Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have served five tours of duty while serving in the U. S. Army' which included Iraq and Afghanistan. While I was on a tour of duty to Germany, my wife, who was carrying our child, lost my son. I always blamed myself and went through a series of depression and guilt.

When I came back
home to Kentucky, my significant other became pregnant and moved to South Florida. Because of my guilt, depression and PTSD and not wanting to lose another child; I followed her but had nowhere to live. I tried the homeless shelters but I wasn't comfortable with the environment and chose to stay in my car. I later contacted 211-beds and they gave me Positive Images number. When I called but needed to speak to my case manager. After many failed attempts of trying to get in touch with my case manager, the staff at Positive Images allowed me to stay at their transitional housing facility without any assurance of my being able to pay them. I have been with them for nine months. Two of the months were paid for through a government funded program. I have been trying to secure other funding, find employment with not much luck. However, it didn't stop me from trying to get approved to enroll in college to work on my degree that I had started. I was finally able to get approved for college and have started back. The staff at Positive Images still allowed me to stay in their program. I am still trying to find money to pay them back for the other months I have been here.

Without their kindness, I would be another Homeless Veteran.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See to it that they had consistent funding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

After being incarcerated for almost nine years and coming to Positive Images as a client, I can see myself wearing a suit and tie to work. My life's journey has taken me from prison a year and a half ago to a supervisory position in the Hospitality Industry at a hotel in South Beach Miami, FL making the money of my dreams. And I owe it all to the Positive Images program, the social work program of Barry University that sent volunteer social work interns to guide and counsel me, to John Scharm-a voulunteer mentor who helped me with creating a resume and showing me how to act on a job interview, to the Universal Toastmasters for inspiring me and everyone involved with Positive Images. And initially, the Miami-Dade College Hospitality Institute and following that the Florida International University Institute of Hospitality. But especially Ms. Georgia Foster for being patient, supportive and inspirational; who made me believe that one day I am going to be great. She saw something in me that I did not see in myself.

I am very thankful that I chose to come to Positive Images, completed the program and chose to remain that for aftercare.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help to raise funds to hire staff to alleviate much of Ms. Foster does.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Positive Images has done a wonderful job at changing lives in South, FL. As a young man who would not typically have access to professional attire and branding information, I am forever grateful for this organization blessing me with the opportunity to grow. I am now in college and gearing up to graduate thanks to the continued support of Mrs. Foster and her work with Positive Images. I have recommended a few friends to stop by and they greatly appreciated the investment PI has made in their lives.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What an outstanding organization. Someone recommended Positive Images when I was trying to find a transition home for my son who was being released from prison. I received an immediate response an the follow up with the prison facility guaranteed my son a place to call home. The commitment to assist their clients with transitioning back into society is invaluable! Georgia and her team provide many resources to make the transition an easy one. As a result of their commitment, I am committed to helping Positive Images with whatever I can to help them continue to be successful! Thank you Positive Images for all you continue to do! Bridgette
Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers