Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.589745
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

As a parent and former child of child abuse, I have been glad to know of the PCA organization. I have been interested in the organization for years and have attended some of their functions for children and parents over the past 5 years. I have enjoyed and been glad for what they do in raising awareness in helping children and parents dealing with this serious matter. I have been an advocate since my first child 13 years ago. This organization is great in that it opens up the heart of people to help children who have no voice or a little one that is not strong enough. More support is needed to raise up the voices and shout out in a good way to solve as many child abuse problems as we can being that there is so many hidden, unreported, or lost situations. Prevent Child Abuse America is awesome in my eyes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Prevent Child Abuse America is a recognized leader in the field of preventing child abuse and neglect. They have proven outcomes in strengthening families by promoting positive parent-child interaction. They support a nationwide network of programs aimed at breaking the cycle of child abuse and neglect. Their model is comprehensive and the training they offer promotes professional development. Thousands of at-risk families benefit from the work of Prevent Child Abuse America. Phil Gordon, Ph.D.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The importance of education and awareness to assist children at risk is something that Prevent Child Abuse America does on many levels from outreach and facebook to politacal action. They know that educating others on the small things they can do to make a big diffence in a childs life. I value their voice and courage.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I've posted two other times advising of my experience with child abuse and to say that my funds are next to none. However, I would be happy to work with children and/or adults that suffer from residual effects.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

PCAA is a very active non-profit with satellite programs in every state (that I know of). They are always willing to help support and offer training to other agencies and are extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I spent thirty two years as an abuse and neglect administrator for one of the largest public agency in the country. I also during twenty years of that period was an individual and family therapist often working with abused or neglected children and their families. After retiring I became an advocate as in 20 states it is still legal to punish children in school with wooden paddles. Corporal punishment in school and in homes abounds. I wrote three published articles on this subject. Two years ago I went to the Prevent Child Abuse America Conference in Milwaukee and they were very helpful to my cause. Also they just started a PCAA in Pennsylvania my home state. I wish to ask everyone to support HR 3027 in Committee now by Rep Carolyn McCathy to make corporal punishment in schools illegal in the 19 states where it is permitted. It occurs mostly to autistic and minority children and there have been countless serious injuries. She tried before to pass this bill but there were not enough Congress people or advocates pushing for it . This is something concrete that we can all support and it will make systemic changes if passed. I believe if PCAA backs this in a powerful way changes can be made as not enough advocates have been heard from on this issue.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I am passionate about Child abuse prevention and Child Protection. I managed the Child Protection program with the California Department of Justice. In 2007 I produced a report on the efficacy of the program that clearly showed that the incidents of Child Abuse in California that are substantiated are reported to the Chikdl Abuse Central Index (CACI in less than 20% of the cases. My attempts to bring about reform were met with absolute resistance by ever stake holder from private non profits to the State Legislature to the Department of Social Services to to the Attorney General (Jerry Brown). The "Stake Holders" are opnly interested in enhancing their own bureacracy and care little about actually providing protection for Children. If anyone in your organizartion or anyone reading this is interested in my documentation let me know. From my view millions is spent and virtually nothing accomplished. The outcome is by design. I have no direct experience with your oprganization but sp[ent 3 years and an enormous amount of personal time and accomplished nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

PCA staff were knowledgeable and passionate about the work they do. It was easy to want to get involved and to want to stay involved since the cause was good and events being carried out were helpful and relevant to communities. There are many ways to get involved and they will value your time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I am a survivor of Child Abuse. I was abused beginning at age 5 until I was 15 years of age. My abuser was my step-father. My mother was aware. During the course of my abuse i had over ten abortions, birthed a child and was physically, sexually and emotionally abused over the years. When my step-father stop abusing me, he began abusing my other sisters. When I began talking about my abuse and dealing with it publicly, i endured rejection from family. I was 45 when I confronted my abuser. 48 when I went public and discussed the abuse, the curse with my adult children. I realized I needed counseling, I called the United Way and they directed me to organizations that provided the counseling and support I needed. There are a lot of me's out here, we are grandparents, parents, mothers, brothers and sisters, if we don't talk about it we don't heal. Please support United Way, they made a difference in my life

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Ineffective and cruel parenting is the most obvious cause of child abuse and neglect. Indeed, child maltreatment is a parenting problem first and foremost. Thus services to enhance, improve, and remediate ineffective parenting are the most obvious interventions to both prevent and treat child abuse.The California-based Center for the Improvement of Child Caring (CICC) recognized this when it was founded in 1974 and all of its services and programs have been devoted to preventing abuse through training and educating parents. In addition, CICC also recognized that none of the parenting skill-building programs that existed when it was founded, programs like P.E.T. and STEP, addressed the parenting stressers related to racism and discrimination. Culture was not an issue that was addressed in those famous programs. So CICC took it upon itself in the late 1970s to create programs that were based on historic and contemporary parenting issues that were unique to such groups as African Americans and Latinos. These efforts, which were supported by research and demonstration grants from federal government groups like the National Institute of Mental Health, resulted in (1) the creation of a national model for training human service and educational personnel to deliver parenting skill-building classes through their schools and agencies, and (2) the nation's first two culturally-adapted parenting skill-building programs, CICC's Effective Black Parenting and Los Ninos Bien Educados programs. CICC also refined a program for all parents, its Confident Parenting child management program. All of these programs were shown through evaluation studies to decrease the use of negative and harsh child rearing practices and to increase the use of such positive praces as behavior-specific praise. In turn, children were shown to benefit from improved and less-violent parent-child relations and to do better in school and be more cooperative in the community. CICC.through its 5-day intensive instructor training workshops which it continues to conduct nationwide, has now trained over 7000 instructors from 40 states and the District of Columbia to utilize these model parenting programs, impacting an estimate 1.2 million families.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers