Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I've been volunteering for 4 months and it has been a fantastic experience. Every Sunday, our guests come in and are fed a warm meal, and many of them come to me to thank me for the work I do to help them out. It's heartwarming and touching. The entire all-volunteer community is full of amazing people who give their all every Sunday. I'm amazed at their dedication and I see the results of their work in the eyes and hear it in the words of our guests. Working for Potluck in the Park has been one of the best experiences of my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I have been volunteering for Potluck in the Park for a couple of years now. I work, primarily, with the kitchen staff and can't say enough about what a wonderful experience it is!! The volunteers for the kitchen staff come in every Sunday, quite a few regulars, and some occasionally, to share the experience. It ranges from young to older...a few Sundays ago we had 9 kids sharing their time to feed the needy! It sometimes amazes us to understand how it all comes together :) and it always does...there are volunteers who prep the food on Thursdays, garner food from various sources around the area, set up the park, coordinate fund raisers...I've heard it called the miracle of Potluck...At the kitchen, we help get the food out to the park to feed anywhere from 400-800 guests, each Sunday, depending on which weekend of the month it is...I love the camaraderie. We laugh and play as we work to provide casseroles, fresh fruit salad (Julie's specialty she does not compromise and lovingly cuts every chunk by hand from what we garner from the food banks), baked chicken, sandwiches, milk, fruit, bread. Our goal is to provide a hot home cooked meal to those in need. At 21 plus years Potluck is one of the most rewarding ways for me to reach out to those less fortunate, and it's my honor to be a part of it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Potluck in the Park has been feeding those in need in Portland, Oregon for 21 years. Every Sunday (without fail) for each of those 21 years our community has known that whatever is going on in their lives a hot meal can be found at O'Bryant Square park. This amazing group of volunteers is a true grassroots organization that continues, rain or shine, to help combat food insecurity in our city. As a Board member I get to see all the behind the scenes efforts that go into the acquisition of food, its preparation, delivery, service, clean up, and the constant fund raising required to keep up with growing demand. It is a huge undertaking that only works because of the incredible commitment put forth by our volunteers. I started volunteering 12 years ago when a friend brought me along to the park one Sunday. I never left. The miracle is that it continues to happen each and every week as new people, young and old, discover the joy of helping our guests enjoy a good hot meal. This is how positive change comes to the lives of both the givers and the receivers in the Potluck community. Please come and see. All are welcomed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

I am most touched when families with children come through the line for a free meal. PIP serves a very broad community of people in need, seniors, veterans, families. As an individual, I can do so little, but teamed with Potluck, I feel I can make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

Potluck in the Park believes that a hot meal can do amazing things for a person; that food is a human right and hunger is a human wrong. Their no barriers, no bureaucracy approach to feeding anyone in need is inspirational. The Potluck "experience" must be seen to be believed, come on down to O'Bryant Square Park any Sunday at 3 pm and see what caring citizens can do to enrich their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

I enjoy serving on the board and bringing my accounting skills to this great organization. It amazes me we will serve close to 27,000 meals this year, never run out of food and never turn anyone away. Our limited financial resources are spread so thin, however we seem to continue to fulfill our mission for the past 21+ years!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012

more

November 22, 2012

My company has supported Potluck in the Park for over 20 years. As a caterer, feeding those less fortunate is a natural extension of giving back to the community. We donate time, resources, food and money to an organization that continues to see the need increase annually. Hunger is a global problem that continually seems to increase. I am proud to be aligned with an organization that helps these people weekly. Learn more at www.potluckinthepark.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers