Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 27, 2013

I bought a car, had to wait a week on a part. No big deal, until I have to wait another week for hoses to arrive. Then, they ordered the wrong hose. So another week. That's 3 weeks I need to wait for a car that I've paid for and am insuring. Worst car buying expirence ever. I would recommend this to an enemy I'm that disappointed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is Grumpy. Not Grumpy any more. I would like everyone to know that I am retracting my earlier rating. I was very upset at the time and spoke before I thought. I should of spoken with someone at the Portland Rescue Mission before I spouted off. I was contacted by a very nice gentleman from the Mission, who wanted to make things right. Which they have done. We came to an agreement that has solved the problem. I would like to say that the people that I have spoken to have acted in a very Christian way. I do believe that this is a good charity. They are out there to help people that need it the most. I also beleive that this incident was not a typical problem that they or the consumer run into very often or at all. A special Thank You to Dick Osborne.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I bought a car for our Granddaughter through Portland Rescue Mission. I has only been 2 month and the car is no longer driveable. All of the pisstons are shot. We are told the the whole motor will need to be replaced. We spent $1200.00 on a lemon. Thiere asking price was $1500.00. We were under the impression that this car had been completely gone through. Twice the brake light switch was stuck to the on position and the last time the part had to be replced. I know this was a used car, but a person would think that buying a car from a place that says the car was gone through would have it last more then 2 months. I just I had more faith in a place that says they are a Christian organization and want to help people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Portland Rescue Mission has been one of my most productive and rewarding volunteer experiences. I sense deeply the love and skill that go into caring for children and families and others who are in distress. Those who provide the services are highly motivated by a deep sense of Christian duty and service that helps them overcome any barriers that would normally separate them from those they serve. I have seldom seen the kind of sacrificial service provided by staff and volunteers at Portland Rescue Mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my numerous visits as I have served as a volunteer over several years and have developed good relationships with staff members and clients, especially those in residence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am unaware of any areas where change is needed, but if I had large sums of money, I would not at all be reluctant to be a far more generous giver of my resources to support this very important and successful work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Truly, there is no change which I see possible to make being a volunteer there more pleasant or rewarding

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Definitely providing new friendships that have been surprisingly valuable to me. Just yesterday I brought a substantial amount of food to the Mission, immediately to find the warmth of the friendships I enjoy there as people welcomed me and responded with much gratitude.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Inevitably, much appreciated, gratefully received, and uplifted by the experience.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 20, 2011

more

April 20, 2011

PRM is a fantastic organization in every way. Their passion to help the homeless, hurting, and addicted is clearly observed throughout the organization. Not only does PRM treat those they serve well, but they also treat volunteers and employees in an outstanding way. They are continually looking to improve their services, as well as make them more efficient.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing continual improvement in the facilites of PRM.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have to think about that one for a while...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 20, 2011

more

April 20, 2011

We've been donating to Portland Rescue Mission for the last 11 years. This is an amazing ministry. They have helped so many men, women and children. We absolutely love hearing and reading the stories of the lives that have been changed because of what this mission is doing. We have a family member who is looking at being homeless in the next few weeks and Portland Rescue Mission is the number one place that we and many others have recommended. We could not imagine not giving to this organization. Thank You Portland Rescue Mission!
The Rease Family.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

recommending this organization to others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

tell more and more to please donate to this organization by giving of their time, talent and treasure!

April 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with Shepherd's Door, the women and children's recovery program at Portland Rescue Mission for many years. Over the years, I have seen many women graduate from the program, which addresses all aspects of recovery - from physical to emotional to spiritual. The program isn't rules based. Instead the staff and volunteers help teach the women and their children, through a grace and love filled approach, how to make the best choices to heal their families and build their futures. This approach seems to make the difference since so many of the women are successful at maintaining their sobriety and using their newfound life and job skills after graduation. It has been a privilege to be a small part of this work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through the training that Portland Rescue Mission provides to teach the volunteers how to understand and aid in the the recovery process with the women and children, I have learned to understand more about myself and how my life experiences have changed me. Caring for such a diverse group of children has helped me understand more about children's development and ways to draw each child out and help them grow. This has spilled over into other work I do with children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

let people know how rewarding working with the kids is, so that there might be a larger group of volunteers willing to do regular work with the kids and be able to give the moms more breaks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

March 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Portland Resue Mission Save My Lfe. Four years ago I came to Portland Rescue Mission from S. California where I was homeless for weeks. I never dreamed after 17 years of marriage,3 beautiful children and a life,for years,where I was active in my community and highly involved with my children and every aspect of their lives through volunteer work,which I simple loved,at the public schools and involved in my church,that anyone,not just me,could ever find themselves where I was.
There I was,defeated by the lies,that my life had spun so far out of control that there just was no other way to go except down,and down I went,to a point where I hated everything about me and I was just done.I gave up,I shut down emotionally and eventually stopped talking all together.I would duck out in allys or just keep walking,I was barefoot with a pair of jeans and a t-shirt on.I was scorched by the elements and I just did not care.Drugs and alcohol had robbed me of me,ruined my reputation,I just was so lost and humiliated I ccouldn't stand myself.However God had different plans.It was through random acts of kindness and love from perfect strangers that sustained me even once protected me from physical harm.Not that I cared,I thank God someone elce did.I finally was taken to the County Mental Institution,it was there the healing began. I still was not talking therefore I went by the name Jane Doe.I laid in bed day in and day out.There was a young lady who would come in my room and say out loud "I LOVE YOU JANE DOE!"She would even at times jump on me and hug me tight.In time I finally spoke,I got up,I was mad as heck at myself still but I said to the nurse stationed outside my door,'I have a phone call I need to make.'Well with that,she jumps up and says,'Jane Doe speaks." The whole place got happy and here I am.
As I reflect,as I so often do,I see Gods hand everywher in my life,at every turn and how he sicked the hounds of heaven on me even though I gave up on Him,He never gave up on me.
Through a chain of events,on October 30,2007,I had my interview with Shepheards Door and my tour.Afterwards I was told I could move in anytime,with that I JUMPED FOR JOY!! Two days later I moved in.For 7 months that in Helen' Perfect World,all of you and the rest of the world,could experience for yourselves.This IS 'LIFE TRANSFORMATION." What i left there with are tools that no-one or nothing can take away from me.
Right now,I am going through some difficult times,that's ok today.I have been blessed to mentor young people and reach out to the homeless in ways that only I know how to do.Yes,I have been there.Yes,I have done that,and Yes I do have the t-shirt.Nothing shocks me anymore.If there's one thing I ahve learned,it is that I have alot to learn. I freely give what was so freely givin to me and that is non-contitional love.I love to share my story of victory,and I love to hears others stories,and I do and it is hard.It's hard to walk away knowing what I know,I feel a bond between each and every person I have encountered and that is alot.It humbles me,inspires me,drives me and at time,it breaks me.I share the hope of Portland Rescue Mission all the time,planting seeds of hope is the least I can do.Portland Rescue Mission is leaps and bounds above the rest as far as I can see anyways,and I look.This is my life,and I dream of the day when homlessness comes to an end,you CAN help that happen.How/ Just get the 'Good Word" out about Portland Rescue Mission.The reality is this.Homelessness today is 'epidemic' my friends.It simply would not be such a "problem' if people would just "embrace" that fact and 'STOP" argueing about it.I find myself defending homelessness more and more at the most im-proptue moments.God has equiped me for whatever He has palnned for me and Portland Rescue Mission was definately my 'Training Ground.' Now,you may think your nobody special,I know the feeling,I want to remind you,as I often have to remind myself and that is this...There is no sin to great and it is never to late,you have not gone to far,You are beautifully and wonderfully made.God has a plan,this is part of it.God goes with me and you where-ever we may go.
God loves you and me the same way in spite of ourselves.Today I greet the day with ,'Thank you God for this day and for bringing me with it,I thank you in advance that you have prepared the way for me today that no matter what happens I don't have to drink or drug over it.PRAISE GOD!!" Last,but surely not least,in the interest of time,I could go on,I'm 52 years young and so much has happened.There's alot that hasn't happened to me to that has happened to countless other's.It is vital for people to be able to tell thier story without being ashamed.I know I can't save the world,there has to be a bigger picture.I just meet folks where they are at,I listen,I hug,smile,I really am glad to see them,my heart hurts for them,the lost and the forgotten.There's alot of hope out there however we need more.Share the Hope.There is hope and there is a place that will help and that is Portaland Rescue Mission.They saved this ship wrecked life and I am so very gateful.Thank You for taking the time to read this.I pray you would take it to heart and share the love.I,like other's, I am always available to speak and to be of encouragement.It's nothing short of a miracle that I am alive,just goes to show God is in the miracle buisness,I'm living proof.
Blessings and Much Love,
Helen J. Harris

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through the Life Transformation Program At Shepheards Door.I pray all the woman I love would someday go there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

One of the most valuble lessons I learned and I pass on that is to 'Remain Teachable." Seek the tryth,take risks,that to try and fail is NOT to fail,to NOT try is to fail. To this day,I "try" and I have failed,I go back and try again and again,I keep educating myself by tapp ing into people smarter than me and staying informed on what is important to me,for me,that is the issue of Hoelessness and I find Portland Rescue Mission to be a valuable resource.YouTube and Facebook have multitudes od resources also.So whatever is on your heart,GO FOR IT.Be a 'Voice" ofr a cause.Be of encouragement and fight the good fight.I LOVE quoting others,like Rcik Warren,I think that's his last name,however the book,'The Pueose Drivin Life." One of the BEST books ever,he says,'If You Have A Pulse You Have a Purpose."..Enough out of me,that say's it all.Be Blessed and Be A Blessing.Thank You

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In reponse to Carrie's review, what's most unfortunate is that the local media and the event organizer took this story to the market with only one side to the story. Portland Rescue Mission's decision to not partner with the Dec. 2010 "Queer Quistmas" was a sponsorship decision, not a decision to decline the much-needed and useful contribution of blankets and winter outerwear. We were willing to accept the donations, but the organizer chose to direct the gifts elsewhere (after taking his story to both TV and web). Fortunately, the donated coats still benefited the homeless people of the community who we serve everyday at Portland Rescue Mission. Our decision to decline the sponsorship was primarily based on the urgency of a decision (it was less than 3 weeks away) and our inability to provide all the benefits that the organizer/event would require. We regret the confusion that this issue has created in our local community and the greater community of LGBT concerns.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I'm on staff with Portland Rescue Mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more careful as we interact with potential partners to determine their true motives for offering support.

December 5, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
December 5, 2010

It's unfortunate the Portland Rescue Mission would turn down a hefty donation because it came from the LGBT community. Read this article before donating to this organization: http://chn.ge/gMCKeQ

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

no way whatsoever. However, I'm sure the people they serve need the coats and sweaters that would have been donated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fire Brian Merrell for not carrying out the mission of the Portland Rescue Mission by discriminating against supporters.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers