Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 28, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 25, 2010

Prairie Wildlife Research is an organization dedicated to preserving the fragile ecosystems of the prairie. One aspect of this ecosystem is the endangered Black Footed Ferret. Once thought to be EXTI... more

April 28, 2012

I once had the honor and once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to help Travis out with trapping and treating Black Footed Ferrets in the Conata Basin, SD. It was such an amazing experience and we were lucky enough to trap 18 ferrets and get them vaccinated, "de-parasitized" and microchipped. A few of them had already been chipped, so it was rewarding to be able to learn that these endangered animals are actually surviving in the wild, bringing them back from the brink of extinction. Without Travis and his crew of dedicated professionals, these wonderful animals wouldn't stand a chance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2010

Prairie Wildlife Research is an organization dedicated to preserving the fragile ecosystems of the prairie. One aspect of this ecosystem is the endangered Black Footed Ferret. Once thought to be EXTINCT, 18 ferrets were discovered and from those ferrets, the PWR has been able to replenish the praries with this amazing critter over the last 28 years. They still have a long way to go, and each dollar donated goes right back to the resources needed to help bring this species back from the brink. I had the opportunity to see first hand what the crew of PWR has to go through to keep these animls healthy in the wild. It was the most incredible experience of my life and I thank these dedicated people for all they do, year in and year out.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been to South Dakota and seen first hand what th PWR staff has to do on a (almost) nightly basis, weather permitting.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 26, 2012

more

April 26, 2012

I have never formally met Travis; but in 2008, I found myself on the receiving end of 2 long tailed weasel kits (eyes still closed) that were referred by our local F&G to my shelter, where I take in domestic ferrets and find them homes outside of CA. Having no clue where to start, I did a lot of on-line research and made some cross country calls. Travis was one of them, and he gave me some great pointers on how to raise these mustelids for release properly. Long story short, they survived and a year later we were lucky enough to spot kits on our property. Being a lover of all things mustelid, I became very interested in what Travis was working on. He is unassuming, hardworking, gracious and dedicated to the restoration & survival of BFF's to their native habitat. I feel honored to know him and support such a worthy cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

PWR is a fantastic organization dedicated to the conservation of black-footed ferrets and all prairie wildlife and habitat. PWR has made (and continues to make) a tremendous effort helping BFFs in South Dakota, Kansas, New Mexico, Canada, and many other places where they are currently found. Thank you PWR!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I have had the privilege of working on a ferret project in Kansas that Travis has helped with, and I have had the opportunity to hear him speak to a group as well as individuals. He is very passionate and knowledgeable, and truly dedicated to prairie conservation. I support his organization through donations and by directing people to his very informative web site to learn more. Prairie Wildlife Research is awesome!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I had the pleasure and priviledge of meeting and talking to Travis. He allowed me to ask a gizillion questions while he taught me about his project. I have immense respect for this man who quietly works to save an important factor of our prairies. Yea for Travis and Prairie Willife Research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I have followed PRW over the years. I am more than happy to see the great strides they have accomplished in the fight to reintroduce BFF's. I look forward to the future of PRW and their role in the eventual removing of BFF's from the endangered species list. To all the employees and volunteers of PRW. You make an impact on the world. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I still wear my Black Footed Ferret pin proudly...lots of cool stuff in the adoption packages, but it makes it all worth it just knowing that my money is going to a great cause. Kelly V.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I recently donated to the Prairie Wildlife Research and became an adoptive parent to a few Black Footed Ferrets (BFF)s. I was sent in return many trinkets, photos, a certificate, and 2 DVDs that greatly heightened my awareness to these beautiful creatures. Travis and the staff is doing an excellent job with the reintroduction and more importantly, education to the general public who, much like me, probably never heard of the BFFs until now. I commend him and all the workers at PWR and wish them continued success!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

I have worked to save prairie dogs for well over a decade and have truly enjoyed the partnership and work ethic of the folks with Prairie Wildlife Research, Inc. Travis has been more than willing to share information whenever it is needed and has always been a great help with prairie dog issues we face daily. We have discussed everything from the best traps for our work and details in working with government agencies. It takes all of us working together to save our prairies and all of the wildlife we love and appreciate on our prairies.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

more

April 6, 2012

The commitment and compassion that Travis and April have for the Mission of PWR is inspiring. What Travis does to help people understand the connection of all the Prairie species to the health of that eco-system is phenomenal. We own a horse ranch in short grass prairie land in Northern Colorado and our goal is educate people about the importance of their connection to the Whole. Through this journey we have had the opportunity to help many people understand the importance of the prairie dog in our world. Many people are often shocked when we talk about our love for the prairie dog colony that co-exists in the same pasture with our horses. When I met Travis, he helped me understand even more about the importance of the prairie dog and how difficult it is to spread that word. The black-footed ferret relies on the prairie dog for food and shelter and protection. Travis has a difficult time convincing ranchers that the prairie dog is a vital part of their desire to maintain a healthy grass land for grazing, yet he remains positive and personable in the face of adversity. I admire the fact that Travis continues to share, educate and put boots to ground in working with the black-footed ferret in an effort to restore balance to our prairie lands. Thank you Travis. Thank you April.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers