Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
1234.311115
Write A Review
November 2, 2014

more

November 2, 2014

Pratham Books help us achieve our objectives ! Children who have not seen books at home, or fun books, books they can touch, and learn from, relate with - when these opportunities are not there for students, we see how well Pratham books fills this gap -and how ! It gets children interested in reading, in knowing, in connecting and to pick up another book. In India, there are few books relevant to Indian milieu, especially for the lower economic backgrounds - Pratham books comes in beautifully for all children with their books! The books have been affordable and are beautifully illustrated. The number of languages Pratham books publish is also an advantage - and the Level one, English books, become a stepping stone for children learning English. I have found Pratham books great way to express, and encourage children to read and know. Keep going !
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

The books are well-produced, extremely affordable and Indian in sensibility, something we could have more of. The multi-lingual versions are a treat. It's not just about producing nice books, they do so much more to take the products to disadvantaged communities and to encourage reading. Pratham Books are my favourite gift for children. I've bought at least 50 Pratham books so far!
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Pratham books are interesting,simple and classy.It encourages children to read more and more!.
Great Initiative.

November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

Pratham books are interesting,simple and classy.It encourages children to read more and more!
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

I have always been a fan of Pratham Books. There are a lot of things that Pratham does, but their books are very special. The cost of the books is so less that even a huge pile costs a very reasonable amount. I like how their vision makes them publish books in so many languages. Their social media group is active with a blog post published almost daily! Maya especially is always so warm, Purvi and one more person on the team who are have always been so kind. They take other smaller organisations and people with them to make a bigger impact. Their PBC is one such initiative where everyone gets together- I have rarely seen organisations who do that. Once as PBC conducts a story telling session, they are given a small gift which tends me extra special! They are quick at responding and always accommodate requests and people. Their library in class project ensured so many students get access to books easily. Their books reach on time, in case an order is placed. I can go on about my love for Pratham books and especially about the professional way in which they work as I have known them for 5 years now! I am in awe of them and only wish they get bigger and bigger!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

If it were not for Prtham Books I would have never been able to reach out to rural children and give them the joy of reading and learning. Not only are they themselves working passionately to spread the joy of reading among the underprivileged children, they have given volunteers like me a wonderful platform and opportunity to do this and love specially their beutifully illustrated picture books!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I was involved in Pratham's effort to promote the reading habit among Indian children for two years by having my school, Al Qamar Academy participate in the International Literacy Day celebrations. I've been very impressed by their dedication, organised approach and thoughtful selection of book titles.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Pratham Books brings out bright, colourful books with beautiful artwork. More than the art, the tidbits of information and concepts, and subtle morals conveyed in the story are good for a child's soul. I have volunteered as a storyteller for Pratham Books for the past five years. Their co-ordination of the worldwide storytelling event on one particular day, usually International Literacy day, is excellent. The excitement starts right from the time we receive books, banners, tips for storytelling and more. Pratham Books has a Champions Blog in which they record all the storytelling events. The reach of Pratham books is very good, more so because of the different Indian languages their books come out in.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My kid started reading passionately through Pratham books from the age of 4. For the book challenge, I nominated my 8 year old and was surprised that the ones which topped her list were from Pratham. For me, Pratham settled it :)
The write up at the back page of the book is quite pleasant and
eye opening, conveying a sweet message to kids across the different strata of the society in their own terms. It is quite an epiphany for younger kids who don't get much chance to interact outside the closed community they live in.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Pratham Books is a non-profit organisation dedicated to its mission of giving a book in every child's hand. In a country like India where income gaps are manifold, a book is not priority for low income families, where children lend a hand with household or other work.

But Pratham now
helps these children live their childhood. Through its committed volunteers, Pratham takes these children into a different world through its varied kinds of books. It helps them enjoy, learn, imagine, dream and aspire.

Not only that, Pratham has made high quality books possible at a low-cost, allowing people to donate entire libraries to schools totally deprived of books.

Pratham's books are available in several Indian languages that encourage children to remain connected and be proud of their mother tongue. Children all over the country can read the same book in a language they are comfortable with.

Pratham Books has inspired even grown-ups who seek to give back to the community, making them 'Champions' of the cause.

Finally, Pratham has kept up with current technologies by digitising some of its books and making them available in a freely downloadable format.

As a former pre-school teacher, I have used the digital version of some of Pratham's stories in the classroom. The beautifully illustrated stories that encompass a variety of topics, both fiction and non-fiction, brought delight to the children, many of whom are not read to in their homes.

I think the Pratham Books team has come a long way in its ten years of existence. They continue to work hard in their mission of 'a book in every child's hand'.


Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

conduct a storytelling session, translate our books, make a derivative of our content (example : apps, Braille books, etc) Volunteer