Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I am the Board Chair and working with The Hampton Roads Community Health Clinic has been such a rewarding experience. I have been able to couple my passion for the good of humanity and the
development of our local communities, and use it to build new relationships and strengthen
existing
ones. Being a part of a team that is able to provide quality medical and dental care
throughout the Tidewater Region is simply amazing.

One of the things I am most excited about is the implementation of The Affordable Health
Care Act. The Affordable Health Care Act extends coverage and service to patients giving
consumers control to receive quality health care without restrictions and limitations. Because
of this, Community Health Centers are able and committed to offering their patients whether
insured or uninsured the same quality care others received from mainstream health care
facilities. Due to the rapid advancement in medical technology, community health centers
can now provide patient portals. These portals give all patients the ability to retrieve their
health records electronically and communicate with their health care providers as well as the
supporting staff.

A major milestone for HRCHC happened in 2012 when Joanne Grossi, Regional Director for
the United States Department of Health and Human Services visited our Portsmouth Site to
announce that we were the recipients of $600,000 New Access Point Grant. These federally
funded dollars allowed us to plan the opening of two new sites. These sites opened their
doors to the public December of 2012 and are fully operating in the East Ocean View area as
well as Norfolk’s Young’s Terrace. Since we opened the doors we have seen a total of 1,743
patients: East Ocean View with a total of 1,186 and Young’s Terrace with 557. Because of this
we are reaching more people and transforming larger portions of the community. Our promise
is to remain focused on communities and ensure that we give them quality health care and
superior service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I have been a Board Member for several years and am continuously impressed by the level of professionalism and dedication of the staff. Patients from all walks of life are treated to the best care available in the area. Ms. Willis and her team are always looking for ways to improve and serve their patients better.

It has been an honor and a privilege to serve on the Board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 26, 2013

more

March 26, 2013

I have served on the board since 2007 and become increasingly aware of how necessary the services of HRCHC are to the community. Health care coverage and unemployment have punctuated the language of the American experience during the recent recession. Having a community health center to provide access to quality health care, regardless of ability to pay, is a key service to the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hampton Roads Community Health Center is a not-for-profit comprehensive primary health care organization with a commitment to their patients of providing a team based model of medical care, led by a personal physician, to provide continuous and coordinated care through the lifetime of the patient while maximizing health outcomes for the overall patient population. This commitment reinforces their mission of providing the highest quality of primary healthcare to their patients and reinforces to their patients, employees and overall community the commitment to achieving this ever goal.

Additionally, the organization is committed to achieving the following goals above and beyond their primary mission, which, by their very nature, are the elements of a great organization.

1. Physician directed medical practice: with the introduction of mid level providers, continual development of staff and increasing the skill set of clinical support staff, HRCHC is dedicated to providing their physicians with the best employees possible to allow the organization of teams to care for their patients needs.

2. An ongoing relationship with a personal physician: with multiple specialties from geriatrics to primary care, they are committed to having the physicians on staff that can develop the relationships with our entire patient population for the duration of their lifetime.

3. Treatment of the whole person: with multiple levels of support and outside agency involvement; their physicians are dedicating themselves to treating the whole person and not just the disease.

4. Putting the patients needs first: patient satisfaction has become a primary focus of the organization as a whole.

5. Emphasis on quality and safety: with JCAHO accreditation and active QA and PI involvement, the organization is making the safety of patients and their quality of care top priorities.

6. Communication: transition to EMR, flexible central scheduling, and patient portals are just some of the focuses of ensuring efficient and effective communication with their patient population.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with Hampton Roads Community Health Center for 2yrs and it is a wonderful place to work.
We are helping people in the Seven Cities and beyond to get health care if they have insurance or not. Our doctors are caring, sharing and involved in helping the patients to better their
health. We have locations in Portsmouth and 3 in Norfolk. It's exciting to be able to expand and be able to reach more patients and help with their health. We are continuously looking for more ways to help our patients and keep them healthy. Look forward to seeing you at HRCHC!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in the delivery of healthcare in a community setting. Volunteer