volunteer in the capacity of a peer review for organizations in the PCAA network. In that effort, I understand now, more clearly the national leadership role that PCAA has assumed to shape stronger communities, support families, raising thriving children. -Pat Cronin

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More resources to provide leadership to all child abuse prevention organizations

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

As a 5th generation victim of incest that finally broke my silence after 27 long years of nightmares and shame, I am honored to have been given the opportunity to educate myself in the field of Human Development and Family Studies in order that I might also help educate others. This is very dear to my heart because I was also a childhood victime of extreme physical abuse, so this particular organization is doing an outstanding job in efforts of support, resources, and educating the general public. I learned of this wonderful organization from one of my instructors at UNC-Greensboro while finishing up my degree. Currently, I'm the Author of "Cleaning Out The Family's Closet...Breaking the Cycle of Pain, Shame, and Incest".

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Prevent Child Abuse - New Jersey is a nonprofit organization that has the charge to prevent child abuse in all it's forms. This is a large and serious undertaking that greatly impacts families and children in New Jersey every day. PCA-NJ is a professional organization that takes pride in the many programs and services offered throughout the state and I can attest that these programs truly make a difference!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

As I told I am from Rwanda where I dhelp the orphans and vulnerable people, here below is one of action. My email: hormis002@yahoo.fr. Phone +250788580616 . In Musanze, Rwanda (Africa) Modeste and Florette, mother and daughter, have discovered how they can realize their dreams through their passion. They both love children, and have a heart for children whose parents cannot afford pre-school or paid childcare when they are out working; after participating in the Training on Children abuse they took the initiative to found the Light Community Foundation.
Even in the rural settings where mothers would be expected to stay at home and work closely to their children, the two ladies had seen the growing trend of young mothers having to leave their children at home alone to earn money working away from home. This would leave the children vulnerable, with no education and prone to be victims of different health and environment hazards even violation.
The foundation would offer a centre where young children could be cared for and start learning literacy basics to prepare them for formal education at minimum cost. This would respond to the need of many parents who could not afford existing facilities. Their proposal pitch won the support district office which offered them to use one of their buildings over a six months period to start implementing their idea. In addition their family and friends were a great support in mobilizing additional funds to get the basics to start up the day care including learning materials, seats for the children and daily.
Five months down the road, Light Community Foundation has established a day care center with three classrooms that accommodate 61 children. In addition to education and coaching, Light Community Foundation project helps children to get meals so they stay strong and focused in the classroom. The centre enrolls children from the poorest families in the community. Parents of children attending the foundation are asked to contribute a little money for uniforms; families that cannot afford this can help with some work at centre to pay off the fees. In the effort of raising additional funds, the Foundation has also formed a cultural dance troop where their children and other young people in the community participate; the funds are an additional source of income to purchase materials and equipments for the centre. From More details, let me know.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Prevent Child Abuse America is a recognized leader in the field of preventing child abuse and neglect. They have proven outcomes in strengthening families by promoting positive parent-child interaction. They support a nationwide network of programs aimed at breaking the cycle of child abuse and neglect. Their model is comprehensive and the training they offer promotes professional development. Thousands of at-risk families benefit from the work of Prevent Child Abuse America. Phil Gordon, Ph.D.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

PCAA is a very active non-profit with satellite programs in every state (that I know of). They are always willing to help support and offer training to other agencies and are extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I spent thirty two years as an abuse and neglect administrator for one of the largest public agency in the country. I also during twenty years of that period was an individual and family therapist often working with abused or neglected children and their families. After retiring I became an advocate as in 20 states it is still legal to punish children in school with wooden paddles. Corporal punishment in school and in homes abounds. I wrote three published articles on this subject. Two years ago I went to the Prevent Child Abuse America Conference in Milwaukee and they were very helpful to my cause. Also they just started a PCAA in Pennsylvania my home state. I wish to ask everyone to support HR 3027 in Committee now by Rep Carolyn McCathy to make corporal punishment in schools illegal in the 19 states where it is permitted. It occurs mostly to autistic and minority children and there have been countless serious injuries. She tried before to pass this bill but there were not enough Congress people or advocates pushing for it . This is something concrete that we can all support and it will make systemic changes if passed. I believe if PCAA backs this in a powerful way changes can be made as not enough advocates have been heard from on this issue.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers