Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
Write A Review
July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

I have fostered for PAWS for several years. My contact, Kristina O is the best. She spends many hours of her personal time tirelessly looking for suitable adopters. She ensures the cats and kittens she brings to adoption events are in peak health, having been tested, given shots and are parasite-free.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to clone Kristina.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Paws since 2001. I have also adopted a dog and 3 cats from Paws. No animals are written off because they are initially fearful of humans. I can attest to that because I... more

July 15, 2014

I have been volunteering with Paws since 2001. I have adopted 2 dogs and several cats from Paws. I continue to work with Paws because of the care and love given to all the dogs and cats before they find their forever homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2012

I have been a volunteer with Paws since 2001. I have also adopted a dog and 3 cats from Paws. No animals are written off because they are initially fearful of humans. I can attest to that because I adopted a cat who was initially unpettable..She is a lap cat now who loves to be petted. Thanks to Paws, she and other animals like her get a second chance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

Over the 13 years I have volunteered at PAWS, we have rescued hundreds of animals. The core group of volunteers we have are very dedicated and we try to help as many people and animals as we can. It is very hard work but the end result always make up for all the blood, sweat and tears we put into these animals!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more foster homes!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 5, 2013

As a volunteer, I continue to assist with PAWS website and internet presence. Over the past year + since my last review, I continue to be impressed and thankful to all the hard work and successes by P... more

July 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Years ago, I adopted a beautiful cat from PAWS in Montclair. At the time they needed some help with their web presence, so I volunteered to assist. I continue to do volunteering with their web related tasks.

I remain impressed with the level of commitment and dedication to their mission
of finding homes for stray and abandoned cats and dogs. They have rescued and re-homed many cats and dogs that faced dire circumstances; changing certain death to happy endings for so many.

So many thanks to all of you for the hard work you do to achieve these successes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seek out a generous donor to contribute new, centralized shelter facility to expand their capabilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 5, 2013

As a volunteer, I continue to assist with PAWS website and internet presence. Over the past year + since my last review, I continue to be impressed and thankful to all the hard work and successes by PAWS members and their supporters. They've found many homes for so many cats and dogs, and created happy endings where there would have been none.

I am proud to assist in this small way to promote this organization's hard work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer that works on the PAWS website as well as assist with other web related tasks. I am proud to have done a small part to assist with community awareness, make contacts that lead to dog and cat adoptions, and promote fundraising efforts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having adopted a cat in the past.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help create a new central facility in Montclair.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It helped me know that were happy outcomes for many animals.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like contributed a small part tho the bigger picture.

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

These guys are the best. Their facility is clean and organized. If you find I stray they don't turn you away. They actually help you with finding a place. I have 4 PAWS cats. They do their homework and check up on the dog or cat they adopted out because they really do care. This place rocks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering for PAWS in 2001. I walked dogs and helped socialize cats. Mushy was the my first success story. She was adopted but her owner was unable to keep her so she came back to PAWS. When we could not get her a new home, I adopted her. When she came to PAWS, you could not pet her. Now she is a total lap cat. PAWS volunteers have helped many cats like Mushy learn to trust people and eventually find a home. I have 3 cats that I adopted from PAWS. Now I help with cat adoptions on Saturdays at Petco. I help at the bazaar, the yard sales and with different fundraisers. I enjoy volunteering with PAWS as I have had the opportunity to help many dogs and cats who just want to be loved and to give love in return. When you adopt a homeless cat or dog, you are the biggest winner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering, wrapping gifts at Barnes & Noble, for PAWS in 2001 and volunteered at the Holiday Bazaar the same year. Then I started walking dogs on the weekends and I noticed how many animals were being adopted. The staff and volunteers were great with the animals and the people that came in. I also noticed that PAWS was open 365 days a year! I thought, that is dedication!!! I began working part time as the receptionist in Nov. 2004 - Dec. 31, 2008 when PAWS relocated. So many volunteers are there much longer than I am. Many times I was there after closing because someone wanted to see an animal and was coming after work. So many PAWS animals have gotten new homes with people who love and care for them. I've been co-chairperson for the Holiday Bazaar for the last 10 years and I've organized the PAWS yard sale for the last several years. What a wonderful organization to be a part of. My fantastic dog, Angelo, was adopted from PAWS 9 years ago!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to get more financial help for PAWS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

I first started volunteering for PAWS in 2001; mainly outside events, like the holiday bazaar and wrapping for Barnes and Nobles- then in 2003 I found a stray and brought him to PAWS; I started workin... more

July 1, 2013

I have been a volunteer with PAWS since 2001 and in that time, the number of animals we have rescued and rehomed is amazing; We continue to do this work every day and we are lucky to meet so many wonderful people that help us do this work; Without the fosters, supporters and adopters, we could never do this work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more people donate so we could always continue this work....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I first started volunteering for PAWS in 2001; mainly outside events, like the holiday bazaar and wrapping for Barnes and Nobles- then in 2003 I found a stray and brought him to PAWS; I started working part time at the shelter in February of 2004 and continued through until Dec 31st, 2008, when we moved. I am now a volunteer who assists in all aspects of kitten/cat adoptions. I am very dedicated to PAWS and helping the animals of the world. The people I have met through PAWS, the adopters and the pets I have been able to rescue because of PAWS has been amazing. Dr Cameron and his staff help us to do the work that we do, without him, we would not be able to do this! So many animals are better off because of the work we do at PAWS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

This past year, I had the opportunity to foster a mother cat and her five kittens, which PAWS saved from the streets of Essex county. PAWS provided medical care and food for the cats. Once the kittens were weaned, PAWS found permanent homes for the mom and all of her kittens with loving and fully vetted families. I am amazed by the time PAWS volunteers give to the organization, helping cats and dogs in so many different ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have had the pleasure of volunteering with PAWS since August 2004 not only as a dog walker, adoption day volunteer but also as a foster parent. In my three years of fostering I have helped 7 dogs get furever homes. All dogs came to us in a less than desirable conditions and through the help of PAWS and donations from the public we were able to get much needed medical attention, behavioral and social training in a VERY timely manner. No matter what I needed from toys to treats to medications to food the PAWS family was there to help contniue supplying a healthy experience for our furry friends. In a short time we saw such great results from our work. A dog who was weary of dogs is now enjoying romps in the dog park and a dog who was so sick she wouldn't take treats or play with toys is living happily with a family playing fetch and has even gained some weight. These are just two of the many many positivie stories I have had the pleasure of being a part of. The work this organization does is unmatched in love, care, companssion and pure sincerity. Brianna

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers