Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.884625
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 4, 2012

I have had the good fortune of meeting PowerPlay girls at the annual fundraisers. It is an emotional experience seeing the confident, respectful and charming young ladies that the girls have evolved ... more

October 23, 2013

I have watched this organization grow from it's inception and I am in awe of the endless time and energy that the founder and past executive director has dedicated to it. I had volunteered my time briefly when I lived in NY, an experience that kept PowerPlay near and dear to my heart. Having experienced volunteering and then attending the Annual Gala, I was able to watch girls grow from insecure, sometimes awkward teenagers to beautiful, poised, and articulate young ladies. It is a heart-warming transition to witness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Appeal to larger philanthropies for financial endowments.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012

I have had the good fortune of meeting PowerPlay girls at the annual fundraisers. It is an emotional experience seeing the confident, respectful and charming young ladies that the girls have evolved into. Kudos to founder, Ellen Markowitz and Executive Director, Beth Raisen for the expertise, tireless hours and financial contributions that they've given to keep this organization alive! Kudos to the Board as well for their input, hard work and their belief in PowerPlay's Mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have worked for Power Play in the past, coaching and working with girls in under served areas of NYC to empower them through sports and the life skills you can learn from them. This organization helps girls understand and learn how sports can enable positive growth and provide life long opportunities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it,

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have worked either directly or indirectly with PowerPlay NYC since its inception. I have been very impressed with the work they do to empower girls to succeed by teaching them life, athleteic and leadership skills. The girls who pareticipate in the PowerPlay programs gain the direction, strength and resolve to become future leaders in their community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

PowerPlay is a fun and inspiring environment that truly pushed girls to excel both academically and athletically. I was able to watch our group of girls this summer grow as true leaders and motivated students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help the organization grow

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I have supported this organization for several years as a corporate outreach and personal donor for these reasons:
- dedicated leadership
- well prepared girls (in learning lessons of sports activity as well as opportunities behind the scenes of sports, e.g. journalism, tv production,
etc.). The girls were poised, asked good questions in the interviews. Very impressive

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more financial resources to grow their reach and impact.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Teaching young girls the basics of athletics through methods of multiple intelligences is one of the greatest things about this program. It is only topped by the fact it also incorporates helping girls develop positive self esteems and knowledge of health/safety.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

From the beginning I was struck by the strength of PowerPlay's mission: educating and enpowering girls through sports to build greater self-esteem and leadership. I truly believe in this and have seen first hand how this translates into growth and development for the girls that participate. I am proud to be a board member and am very much invested in helping this worthy organization grow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure it had significantly more funding so that it's efforts could be expanded nationally!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Power Play is so clear about its mission which translates into great programs for the girls and young woman who participate, terrific leadership and effective and efficient use of the dollars donated to them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Power Play is one of the few non profits where year to year a donor can see the growth of the girls into very fine young ladies who have gain confidence and maturity. Power Play instills the very necessary tenets of life otherwise missing from these girls' lives, only one of which is teamwork. After being in these programs, the girls have more than an excellent head start for a successful career and life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish Power Play had more funds to assist more girls.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Exceptional organization with dedicated leadership, that provides substantive opportunities for young women to participate in sport. In doing so, this organization supports, in a meaningful way, the development of young women's confidence, life skills and experience - all which ultimately prepare them for success both on and off the court in the future. There is a level of compassion and commitment to this cause expressed by their staff, board and donors that is exceedingly rare.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers