Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.884625
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I work with young girls a well as women in the sport of golf. I have seen these girls in action and it was not on the sports field. I saw them performing like professionals at a recent networking event. They had taken the lessons of their sports, integrity, confidence, and best effort and applied each to meeting and greeting every guest . I was so impressed...what champions!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Powerplay is a wonderful organization .i was lucky enough to actually be a participant in this program .i have learned so much info that i will carry out into my everyday life as well as the future . Most importantly it taught me how to be a leader & i appreciated this program in my life!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay was one of the most important things I've ever done in my life. PowerPlay NYC is a program dedicated to helping girls succeed not only in sports, but also in preparing them for the future. PowerPlay is one of those unique programs that you rarely find in New York City. I was a PowerPlay graduate of the 2011 Summer Leadership Academy. My experiences there were just amazing. They taught us how to play several sports like, lacrosse, tennis, football and they also took us to Row New York to learn how to row for a week. Not only were the sports beneficial, the life skills were too. PowerPlay showed us girls the proper way to present ourselves, like dressing for success and the importance of having a firm handshake. Everyone in the organization gave us external and internal strength. They all were able to help us boost our self esteem and give us confidence. If it wasn't for PowerPlay i wouldn't be able to do a presentation in class or speak up about my ideas. I truly thank PowerPlay for all they had done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is a grea organization dedicated to educating and empowering young girls through sports. Girls learn life skills, self-confidence, self-esteem, teamwork and are able to connect with peers, and female role models.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is dedicated to educating and empowering girls through sports, teaching life skills and building self-confidence and self-esteem for life! 2012 was the first year I was involved with PowerPlay. The girls and the program are amazing. Beth Rasin's tireless dedication to enriching the lives of girls is inspiring and inpires all that work with her.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Some decades ago, I was both a scholar and an athlete, competing and winning at the national level in a collegiate sport. This perspective and the ability to reflect upon the role sports and teamwork play on a person's development make PowerPlay one of my favorite charities. I have given both money and time to PowerPlay, and strongly consider becoming more involved. To listen to the girls' testimonials about how PowerPlay has tangibly and affirmatively changed their lives is nothing short of inspiring. There are so many reasons we choose to give to charity; a major consideration is the desire to truly make a difference in someone's life. With PowerPlay, there is no question this is the case, as those who benefit themselves testify with eloquence and poise. They have said that they have changed, grown, learned--because of this group. They will be the change factors for others, too; I have no doubt these girls will pay it forward.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

There aren't many people who take the time to reach out and share their stories in order help guide young women. PowerplayNYC does just that. I had the privledge of participating in the 2011 SuperSTARS Summer Leadership program. PowerPlay gave 30 young women from diverse backgrounds and opportunity to learn and grow together. Topics taught to us ranged from day to day. We learned how network, how to write a resume and how to carry ourselves into the work force. Amongst these things and many more, PowerPlay taught us the importance of a firm hand shake and a simple smile. We were introduced to many different sports and the significant role sports play in our lives. At the PowerPlay Talk Show, participants spoke about a social action topic they discovered, while others handed out their newsletters and displayed a video they worked on. A year later, many of us still keep in contact with each other and our counselors. PowerPlay continues to host Alumni events and encourages participants to return. All in all, PowerPlay was one of the best experiences I have ever had.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is a very good program. Being affiliated with PowerPlay for more than four years has exposed me to things that I probably wouldn't have seen before. I've learned various skills including work/office skills, sports skills, and some fundamental life skills. In the Summer Leadership Academy, a significant change in the girls attitude towards themselves, others, and life in general can be shown from the program. From personal experience, PowerPlay has changed the way I viewed my health and my future career.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay's program is wonderful. I have enjoy speaking to the girls and answering their questions. It is truly a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved with PowerPlay for almost 10 years and have seen firsthand the impact it has on the lives of girls throughout New York City. PowerPlay programs teach sports, life skills, offer mentoring and job training. Even after two weeks in PowerPlay's Summer Leadership Academy, the girls are more confident and outgoing-- and I've witnessed it over and over! They are articulate and impressive and often credit their PowerPlay experience with shaping the women they become.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers