Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.884625
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

From the beginning I was struck by the strength of PowerPlay's mission: educating and enpowering girls through sports to build greater self-esteem and leadership. I truly believe in this and have seen first hand how this translates into growth and development for the girls that participate. I am proud to be a board member and am very much invested in helping this worthy organization grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure it had significantly more funding so that it's efforts could be expanded nationally!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I have had the wonderful experience of working with PowerPlay NYC for the last year and one-half. During that time I have visited the Summer Academy several times as a guest speaker talking to the girls about my career in public relations and more importantly their college/career paths and opportunities that are available to them. I have also attended lacrosse clinics and watched how the girls adopted to a new sport (to almost all of them) and immediately worked in teams, applying the athletic and team building skills they were being taught. I am amazed at the poise that these girls display and how they embrace the program and the opportunity it provides. I usually visit several times during the course of the program and it is remarkable to see how the girls develop in a very short time. Through the sports coaching and life mentoring they receive they invariably come away with more confidence and a better idea of things that are available to them and achievable if they work hard.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I have had the opportunity to watch these young ladies develop from shy sometimes awkward individuals to very confident, optimistic and outgoing young adults. They are so appreciative of the programs that Power Play offers and they embrace the opportunities to learn about career opportunities, social skills as well as the opportunity to participate in sports. Most of all they are a lot of fun and when friends of Power Play meet them they are usually blown away by the maturity of all the girls. IT would be great if we could reach hundreds more becasue it is such a fantastic program and gives them hope that they can pursue anything they want in life and the optimism to believe in their abilities. After playing basketball with them and teaching them basketball skills as well as watching various performances that they produced and performed I want everyone to know that you will be impressed and feel good to be part of a great organization. Lynn Chiavaro

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have served on the Board of PowerPlay for 5 years, and in that time have seen firsthand its impact on the girls it serves. Four graduates of PowerPlay's Summer Leadership Academy who served as interns for my company not only did outstanding work, but also came to realize their own potential. One of the girls who had come from a background of particular hardship had an "ah ha" moment during that PowerPlay summer; she knew she could succeed in a college environment, and did indeed go on to college. PowerPlay teaches life skills through the vehicle of sport and for many girls, it is their first exposure to the lessons sports at its best teaches- teamwork, dedication and "we're all in this together".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved with PowerPlay for almost 10 years and have seen firsthand the impact it has on the lives of girls throughout New York City. PowerPlay programs teach sports, life skills, offer mentoring and job training. Even after two weeks in PowerPlay's Summer Leadership Academy, the girls are more confident and outgoing-- and I've witnessed it over and over! They are articulate and impressive and often credit their PowerPlay experience with shaping the women they become.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

"PowerPlay changed my life!" or "PowerPlay really helped me find out a lot about myself"are the types of comments board members hear each year from participants in the organization's programs. PowerPlay is a small nonprofit whose mission is to educate and empower NYC girls through sports and life skills training. By using sports to help girls feel connected, competent and confident, PowerPlay is an example of a sports-based youth development organization. Its two main programs are STARS Series, after school sports and healthy living programs, and STARS Summer Leadership Academy, an intensive 9-week experience for high school girls. Each year, more than 400 girls participate in PowerPlay's programs, and benefit from fantastic female coaches, girls-only groups, and the chance to be physically active & healthy, and learn sports & life skills. The organization does a lot on a little, and maximizes all of its resources to serve girls. Partnerships with community-based organizations, sports teams & leagues and corporate supporters allow PowerPlay to provide these life-changing experiences for girls all over New York City.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers