Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I found myself pregnant at 19 and did not know what to do. I was able to talk with Theresa at the shelter and she helped me through this challenging time in my life. I have a beautiful 12 year old daughter who is the joy of my life. I love the mission of the shelter and am honored to now be on the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

It is my pleasure to write a review for Precious Life Shelter, an organization that I have been involved with over 16 years. I have experienced the love and caring they have for their clients and babies first hand and have enjoyed watching them grow over the years. Precious Life Shelter, their staff and volunteers are there for these mothers, providing the support they need to ensure their child has a safe and secure beginning.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was first introduced to Precious Life Shelter when my wife was pregnant with our first daughter more than 5 years ago. After hearing about the mission (a program that helps adult, homeless pregnant women learn life skills to parent and raise their children), I looked deeper into the organization. I was impressed with the strategy, programs, financial stability, staff, and board. Executive Director Theresa Murphy asked me to join the board and I have enjoyed my involvement ever since. The organization benefits from many volunteers, donors, and partners- including HomeAid Orange County. Everyone that I have the privedge to introduce to the shelter is impressed by the quality of the facilities and program. My church has gotten involved by providing financial donations, a quarterly bbq for residents and staff, and decorating for Christmas. My own mom now volunteers in the licensed on-site day care on a regular basis. A strong source of funding comes from the social enterprise thrift store. The community donates generously to the store, volunteers keep the overhead low, and customers get a enjoy a value-priced shopping experience. Many women and children have benefited from the more than 20 years of this wonerful organization and I have been happy to serve on the board of directors, including the last two years as Chairman, and look forward to many more of involvement!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I entered PLS in 2006 after the Holidays nearing my 3rd trimester of pregnancy with no where to go. They took me under their wing and made me feel okay. I remember Theresa Murphy getting me socks and underwear when all I had was the ones on my back. I stayed with them until my daughter was just passed 2 years of age and things have continuously gotten better for my child and I. Sometimes the program seemed tough. I know that it's designed to teach skills and prepare those receiving services for independant living once they leave the Shelter. I have been able to do so much more than I ever imagined thanks in part PLS and all of it's staff. I continue to go back regulary to visit and attend different functions and remain grateful everyday. If you haven't checked them out. You should! Julia

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I count it as a privilege to provide Precious Life Shelter with this letter as support.

Founded in 1989 Precious Life has grown to provide a three phase program: Emergency, Transitional, and Single Parent Efficiency (SPE). HomeAid is proud to have partnered with Precious Life Shelter
expanding their capacity to serve homeless pregnant women by building four projects for their three programs. HomeAid’s fourth project supports an extension of the SPE program – reunification. At this stage mothers are working to meet specific program, court and social services requirements in order to move toward family reunification.

HomeAid Orange County’s history with Precious Life Shelter began in 1992. Builder Captain Southwest Diversified and JZMK Partners (the architect for all four projects) renovated existing structures which now provide emergency shelter for homeless pregnant women and a thrift store. In 1997 Warmington Homes helped continue their growth by leading the new construction of a two-story five unit building. The facility provides women and their newborns in the SPE program individual apartments to live in while they receive job training and work towards self-reliance. The third project led by Builder Captain Centex Homes was completed in 2001. JZMK Partners skillfully designed a multi-purpose building that provides secure living accommodations for mothers-to-be in the Transitional program.

Empire Homes built an over 5,600 square feet project valued at $1.2 million. It involved the demolition of two existing structures and new construction of two, two-story buildings providing five apartments including both one and two bedroom units. Additionally, there is an office, a new childcare facility and garages.

In total the Precious Life Shelter projects value over $3.7 million showing HomeAid Orange County working with the building industry has played a significant role in expanding the capacity of service provider partners to grow their programs to meet the needs of thousands of homeless individuals and families in Orange County.

In looking back over the nearly 20 years of our partnership, we are pleased in the knowledge that in some measure HomeAid has had a role in assisting Precious Life with its efforts to end the cycle of homelessness for those who enter their system of care.

Thank you for giving us that opportunity!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers