Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.736845
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2013

I have been volunteering for the POPF since 2008 after I met my wife's sister who has a chronic pain condition. Since then I have learned so much about how important access to care is for the chronica... more

April 16, 2014

I have been volunteering for the POPF since 2008. I currently serve as a board member for the 2013-2014 years. as the owner of Safety First Training and a licensed EMT, I know how important access to care is for the chronically ill. We encourage others to share their stories so that the spotlight on these neuropathy condition can be made brighter and assistance can become more readily available. The POPF is doing this online, in-person events, social events and through supporting access to care issues on local and national levels! We are also helping patients who tend to isolate themselves get social and into public. This helps create a support system with mentors and pain patients who are in need of hope, ideas, and support. I am proud to be a board member of the Power of Pain Foundation because I see all of the great things that we do on a daily basis to assist patients

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase donations so we can do even more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for the POPF since 2008 after I met my wife's sister who has a chronic pain condition. Since then I have learned so much about how important access to care is for the chronically ill. I have also learned that sharing a spotlight on these neuropathy conditions with the community is vital in getting proper support for the patients. The POPF is doing this! They also help patients who tend to isolate themselves get out into the public and create a support system with mentors and pain patients who are in need of hope, ideas, and support. I am proud to be a volunteer and board member of the POPF because I see all of the great things that they are up to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in more funding so they can expand their reach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of working in collaboration with Barby from the Power of Pain Foundation. She truly cares about the individuals she works with and makes every effort to provide prompt outreach to those in need of resources and assistance. Thank you Barby and POPF!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

As a part of Power of Pain Foundation i see a lot of lives being touched. POPF is a positive organization that promotes awareness and education for many conditions containing nerve pain as a symptom. It has been a great and gratifying experience helping and getting to know so many people. POPF grows each year on a national scale, expanding programs and projects that encourage and empower people living with chronic pain. I look forward what POPF can become and excited to work with many other great organizations along the way. We will continue the best we can to represent and bring awareness and education to those conditions less heard of. Together we can make a difference and we look forward to making a difference along with you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on programs that are worthy of grants to bring in more money to make a bigger difference and touch more lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

I have been apart of the Power of Pain Foundation since its inception in November 2006. It has been a great honor and pleasure to work with so many great volunteers, patients, caregivers, and provider... more

March 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The POPF has reached thousands of patients with chronic pain conditions/diseases that we have been able to help with pain resources, social activities, and raising awareness through creative projects such as our NERVEmber program, International RSD Awareness Quilt Project, Sleep Easy Program, State Ambassador program, disease specific information and so much more! I have been apart of the Power of Pain Foundation since its inception in November 2006. It has been a great honor and pleasure to work with so many great volunteers, patients, caregivers, and providers over the years. In January 2013 I was named to the chairman position of the Power of Pain Foundation for 13-14. Being halfway through my term as Chairman I am excited that we are continuing to grow and help so many people. Thanks to so many of you for all of the support and dedication to the pain community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase the income from donations, grants and fundraising so that we could assist even more people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been apart of the Power of Pain Foundation since its inception in November 2006. It has been a great honor and pleasure to work with so many great volunteers, patients, caregivers, and providers over the years. I am so excited to now be the Chairman of the Power of Pain Foundation and look forward to being apart of it for many more to come. We have a reach of thousands of patients with all sorts of chronic pain conditions that we help with pain resources, social activities, and raising awareness through creative projects such as our NERVEmber program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It has been a great pleasure working with the Power of Pain Foundation on so many projects and events to help the pain community. One of the things I love best is that the POPF works with so many patients with different types of Neuropathy conditions. Their resources are top notch and their mentoring program is great as well. People can get involved at many different levels with the POPF and I am glad to be a volunteer and donor for POPF!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2011

I have been working as a volunteer for the Power of Pain Foundation since 2007. I am involved with the awareness program, motivational and mentoring program and social outings programs. I have seen first hand how the POPF helps patients with financial and emotional supports, provides resources to the pain community and stays on top of cutting health information in the pain community. The patients, caregivers and healthcare providers involved in the POPF are great assets. The POPF has a unique approach to working with the pain community by giving views from all three perspectives. We work on improving quality of chronic illness care, direct supports, and public and professional awareness of the issues and challenges of living with chronic pain on a daily basis.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a patient mentor I have personally experienced the good that comes from when a bad situation leads patients and their support systems into taking action and gaining the tools to become their own best advocate. I have been able to see how the patient grants help our grantees and their gratitude when someone shows them that there is help, hope and people do care. I help people turn their pain to power!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase awareness events and funding for patient grants. This can only be done thorugh donations and grant writing. I wish the POPF could help more people, because I know how much it has to offer the pain community on a grand scale.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Their events are very organized and professional. I would change their budget to a larger one so that more people could recieve the benefits of the POPF.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have meet so many wonderful patients, caregivers and healthcare professionals from around the country. I have learned how to create action oriented change to better the pain community. I have learned how much personal interaction can help pain patients.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I am so happy to be able to volunteer for the POPF because it makes me feel that I am doing something. I have power to become my own best advocate and I can now teach others that they too can do this!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter has suffered with CRPS for approximately 3 years now and we have truly been through it all when it comes to doctors, treatments, SCS, etc. We have tried everything including holistic and alternative therapies - in fact, some awful treatments such as ketamine infusions had been tried time and time again. As you can imagine, we were beginning to feel as though there was nothing out there for her as the CRPS continued to spread. My daughter often spoke of how she felt no one understood her and of how she felt incredibly hopeless based on her situation and increasing chronic pain.

So, I can't begin to thank God enough for putting The Power of Pain Foundation and all the hope that has come with them into our lives! 'Hope' is exactly what was missing! We first encountered this organization and Barby and Ken Ingle at a pain conference last year (2012). Like I said, they have been amazing! Not only have they been available pretty immediately for any and all questions via email or twitter (this response time goes up in an emergency. It's amazing how much they care, this includes the ambassadors), but Barby was able to direct us towards the book "Remission Impossible" which for the first time really broke things down and actually gave us a game plan - something that I know so many other CRPS patients are lacking. I also have to hugely applaud Illinois ambassador Chris Greulich for being so patient and extraordinarily helpful in terms of helping my family figure out insurance for my daughter's very costly treatments. Again, thank you Lord for the Power of Pain Foundation!!!

Concluding, I don't know what we would do without The Power of Pain! The hope and community alone has been enough to allow for victories we only dreamed of for her before! I've read a few of the other reviews and I urge any of you with negative things to say simply to write in and ask for what it is that you're looking for. I have no doubt that they'll be able to accommodate you in the same way that they have so kindly accommodated us.

THANK YOU POWER OF PAIN!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funds to give it a greater nationwide presence.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has done NOTHING to help patients. They are interested in raising funds for their own purposes. I have suffered from CRPS for years, when I contacted them for advice and help, they were unhelpful and asked me for donations. All the 'great' reviews on this site are from Board members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Learn from other organizations

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
July 16, 2012

I would recommend the Power of Pain Foundation to anyone with Chronic Pain, a Neuropathy condition or someone needing to learn about them especially Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, Complex Regional Pai... more

September 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Power of Pain Foundation started Pain Awareness Month off with pom poms high! PAINWeek 2013 with Barby Ingle live from Las Vegas NV co hosted the Living with HOPE Radio Show with featured Host Trudy Thomas. A one hour live show highlighted 4 special guests for 15 minutes for the 2 day line-up. The Chronic Pain Solutions Webinar hosted by the POPF featured Dr. Twogood who told us about inflammatory foods and substances and how to avoid them to reduce or remove inflammation in the body. The 7th Annual P.A.I.N. Summit September 14, 2013 is also hosted by the Power of Pain Foundation and provides a great avenue of resources toward pain education for providers, patients and their caregivers. The physician's attending and guest line up is amazing. This conference is both live from Scottsdale Healthcare Shea Conference Center and online via UStream. National Pain Awareness Month isn't even over yet. There is much I haven't shared and much more to come! I am honored to be a part of such a wonderful team! My fellow Ambassadors work throughout the year in each of the State's they represent. The Power of Pain Foundation continues to grow not only in the area of CRPS/RSD but in Autonomic Neuropathy, Autoimmune Neuropathy and other Neuropathic conditions. Now when you go to POPF's website and click on Neuropathies on the Menu Bar an in depth list appears with information regarding each related neuropathic illness. My education continues because of POPF, my wish for a cure remains hopeful. We are raising awareness with passionate spirit and with our motivation for a cure, we are turning pain to power.

~Twinkle VanFleet, POPF California Ambassador

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 16, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I would recommend the Power of Pain Foundation to anyone with Chronic Pain, a Neuropathy condition or someone needing to learn about them especially Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy, Complex Regional Pain Syndrome/Causalgia. I became a volunteer working for this amazing Foundation early this year so that I can help continue their work in California. I had the opportunity to meet Barby Ingle and her husband Ken at the 6th Annual Neuropathy Action Awareness Day hosted by the Neuropathy Action Foundation (NAF) last month. Barby is as kind in person as she has ever been online. She works so hard even when she's going through her own medical treatments when instead she should be resting or taking days off. She lives with the same pain we do and I admire her. The POPF has pain related information and educational packets to be given away free at all their awareness events. The Board of Directors are wonderful. The Power of Pain Foundation not only helps the patients but caregivers, too. They answer everyone's questions and assist in any way they can. I'm proud to belong to such a great team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with RSD back in 2012 after a motor vehicle accident. I have been to many doctors, support groups and read all about it to understand this disease. This organization clearly does not do anything to help patients with RSD. I was disappointed to find they spend most of their time in raising funds and I am not clear as to what they do with the funds. Certainly not help patients. I am not someone who speaks ill of anyone but clearly this organization's goals are to provide charity to the Ingle clan.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop lying

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Power of Pain Foundation is an exceptional organization. They work far beyond expectations to make families like mine feel good even when facing a harsh situation financially and emotionally dealing with chronic pain diseases. They have helped me with my CRPS struggles, and helped my daughter that has had spinal surgeries 3 times in the last 2 years. We have spent a lot of time in hospitals over the past few years. One of the best present as a parent was when we saw my daughters face light up like it was Christmas when we received a box of toys from the Power of Pain during one of her hospital stays. Their staff works so hard to make us feel comfortable and they continue to help put our mind at ease when it comes to the great information they were able to provide us and my daughters doctors. They also helped us get consultations with a leading experts and we are both on a better treatment paths now. Every volunteer was amazing from the beginning of our connection to them in 2010 and as we continue to work with them today. We love Power of Pain Foundation and how they are so helpful with people facing chronic pain. Everyone that works in there has been great with us. Brian Schafer and family

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

As both a neuropathy patient and the Founder and President of the Neuropathy Action Foundation (NAF) I have partnered with the Power of Pain Foundation (POPF) on various projects during the past four years. I have also had the honor of seeing them in action at many of their events and conferences. I can honestly say that this is one of the best, if not the best, patient organizations I have ever partnered with. I never hesitate to refer patients to this organization. POPF is always on the side of the patient and I applaud their efforts and service to the pain community. Barby Ingle is an inspiration and personal hero of mine. The NAF even awarded her with the NAF's "You Are Our Hero Award" in 2012. Thanks for all you do POPF!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers