Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1.923082345
Write A Review
August 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Just tell them you want to help for $50 $100 or what ever $$$ and to send out there stuff. When there stuff showes up IF they use a bussiness reply pre paid postage envelope for you to return your check in send them a note back to kiss off on there dime! At least it cost them a doller in postage and printing to call you. And when thay call back to check were your $$ is tell O ya what wasyour name (the person not the Company) them tell them you are recording them for the State attorney general. Thry raised 40 Mill in 9 years and gave away just over 200,000 RIP OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 8, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I just got fired from the PPF the other day. for not being "aggresive" enough. They are very very deceptive. I was told to sound like a police officer and to deepen my voice and be aggresive. be dominant. Dont show respect. I would get in trouble for not be aggresive and "too nice" when i would ask a little 86 yr old lady for money and she tells me how she just buried her son and shes battleing cancer instead of pressuring her i told her i hope everything looks up and i thanked her for her time. I honestly wish there was something i could do to help bring these crooks down. I felt dirty working for them. im glad im out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The outfit is a telemarketing spammer. Don't give them any information when they ask for it. Report them to the FCC and your state Attorney General which are the agencies that can put them out of business.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 19, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Just got a call from this organization - As I was loading the organization into the charity navigator site, while the caller was talking, he asked if he could count on my support. I said that he could send me information and I would research the organization to see if it was something we would be interested in donating to. Click. That was it. Guess that says it all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

more

February 9, 2012
12 people found this review helpful

I was a Maryland State Trooper for almost 30 years and while I've been solicited by this organization(have NOT donated) I have never heard of them ever sending a check to the families of any of our fallen troopers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 4, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Wow, these people are jerks. I got a call this morning, told them I had never heard of their organization, and hung up. I then left on an errand. My wife got a call a few minutes later from the PPF solicitor, and he started insulting her because I didn't donate to them. The call was from 727-863-5033 at 10:49 am EST. What can be done to shut these clowns down?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 17, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I have received solicitations from this organization for at least two years and both times when I have asked how much of the money goes to fund-raising, the caller was evasive and kept saying "all money goes to the charity." He was not technically lying, just not answering the question. Both callers were loud and belligerent and I have asked to be removed from their calling list. Thanks are owed to websites like this that monitor these kinds of organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actually use the money you raise to assist police and the law-enforcement community. That means spending most of the millions taken in to support well thought out programs. 60% cost for fund-raising is criminal - a scam.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Solicitation

January 11, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 11, 2012
11 people found this review helpful

What does the Police Protective Fund do?

The Police Protective Fund encompasses a number of different programs that aid law-enforcement workers in various way. One of their most important programs is their "Line-of-Duty Death Benefit." Enrollment in this program is absolutely free to any
and all law-enforcement officers, and provides a $10,000 benefit to the beneficiaries of officers killed in the line of duty.

In 2006, Police Protective Fund raised $5,938,902 in donations yet awarded only $37,000 in death benefits. In 2007, Police Protective Fund raised $6,881,915 in donations yet awarded $50,000 in death benefits. Most of the money raised goes towards their fundraising expenses.

Many law agencies use telemarketing firms to solicit funds for such programs as a legal defense funds for police officers, or "Backstoppers" which is an organization that aids widows and children of officers slain or permanently injured in the line of duty.

When a person is contacted over the phone or at their door by an agency they should refuse to give money or information until they have made certain of legitimacy of the solicitor. Never give out credit card or bank account information or allow anyone to enter your home that you do not have previous knowledge of. When in doubt call your local police department for assistance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

ATTENTION 4- 5 STAR COMMENTS~ YOU SHOW ME, HERE. WHERE AND HOW MUCH THIS ORGANIZATION GAVE TO THE JR. ACADEMY OR ANY OF THERE CAMPAIGNS IN THE UNITED STATES. AND ESPECIALLY THE AREA'S OF THE COUNTRY WHERE THEY SOLICIT FOR DONATIONS/SPONSORSHIPS (WHAT EVER PLAY ON WORDS THEY USE) THEY ARE REGISTERED FUNDRAISERS IN ATLEAST 10 STATES. SHOW ME WHAT LOCAL COMMUNITY'S BENEFITED AND HOW MUCH MONEY AND OR CERTIFIED TRAINING. ? AND I DO NOT MEAN A WHOLE BUNCH OF PRINTED MATERIAL THAT SITS IN THERE MAIN OFFICE OR THE PROFESSIONAL FUNDRAISING (BOILER ROOMS) OFFICES. LIKE NEW PORT RICHEY ,FL . IF ANYONE EVER WALKED INTO THAT OFFICE AND SAW WHAT GOES ON . THIS ORGANIZATION COULD NOT RAISE TEN CENTS. THIS IS A CHANCE FOR YOUR ORGANIZATION TO SHINE ! SHOW US LAST YEAR, WHERE AND HOW MUCH WAS GIVEN IN THE COMMUNITIES THEY SOLICITED IN.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a supporter of the PPF for several campaigns now and after some research have learned some interesting things. The PPF provides a free comprehensive death in the line of duty benefit for ANY officer in ANY state in which they raise funds. Much like our soldiers at war, these men and women not only deserve our respect and gratitude but their families also deserve our help should they be tragically killed in the line of duty. I am proud to be a supporter of our fallen officers and everyone else should be as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

speaking with to the Police Chaplain of the charity, David Fair, who personally assured me that if an officer dies in the line of duty, the PPF cuts their family a check AND provides them with grief counseling to help them in their time of grief.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have the charity do more with the youth of the community. The Junior Police Academy program is great and should be utilized more.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers