Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have served five tours of duty while serving in the U. S. Army' which included Iraq and Afghanistan. While I was on a tour of duty to Germany, my wife, who was carrying our child, lost my son. I always blamed myself and went through a series of depression and guilt.

When I came back
home to Kentucky, my significant other became pregnant and moved to South Florida. Because of my guilt, depression and PTSD and not wanting to lose another child; I followed her but had nowhere to live. I tried the homeless shelters but I wasn't comfortable with the environment and chose to stay in my car. I later contacted 211-beds and they gave me Positive Images number. When I called but needed to speak to my case manager. After many failed attempts of trying to get in touch with my case manager, the staff at Positive Images allowed me to stay at their transitional housing facility without any assurance of my being able to pay them. I have been with them for nine months. Two of the months were paid for through a government funded program. I have been trying to secure other funding, find employment with not much luck. However, it didn't stop me from trying to get approved to enroll in college to work on my degree that I had started. I was finally able to get approved for college and have started back. The staff at Positive Images still allowed me to stay in their program. I am still trying to find money to pay them back for the other months I have been here.

Without their kindness, I would be another Homeless Veteran.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See to it that they had consistent funding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

After being incarcerated for almost nine years and coming to Positive Images as a client, I can see myself wearing a suit and tie to work. My life's journey has taken me from prison a year and a half ago to a supervisory position in the Hospitality Industry at a hotel in South Beach Miami, FL making the money of my dreams. And I owe it all to the Positive Images program, the social work program of Barry University that sent volunteer social work interns to guide and counsel me, to John Scharm-a voulunteer mentor who helped me with creating a resume and showing me how to act on a job interview, to the Universal Toastmasters for inspiring me and everyone involved with Positive Images. And initially, the Miami-Dade College Hospitality Institute and following that the Florida International University Institute of Hospitality. But especially Ms. Georgia Foster for being patient, supportive and inspirational; who made me believe that one day I am going to be great. She saw something in me that I did not see in myself.

I am very thankful that I chose to come to Positive Images, completed the program and chose to remain that for aftercare.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help to raise funds to hire staff to alleviate much of Ms. Foster does.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with POSITIVE IMAGES for over two years.I had no idea the impact P. I had on so many lives or the work that was involved .in the day to day operation.The assistance that Georgia & her staff provides is outstanding.When you see a peson dressed for a job interview and looks in the mirror and smiles & realizes they are prepared for the interview .You relize that as a volunteer of this orginization you have made a contribution also.I chose the right place POSITIVE IMAGES TO volunteer ..May Georgia & group of volunteers continue,for a long long time
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've had the privilege of working with Mrs Georgia Foster and her team as a volunteer and I believe the work they are doing is a life saver for those they serve. I'm so impressed with the passion and respect the team put into serving their clients. I will continue to look for ways I can serve along side this great organization.

Debra McKoy
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Positive Images is a great organization! They are making a positive impact on women.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Positive Images has done a wonderful job at changing lives in South, FL. As a young man who would not typically have access to professional attire and branding information, I am forever grateful for this organization blessing me with the opportunity to grow. I am now in college and gearing up to graduate thanks to the continued support of Mrs. Foster and her work with Positive Images. I have recommended a few friends to stop by and they greatly appreciated the investment PI has made in their lives.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What an outstanding organization. Someone recommended Positive Images when I was trying to find a transition home for my son who was being released from prison. I received an immediate response an the follow up with the prison facility guaranteed my son a place to call home. The commitment to assist their clients with transitioning back into society is invaluable! Georgia and her team provide many resources to make the transition an easy one. As a result of their commitment, I am committed to helping Positive Images with whatever I can to help them continue to be successful! Thank you Positive Images for all you continue to do! Bridgette
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Having been both in the Administrative as well as the Ministry area of homeless outreach ministries, we were delighted to team up with Positive Images team. Their director Georgia Foster has such a caring attitude and gives their clients a real chance to succeed.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Positive Images is a great organization. Our Institution has referred many women to them. They offer excellent service to the community. I am thankful that they have been able to serve the women being released from prison.

Thanks again and God bless you!

Sr. Chaplain Faithe
Reid-Liburd
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As President of Women Expressing Christ at my church The Universal Truth Center, we adopted Positive Images approximately 7 years ago to provide needed services and opportunities to female ex-offenders re-entering the community. This fellowship team found it quite rewarding to assist Mrs. Foster and her organization accepting these women, many who had been imprisoned in excess of 25 years. What amazing services we witnessed and the benefit of the transitional homes, clinical services, referrals, medical, psycho-educational sessions, trainings, employment opportunities and the provision of work clothing positively impacted the lives of the women. Mrs. Foster demonstrated tireless efforts in ensuring women and later men were assessed and offered individualized services developed on their transitional achievement plans. Supervised by a LCSW, Field Educator, Master Level Social Work Interns were used to provide case-management, 12 Step program individual and group counseling, addressed many of their needs and concerns.

As we know, housing and other basic needs are essential to the success of the women and men re-entering our communities. Positive Images Enterprises through the commitment of Mrs. Foster and her staff, offered them various opportunities to secure employment, gain mentoring relationships, develop practical and life skills, use receive clinical services and to become as interdependent as possible. The mentorship program reached out to the men and women prior to their release offering pre-release services in the prisons. Amazingly, we are able to commend many who took advantage of the transitional, re-entry services and are re-acclimated into society with their families, community organizations, employment and Faith. What a benefit Positive Images is the men and women who chose to return to the Miami-Dade and Broward County communities.
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers