Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.884625
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I am impressed with the passion and commitment of the leadership of Power Play. It is a small but mighty organization; run very efficiently; with major impact. For several years now I am amazed on how well prepared and trained these young girls are in presenting themselves. At young ages they have been given the confidence to speak up and ask substantive questions. The results far succeed the dollar investment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

PowerPlay should be considered one of the top nonprofits for young women in the country. I am biased as a former participant, but I am living example of this truth. Not only have I gone from the streets of East New York to the halls Ivy League with their help, I have seen several girls that have come into the program shy and afraid to play sports and come out confident, competent and connected. With childhood obesity at the rate it is today, programs that help young women become more open to participating in physical activity are crucial. Further, the transferrable lifeskills that are often learned through sports are emphasized in all of their programming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

PowerPlay NYC is an outstanding organization. When I was 17 years old, I participated in their Super STARS summer program. I came into the program with the expectation that this program was just going to have a lot of sports activities and that I would also learn some tips and skills for school and business. Though the things that I just mentioned were definitely a part of the program, I did not expect for my coaches to be like my big sisters nor did I expect so much support even when the summer program ended. Most of all I did not expect to gain self confidence through this program. I started in the program very unsure of myself and ended in the program with a sense of self sureness and security. I loved this organization so much that I had to come back and be a coach for other young girls. Seeing the changes in them was even more beautiful and satisfying than seeing them in myself when I was a participant. I have been involved in many organization and can truly say PowePlay is unlike any other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have served on the Board of PowerPlay for 5 years, and in that time have seen firsthand its impact on the girls it serves. Four graduates of PowerPlay's Summer Leadership Academy who served as interns for my company not only did outstanding work, but also came to realize their own potential. One of the girls who had come from a background of particular hardship had an "ah ha" moment during that PowerPlay summer; she knew she could succeed in a college environment, and did indeed go on to college. PowerPlay teaches life skills through the vehicle of sport and for many girls, it is their first exposure to the lessons sports at its best teaches- teamwork, dedication and "we're all in this together".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

For the last three years I have had the honor of sponsoring events to raise awareness and funds for the PowerPlayNYC programs. I am impressed with the camaraderie of the girls and their communications skills. Kudos to Beth Rasin for an excellent team sports and leadership training program that encourages the young women to stretch their vision to what is possible in their future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay's mission is to empower girls to succeed in life by teaching them one of the most powerful means to obtain self confidence and discipline: Sports. PowerPlay's commitment is key to ensure that more girls become acquainted with different sports and life skills. Having experienced firsthand the power of sports in my life, I firmly believe in this organization's goal and support its mission completely.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is a great organization very helpful an family orientated I felt very comfortable with my daughter attending there summer program my daughter learned alot and gained confidence in her self an interacting with her peers I would love for her an other young ladies to attend another summer with Powerplay

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have participated in several PowerPlay events and they are always informational and fun! The first was a fundraiser where girls from PowerPlay modeled designer clothing and introduced themselves. Afterwards the girls mingled with the guests and we all got to know each other better. It was intimate and rewarding experience! The second event was an athletic and life skills event. Girls attended seminars on different life skills such as nutrition and also participated in volleyball, tennis and basketball drills. It was great getting to know the girls in both settings. I recommend PowerPlay to anyone who is interested in mentoring. There are numerous opportunities to participate at various commitment levels. Plus, the Director, Beth Raisin, is committed and inspirational!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

PowerPlay is an organization like no other. The impact they have on the lives of young girls is life changing. It was a privilege to be a part of the organization, and to help the participants develop their skills in sports and life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

To whom this may concern, My summer experience in PowerPlay NYC is one that can never and will never be forgotten, simply for the fact that I learned developed self confidence while interacting with all of the other participants. This emergence of confidence has helped me become the president of the student government in my high school, an eloquent public speaker, and a joyful young women. Sincerely, A Grateful 2011 Summer Leadership Academy Graduate

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers