Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.692315
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I am a Board Member of Prevent Child Abuse America and I am also an attorney and a professional who works to prevent the abuse and neglect of children through evidence based programming, scientific research, public policy and advocacy. It is a privilege to be able to participate in the work of Prevent Child Abuse America. This organization coordinates efforts on the national, state and local level to influence policy, practice, and the effective allocation of resources to support parents and caregivers, strengthen families and create healthy, safe communities. With over forty years of research and evaluation, we know how to prevent child maltreatment. Prevent Child Abuse America and the fifty state chapters have myriad successful programs and services. The commitment of the remarkable and dedicated staff motivates the Board of Directors and thousands of volunteers all over America to prevent children from ever experiencing abuse and neglect. Prevent Child Abuse has made significant progress in securing funding, legislation and successful programs and services for our most vulnerable children and families. This only increases our commitment to ensure that ALL children have a happy childhood free from adverse experiences.
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

I am very aware of many charities and their efforts; however supporting PCAA is so different. You are supporting programs and people who work with children who do not have a voice of their own. What could be more gratifying than speaking out/up for those who cannot and may never be given the chance to speak until they are older and in charge of their own lives? Children are dependent on others to set the stage for their life's beginning--lets make sure every child has a beginning that is worth while and excellent! Julia Marynus

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 5, 2013

I joined the PCA board due of their work with policy and Healthy Families. They are 100% focused on change for families and bringing awareness to the growing issue of child abuse. The child abuse num... more

October 15, 2014

I have been a Board member for 2 years with PCAA. I sit on other Boards but none are as profound as the work that the PCAA team does to bring about their message to the Nation. They continually work to enhance their learning and systems so they can be the best at educating and providing evidence based research to government, communities and families.

I am honored to be part of the mission of Prevent Child Abuse.

Yolanda Harris
President
The Keynote Group

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2013

I joined the PCA board due of their work with policy and Healthy Families. They are 100% focused on change for families and bringing awareness to the growing issue of child abuse. The child abuse numbers in America are staggering, change is needed, bringing awareness to this issue is what will provide lasting change. That is PCA's goal.

I am honored to serve,
Yolanda Harris
President
The Keynote Group

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Prevent Child Abuse America has an incredibly laudable goal of ensuring safe, happy and healthy upbringings for America's children. But, what is special, is that they have the team, resources and drive to enact programs and policies which move our nation closer to that goal. I've been nothing but impressed with the caliber of people both on the Board and on the staff, and have been inspired by the CEO's, Jim Hmurovich's, passion and energy. It's a great organization that has already achieved significant milestones, but is on the verge of something even bigger - much bigger.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Prevent Child Abuse America is an outstanding non-profit organization because we pursue evidence-based solutions to prevent the abuse and neglect of our nation's children. We are the only organization dedicated to prevention. We are devoted to the mission and take our duties as fiduciaries seriously. We are passionate and committed, innovative and resilient. We work with all other related partners in providing effective strategies to protect children. We are leaders.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Prevent Child Abuse America is a great organization because they have the vision, courage and motivation to speak up for the lifeblood of the future, OUR children! As a father of three and a six year board member, I can see first hand the level of committment this organization has from every level, every day to be the advocate for our most precious resource and to help all of us who help shape them to reach their potential through love and support.

John Suk
Board Member
September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I am a professional also working in the Child Abuse Prevention field. I truly appreciate and value the information and support that I receive from PCA and the PCAWV state branch. Our organization benefits is many ways including information, resources, collaboration and legislative awareness. I am very impressed and grateful for the efforts of PCA and how it helps me do my job.....and protect children and families! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I WAS ABUSED BY A MAN,SO EVERYTIME I SEE OR KNOW OF A CHILD BEING ABUSED, I PRAY FOR THAT LITTLE ONE! YOU KNOW GOD IS WATCHING AND "WOE" TO THOSE DOING THE ABUSING!! THEY NEED BADLY TO GET HELP BECAUSE IT WILL BECOME WORSE AND WORSE!!!
I AM SO GLAD "PREVENT CHILD ABUSE AMERICA" IS THERE TO
HELP!! GOD TRULY BLESS THEM REAL GOOD!
GOD LOVES KIDS AND I DO TOO!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING AS OF NOW.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

This program, is so necessary when I first heard of this program First Steps and Healthy Family's America I said oh my gosh, they finally have a program that will help new mother's Thank you lord I know first hand how a new mother can be over welmed after a Birth, they help you at the hospital during your delivery but when you go home , you are own your own especially if you have a baby thats sick, for anyone that hasn't went thru this ,please listen we need this program more that any other program we have. Prevent Child Abuse with its First Steps program and Healthy Families America Program Please help new mothers what ever their circumstances are, they will Thank you Later . and child mortality will go down,, and no mother will have to have a Broken Heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more people helping with each program First Steps and Healthy Families America, so more could be done for each mother.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

As an incest survivor, Prevent Child Abuse America is an organization that touched my heart a decade ago. At the time, I was writing articles on the recovery from child abuse, for an on-line blog. I wrote over 70 articles. During that time Prevent Child Abuse North Carolina invited me to read my poem, I Am The Child at the 6th Annual Child Abuse Homicide Victims Candlelight Vigil in Raleigh, NC on Friday September 28th, 2001. I was honored to accept that invitation. That poem was also used in the Johnson County, North Carolina Child Abuse Prevention Task Force’s Blue Ribbon For Kids Campaign. That night changed my life. I knew then that I could make a difference with my writing and poetry. That was when I became a donor.

Since then I've had other poems about child abuse published. My sonnet Fatal Hand was published in the 2000 Quarterly Journal of the Wisconsin Coalition Against Domestic Violence. Kelly Wallace of Ball State University used my poems Flight Plans and Trespasser in a Sexual Abuse Group as therapy hand-outs. In August of 2006, Corinne Henderson-Mental Health Coordinating Council (MHCC) of Sydney, Australia, corinne@mhcc.org.au , stated that they used my poems; Musical Lobotomy and Trespasser on page #1 of their Professional Report: “Reframing Responses-Improving Service Provision to Women Survivors of Childhood Sexual Abuse who experience Mental Health Problems.” because “they so succinctly reflect the pain and trauma experienced by adult survivors of childhood abuse.

So it is with great pleasure that I will continue to support Prevent Child Abuse America.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a commercial about child abuse prevention to be shown all across America. You could even get survivors to be in the commercials.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers