Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.884625
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 13, 2013

more

January 13, 2013

An exceptional organization. It has helped me develop so much as a person, especially as a woman. I feel so much more confident in my skills and can see a brighter future. Meeting successful women, gave me the hope that I too could achieve that success. The program is incredible and the people you meet are incredible. I would do it again and I don't think I would be where I'm at today, if it weren't for PowerPlay.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012

more

December 7, 2012

One of PowerPlay's greatest achievements is providing young girls experiences that would not be offered in their communities and schools. I was a participant in 2006, and was fortunate to give back as a Counselor for 2012 STARS Summer Leadership Academy. My experiences as a participant and Counselor were great! I enjoyed learning and teaching new skills in sports, and bonding with the participants. All young girls should have the opportunity to be a participant for PowerPlay; it is a life-changing opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I participated in the Summer Leadership Academy. It was the best summer I have ever had. It was great to be surrounded by so many people who were driven and willing to help you. I learned a lot about myself by challenging myself. I wish I had participated in this program sooner!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Our firm has hosted PowerPlay participants for several years. It has been a delight for me personally and exceptionally rewarding for all involved. Each summer we have had two students. Some have been interested in becoming legal secretaries or attorneys, others wanted to be pediatric neurosurgeons or cardiac surgeons. We strive to afford them experience that matches their personal aspirations, while introducing them to the full experience of working in a law firm. Along with shadowing secretaries and/or attorneys, they spend time with our Accounting, Reception and IT staff. Their time in our office is always a great help to our staff as they pitch in and do truly substantive work. Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP is truly proud to participate in this fine program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

PowerPlay is a non profit organization that offers girls a free leadership program for sports and developement. Not only are the girls introduced to new sports, but they also learn about lifeskills and powerful life lessons that many of them do not forget. I, myself joined PowerPlay and was one of the Summer 2011 graduates from the program. From my personally persepective, PowerPlay left a lasting memory that I will always cherish because it taught me useful lesson like how to network, write a resume, go through an interview, and best of all new sports that I never thought I would enjoy. I will always be appreciative of PowerPlay and the great people I met from it. -NZ

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is a great organization very helpful an family orientated I felt very comfortable with my daughter attending there summer program my daughter learned alot and gained confidence in her self an interacting with her peers I would love for her an other young ladies to attend another summer with Powerplay

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

To whom this may concern, My summer experience in PowerPlay NYC is one that can never and will never be forgotten, simply for the fact that I learned developed self confidence while interacting with all of the other participants. This emergence of confidence has helped me become the president of the student government in my high school, an eloquent public speaker, and a joyful young women. Sincerely, A Grateful 2011 Summer Leadership Academy Graduate

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Powerplay is a wonderful organization .i was lucky enough to actually be a participant in this program .i have learned so much info that i will carry out into my everyday life as well as the future . Most importantly it taught me how to be a leader & i appreciated this program in my life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay was one of the most important things I've ever done in my life. PowerPlay NYC is a program dedicated to helping girls succeed not only in sports, but also in preparing them for the future. PowerPlay is one of those unique programs that you rarely find in New York City. I was a PowerPlay graduate of the 2011 Summer Leadership Academy. My experiences there were just amazing. They taught us how to play several sports like, lacrosse, tennis, football and they also took us to Row New York to learn how to row for a week. Not only were the sports beneficial, the life skills were too. PowerPlay showed us girls the proper way to present ourselves, like dressing for success and the importance of having a firm handshake. Everyone in the organization gave us external and internal strength. They all were able to help us boost our self esteem and give us confidence. If it wasn't for PowerPlay i wouldn't be able to do a presentation in class or speak up about my ideas. I truly thank PowerPlay for all they had done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

There aren't many people who take the time to reach out and share their stories in order help guide young women. PowerplayNYC does just that. I had the privledge of participating in the 2011 SuperSTARS Summer Leadership program. PowerPlay gave 30 young women from diverse backgrounds and opportunity to learn and grow together. Topics taught to us ranged from day to day. We learned how network, how to write a resume and how to carry ourselves into the work force. Amongst these things and many more, PowerPlay taught us the importance of a firm hand shake and a simple smile. We were introduced to many different sports and the significant role sports play in our lives. At the PowerPlay Talk Show, participants spoke about a social action topic they discovered, while others handed out their newsletters and displayed a video they worked on. A year later, many of us still keep in contact with each other and our counselors. PowerPlay continues to host Alumni events and encourages participants to return. All in all, PowerPlay was one of the best experiences I have ever had.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers