Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I was looking for a non-profit organization to volunteer with for quite a few months and then I finally came across Potluck in the Park. I was so excited to volunteer and have never been happier with the results from a volunteer project! The leaders of the project were so kind and helpful-- and they made sure every single person had a job to do and felt needed. I loved serving those who came out the OBryant Square for a meal and it was so lovely chatting with these gracious people. It was a great opportunity to help those less fortunate than myself and I will be back again soon to participate! Thank you for the wonderful opportunity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have been very fortunate to be associated with Potluck in the Park as a volunteer for a number of years. This incredible all-volunteer organization has fed those who need a meal every Sunday for 21 years. Additionally, a Christmas dinner is served each year on Christmas Day. Our guests do not have to 'prove' they are in need, they just have to show up. And, every one of them is treated with dignity and caring. It is a privilege to be able to serve our guests who frequently verbalize their gratitude or thank us for 'giving up our time'. Wow! They apparently don't realize that I probably get more from them than I am able to give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have volunteered with Potluck for a little over a month now and it has greatly impacted my life. I feel more connected and invested in my community than ever before; I feel energized and inspired by the sheer initiative of all of the supporters; and I personally encourage anyone with a free Sunday afternoon to come down and check us out. It's a great thing when a diverse crowd of people can come together and sit down for a great meal!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I was introduced to Potluck in the Park by a friend of mine and ever since, it has been a great opportunity to help people in need. It is really important for me to be able to give back to my community and Potluck in the Park has been an excellent way for me to do so. I’m fairly shy so having to interact with multiple people has helped open me up when talking to people I've never met before. The people we serve, the people who run the organization, and the other volunteers are wonderful to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

The people there were very nice and coordinated. While serving everyone was very polite and it was a very efficient system! I had a lot of fun.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Potluck in the Park is a fantastic opportunity for the young and old interested in volunteering and getting to know the city a bit better. I really felt they put my time to use while still making a difference in people's lives. I received numerous thank yous, which further proves how gracious and welcoming this project and community is. I highly recommend this program and i am proud to live in a city where this is possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

It was my first time volunteering with Potluck in the Park and I was a little nervous going into a new situation like that. But the people running it were awesome! They explained to me and the other volunteers what they needed us to do and why we were so important to the process. It was obvious that everyone who put this together really cared about the people they were helping, it was really inspirational. This was one man in charge, who's name i forget, would stop and chat with all the different people lining up to get food. He would call them each by their first name and ask how they were doing, it was wonderful to see such an honest display of kindness. I had an amazing experience with Potluck in the Park and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to volunteer and actually help make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first volunteered when a friend suggested that I might like to see what conditions were like in a mid sized American city (I am a European ex pat.) I went along and was amazed at the number of hungry and or homeless folk who seemed to just appear on the steps at O'Bryant Sq in downtown Portland Oregon. Now I have been a volunteer for a while, currently serving as a liaison / volunteer co-ordinator between Potluck and a non profit from whom we draw many of our 60 volunteers, who serve as many as 850 hungry folk a week, and come to see what a difference a simple wholesome meal makes to those with food and housing insecurity. I firmly believe that food is a human right, and hunger a human wrong. Every week folk make an effort to right this wrong, to give aid in a fashion which prsereves the dignity of our guests whilst providing a model of civic engagement for our hardy volunteers. I cannot imagine a Sunday afternoon spent anywhere other than Potluck in the Park, watching folk care about each other a little more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been consistently volunteering with Potluck in the Park for almost 2 years now. Its the first time I have engaged for such a long time. I come back week after week because of the compassion the other volunteers show to the less fortunate and sense of community that permeates the organization. On a deep emotional level, feeding hungry people makes me feel better about an incredibly complicated and difficult problem. There have been numerous times when I knew, even if in a small way, I touched another persons life. To feel a real commitment to the well being of people in difficult circumstances is why I continue to dedicate my time and efforts to this Great Nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

After just having moved to Portland, OR to attend one of the Universities here, one of my biggest desires was to find community. Through Portland Community College I found out about this WONDERFUL volunteer opportunity with Potluck in the Park every Sunday and I continued to go every single week for months and months. It gave me the chance to meet loving people, help out with the food and planning, and have something to look forward to every Sunday. As I'm working 5 days a week now, it's harder for me to go each week but whenever I get the time to go, there's not a second thought. I've recommended this to many other people and would recommend it to anyone who wants to help others and meet new friends of all different ages.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers