Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.884625
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

PowerPlay is a fun and inspiring environment that truly pushed girls to excel both academically and athletically. I was able to watch our group of girls this summer grow as true leaders and motivated students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help the organization grow

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Such an impressive organization and a great group of girls that I feel very fortunate to have met. PowerPlay's mission is highly relevant for urban girls all over the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Powerplay has figured out how to engage with young girls in a way that seems cool while serving a tremendous purpose. They are a small org making a big impact and should be applauded for their unique programming and reach.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

PowerPlay should be considered one of the top nonprofits for young women in the country. I am biased as a former participant, but I am living example of this truth. Not only have I gone from the streets of East New York to the halls Ivy League with their help, I have seen several girls that have come into the program shy and afraid to play sports and come out confident, competent and connected. With childhood obesity at the rate it is today, programs that help young women become more open to participating in physical activity are crucial. Further, the transferrable lifeskills that are often learned through sports are emphasized in all of their programming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

PowerPlay NYC is an outstanding organization. When I was 17 years old, I participated in their Super STARS summer program. I came into the program with the expectation that this program was just going to have a lot of sports activities and that I would also learn some tips and skills for school and business. Though the things that I just mentioned were definitely a part of the program, I did not expect for my coaches to be like my big sisters nor did I expect so much support even when the summer program ended. Most of all I did not expect to gain self confidence through this program. I started in the program very unsure of myself and ended in the program with a sense of self sureness and security. I loved this organization so much that I had to come back and be a coach for other young girls. Seeing the changes in them was even more beautiful and satisfying than seeing them in myself when I was a participant. I have been involved in many organization and can truly say PowePlay is unlike any other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay's mission is to empower girls to succeed in life by teaching them one of the most powerful means to obtain self confidence and discipline: Sports. PowerPlay's commitment is key to ensure that more girls become acquainted with different sports and life skills. Having experienced firsthand the power of sports in my life, I firmly believe in this organization's goal and support its mission completely.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have participated in several PowerPlay events and they are always informational and fun! The first was a fundraiser where girls from PowerPlay modeled designer clothing and introduced themselves. Afterwards the girls mingled with the guests and we all got to know each other better. It was intimate and rewarding experience! The second event was an athletic and life skills event. Girls attended seminars on different life skills such as nutrition and also participated in volleyball, tennis and basketball drills. It was great getting to know the girls in both settings. I recommend PowerPlay to anyone who is interested in mentoring. There are numerous opportunities to participate at various commitment levels. Plus, the Director, Beth Raisin, is committed and inspirational!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is an organization like no other. The impact they have on the lives of young girls is life changing. It was a privilege to be a part of the organization, and to help the participants develop their skills in sports and life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is a grea organization dedicated to educating and empowering young girls through sports. Girls learn life skills, self-confidence, self-esteem, teamwork and are able to connect with peers, and female role models.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is a very good program. Being affiliated with PowerPlay for more than four years has exposed me to things that I probably wouldn't have seen before. I've learned various skills including work/office skills, sports skills, and some fundamental life skills. In the Summer Leadership Academy, a significant change in the girls attitude towards themselves, others, and life in general can be shown from the program. From personal experience, PowerPlay has changed the way I viewed my health and my future career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers