Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
123.6153845
Write A Review
May 31, 2012

I`ve come to Paw team recently, and being unemployed I have some flex time That I feel that I could put to use and help out a great organization.I feel that there is such a need for their services in our community ,regrettably the need far outweighs the resources to help all of those in need.I know that Paw team is grateful for all of the people that do take time out of their weekends to help and do what they can.That is why I`m a little taken back by some of the reviews that some of the so called volunteers.In particular the people that say they just stood around and didn`t do anything for the first hour.This is interesting,for there is so much that needs to be done.Especially the days of the clinics.Like I said I`m new to Paw Team, and I`ve always had a full day.Maybe if these people might leave the break room, put down the donuts and/or coffee and see on their own what they could contribute or help with.Believe me there is never a shortage of the help that we need.In closing for anyone that wants to give back to our community, this is an excellent organization to do that .As I do,you will get back so much more than you give , Thaddeus Byrne ( grateful volunteer)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently found out about paw team and fell in love with there mission almost right away. I have been in a situation myself where I was unable to provide the kind of care I wanted to for my dog and because of that I believe her life was cut short. I know the pain and struggle of loosing your job and then having your animal get sick right around the same time, it's awful. I felt like the best way to honor my girl was to get involved with a group that helped people in my situation so that's exactly what I did. Paw team has given me a unique way to honor my girl and connect with others in a similar situation. I feel blessed to share their stories of hope and see such an important service be given to those in need. Thank you paw team, if only I had found you sooner.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012

The review from the attorney was VERY HELPFUL! I looked on the Oregon Corporation website as suggested and saw that the information about the structure of PAW Team was absolutely accurate and a cause for concern. But then I took a step further and looked up the listed partners with the PAW Team and that was VERY INTERESTING! Safe Dogs by the River is composed of Wendy and Chelsea, the two people who are the "members" that control the PAW Team AND draw a salary! So are they inventing partners for grants!? Highly suspect! I will not support this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2012

more

May 4, 2012

I just got an email asking for volunteers at the next clinic. My last experience was so bad I am not volunteering again. I had to show up at 8am on a Sunday morning only to sit around for an hour with nothing to do. So I am not doing that again. But my comment is more to the inacurate content of the email the Paw Team sent me. It states that they have had 3 clinics this year and served 100 animals at each. This is an NOT TRUE. I volunteered for their first large clinic in March where we served 70 animals, not 100. They February clinic was not at the new location and served 20 animals. i cannot speak to the April clinic since I won't volunteer again. From what I have read on this site, the structure is at the very least questionable. What I know from personal experience, the organization is not honest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a co-founder, I have been involved with the PAW Team since it's inception. I know first hand the amount of energy and creativity contributed by the administrative staff, the board, and the volunteer doctors and support staff. The stories of the animals and caregivers that come to the PAW Team for help are compelling. I fully support the mission of the PAW Team and encourage anyone who understands the nurturing, healing relationship shared by people and animals to confidently donate time and/or funding to this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I have volunteered at many of the monthly clinic. It has been a great experience for me. I love what this clinic can do, I only wish that it could do more. The need is great out there for this type of place. If you can only donate time or money to one place, this is it. If your not sure, come to one of the clinics and see what is being done to help out our four legged friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've met many wonderful people at PAW Team.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I love working there. There is nothing better than being thanked by the clients there.

April 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is a member organization under Oregon law. This is a matter of public record and can be found on the Oregon Corporation Division's website. This means that the members have full power to select the Board of Directors, including the power to dismiss them at any time. In most membership nonprofits, people become members by contributing a certain amount of money annually, usually a relatively small amount, such as $25-$35 per year. Everyone who gives that amount has the right to participate in the election of directors. PAWT is unusual in that its members select other members as well as the Board of Directors. PAWT has a serious structural flaw in that its only two members are the Executive Director and Medical Clinic Director of PAWT. In other words, there can be no effective oversight. If the Board tries to exercise its authority over those employees, those employees can simply remove and replace the Board, which they recently did. Basically, this is the fox guarding the hen house. The Board may have control over the organization and its Executive Director and Medical Clinic Director in theory but if the employees don't like a decision of the Board, they simply remove them or force them to resign.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There is something wrong with this organization. The web site states they have large monthly clinics yet every time I tried to volunteer for one it was cancelled. I think they barely had half the number of large clinic claimed. It is a great mission but they are not doing it. I have no idea where my donation was used but I know it was not used for the purposes I intended to help. I will not be donating again to this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Tom Foster and my dog named "Possum" has a seriously dangerous immune disease called "Pemphigus" that if it were left untreated he would have died, I had a regular Vet that I took him to but after all of my money ran out I wasn't able to afford to take him there any longer, I searched around the internet and was about to give up when I was contacted by PAW Team and I was told to bring him in to be looked at and hopefully get treatment, Possum was in rough shape and he was even being considered by the Vet to be put down as that's how bad off he was but no one gave up and he was given medications, medicated shampoos and other supplements and a chance, Since then he has been thriving the only side effect being his hair loss due to the use of Prednisone but I'll take a hairless dog over a sick one full of fur any day, I've had only good experiences with PAW Team, They have always treated Possum and I with great respect and the care they have provided for Possum is the only reason he is still here with me today, I wish I were able to do something of meaning for them as they truly deserve it, One day when I'm able to I will gladly be a volunteer for them and do whatever they ask of me, PAW Team is a great organization that needs to survive and giving to them is a blessing to all of those animals that need them that otherwise wouldn't get the care they deserve, THANK YOU PAW TEAM, POSSUM AND I LOVE YOU ALL!!! :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for PAW Team for over 4 years and have seen the organization grow tremendously to meet the equally growing need for services in our community. Because I believe strongly in the mission of the organization and greatly respect the work that was started by the founding members and board, I have become more involved as a Core Team volunteer and in late 2011, became a board member. PAW Team is emerging from a transitional, growing period as a strong organization, well suited to meet our mission and have a great impact on the homeless and extremely poor of Portland. I'd like to address some of the inaccuracies mentioned in a previous review, for clarification of the record: PAW Team is indeed a membership organization, as detailed in our bylaws. The founders hired Cindy Cumfer, a well-respected non-profit attorney in Portland who has authored 7 editions of the "Non-profit law in Oregon" book. Cindy was consulted by the founders when they began the process of adding a larger Board of Directors and paid staff in 2009. Cindy recommended and set up the organization as a membership organization at that time. There are currently 3 members, 2 of whom founded the organization; only 1 is paid staff, the Executive Director, whose dedication and incredible work ethic are admirable and beyond the call of duty. There are a number of "Core" volunteers who handle primary day-to-day operations, clinics preparation, and follow-up with clients. A larger base of volunteers fill the many roles needed for our successful monthly clinics, at each of which we see around 100 companion animals and their people. The Board of Directors retains ALL powers of oversight and any other financial and accountability issues, including oversight of the Executive Director; this and a wealth of other information is provided to all Board Directors in a comprehensive Board Director Information Packet (including bylaws and detailed financial reports). The commentor below may have been misinformed; I personally have the aforementioned packet, have read it all, and can attest to the clarity and transparency of all relevant information that a board member would need to know, as well as the willingness of the members and Executive Director to answer any questions and communicate openly with the Board and volunteers. I am excited about PAW Team's future, am thrilled to be a part of it, and am thankful for the compassionate and hard-working staff and volunteers who have put so much into realizing the mission of this great organization. The biggest payoff is hearing our clients' stories. They are so grateful to PAW Team for caring about the bonds they have with their companion animals; many of them would not be able to properly care for or keep their companion animals-- a vital part of their lives-- without the services, medications, and education that PAW Team provides.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers