Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.6153845
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 31, 2012

I`ve come to Paw team recently, and being unemployed I have some flex time That I feel that I could put to use and help out a great organization.I feel that there is such a need for their services in our community ,regrettably the need far outweighs the resources to help all of those in need.I know that Paw team is grateful for all of the people that do take time out of their weekends to help and do what they can.That is why I`m a little taken back by some of the reviews that some of the so called volunteers.In particular the people that say they just stood around and didn`t do anything for the first hour.This is interesting,for there is so much that needs to be done.Especially the days of the clinics.Like I said I`m new to Paw Team, and I`ve always had a full day.Maybe if these people might leave the break room, put down the donuts and/or coffee and see on their own what they could contribute or help with.Believe me there is never a shortage of the help that we need.In closing for anyone that wants to give back to our community, this is an excellent organization to do that .As I do,you will get back so much more than you give , Thaddeus Byrne ( grateful volunteer)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently found out about paw team and fell in love with there mission almost right away. I have been in a situation myself where I was unable to provide the kind of care I wanted to for my dog and because of that I believe her life was cut short. I know the pain and struggle of loosing your job and then having your animal get sick right around the same time, it's awful. I felt like the best way to honor my girl was to get involved with a group that helped people in my situation so that's exactly what I did. Paw team has given me a unique way to honor my girl and connect with others in a similar situation. I feel blessed to share their stories of hope and see such an important service be given to those in need. Thank you paw team, if only I had found you sooner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2012

more

May 4, 2012

I just got an email asking for volunteers at the next clinic. My last experience was so bad I am not volunteering again. I had to show up at 8am on a Sunday morning only to sit around for an hour with nothing to do. So I am not doing that again. But my comment is more to the inacurate content of the email the Paw Team sent me. It states that they have had 3 clinics this year and served 100 animals at each. This is an NOT TRUE. I volunteered for their first large clinic in March where we served 70 animals, not 100. They February clinic was not at the new location and served 20 animals. i cannot speak to the April clinic since I won't volunteer again. From what I have read on this site, the structure is at the very least questionable. What I know from personal experience, the organization is not honest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I have volunteered at many of the monthly clinic. It has been a great experience for me. I love what this clinic can do, I only wish that it could do more. The need is great out there for this type of place. If you can only donate time or money to one place, this is it. If your not sure, come to one of the clinics and see what is being done to help out our four legged friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met many wonderful people at PAW Team.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I love working there. There is nothing better than being thanked by the clients there.

March 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered with PawTeam for about 18 months. The organization does amazing work and is a great place to volunteer. Clinics are busy and well organized and so very needed in our city. On average we see 100 pets at each clinic which is an amazing feat! I have always found the "people in charge" to be open, honest, compassionate and always open to suggestions on ways to improve how the clinics are run. The clients we serve are wonderful and so grateful for the help that we are able to offer them and their pets. You don't have to be a vet to help with the clinics and it is rewarding. If you are looking for an animal type volunteer experience this is a great one to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This organization suffers from a serious structural flaw. This non-profit is a "members organization". Under Oregon Law this means that the members control the organization and among other things, appoint the board of directors. There are only three members and two are paid employees of the organization. By law, the board is suppose to oversee the budget and the executive director. But since the executive director is a member who appoints board members, there is an obvious flaw in the structure and oversight is nearly impossible. This is exacerbated by the fact that no one is informed about this structure. Board turn over is constant. The recent mass resignation occurred after a board member of 2 years discovered this structural issue and requested a change. The executive director agreed to look into it but instead appointed a second employee as a member and promptly asked all board members to resign. The mission is fantastic, the work great, the need even greater. However, the structure is rife with conflicts of interest and needs to change for the organization to thrive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers