Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1.923082345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

The 4-5 star rating on here by Jason Robert Williams is another reason not to trust this charity or donate money to them. He is the Sales Manager in their MAIN OFFICE/ Boiler Room in PORT RICHEY ,FL . at 10438 US HIghway 19 behind the Arby's.
He is also a convicted felon and a registered sex
offender. This can be verified through the FL Dept. of Corrections. follow this link- http://offender.fdle.state.fl.us/offender
IF ANYONE EVER WALKED INTO THAT OFFICE AND SAW WHAT GOES ON . THIS ORGANIZATION COULD NOT RAISE TEN CENTS. THIS IS A CHANCE FOR YOUR ORGANIZATION TO SHINE ! SHOW US LAST YEAR, WHERE AND HOW MUCH WAS GIVEN IN THE COMMUNITIES THEY SOLICITED IN. I worked there for about 2 days, that was all I needed. The sales manager is very unprofessional and immature. He has people openly stoned or on drugs and just jokes about it in meetings. My first day there, I started after the 1 hour lunch break at 5pm. The guy across from me is baked and wolfing down Cheetos and all he said to him was "you look tired *** (wink,wink) You're still going to be able to raise money for me right? Most of them laughed about it.
If you have people asking for money for a "legitimate" Police Fund, would you want that? Especially when he is asking people for CC#'s or banking info. There is more than one of them. They have no drug testing policy in place which is strange since their claim to fame for the children of fallen officers is their Jr Academy they say they sponsor and put on in a safe non gang, drug free environment.
They have no regard for the law,the lady from the salon next door had to complain more than once about the telemarketers going out on their smoke breaks and pissing behind the back door to her business. Tampa Bay Times did a story on them (http://www.tampabay.com/americas-worst-charities/charities/police-protective-fund) and rated them as the 20th worse charity out of 100 of the worst to give money to. Charity Navigator has done the same. Channel 5 ABC News in TN also said the same. Google them and you will see all kinds of stories. Non-good, except for the ones they write themselves.
If you want to help your local law enforcement, call them and ask them directly where you can donate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close them down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 13, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

The Police Protective Fund Is A COMPLETE FRAUD!!! They Give No Monies to The Families of Fallen Officers,they Dont Operate in Any Of The States they Call. They Dont Adhere to Any Standards of Decency.They Decline to Be Revieved By The BBB Because They Are SCAMMING Money out of The Pockets of Decent People and Lining Their Own Pockets With It& Boy Are They Doing Better Than You or Me Or The Hardworking People they Victimize. They Collect Millions Every Year In Donations That Go Nowhere But Into Their Pockets. F.U. Police Protective Fund.Your The Lowest Form Of Scum...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Disband the Organization,Revoke their Licence to Operate, and JAIL THE OWNERS/ MANAGEMENT.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 8, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

A lot of people have misconstrued the facts of this charity. People have said that only a small portion of the proceeds go to the families... that is determined by how many officers die in the line of duty for that year.

If you visit the web site, you will see that the "line-of-duty death
benefit" is not the only way the money is spent.

They also have programs like the "Junior Police Academy" which has been going since 1992. It is a program that brings children and law enforcement together to build crime-free, safe communities.

They also provide the "Police Chaplains Project", they have master chaplains that help the families and departments with grief counseling after a line of duty death.

If you click on the following link, you will find the IRS tax form (990):

http://static.squarespace.com/static/50708cb7e4b04b0e1037e04d/t/5212ab49e4b0750ce7ea9e15/1376955209492/PPF%20990-2012%20w%20sigs%20FINAL.pdf

It will show that $1.3 million was spent on the "Junior Police Academy". $900k was spent on crisis response, which includes the "police Chaplains Project", and funeral planning. $37k was spent directly benefiting the families of officers killed in the line of duty. Another $420k was spent on public awareness to "Proceed with Caution", It informs the community that the leading cause of deaths for officers is traffic accidents. It helps to raise awareness so that the police officers can have a safer work environment. That is a total of $2.7 million spent on their programs.

A few benefits for donating with this charity is that they do not outsource their fundraising to a company that will take between 60%-90% of your donation to raise the funds. Another benefit is that the are not membership based, the officers do not have to sign up, pay dues or membership fees to be eligible for the benefits. The benefits a free of charge to any officer.

For the uninformed, you should do more than superficial research before reaching a decision based on partial truths. Also, you should not "bash" someone or something that is doing, and has been doing for many years, REAL good.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

I want give to the police protection fund becuz of polices attitude I dont think I would want to support a fund raiser like that!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

February 22, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 22, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The PPF had called my home several times in January and Febuary of this year requesting to speak with my wife. The first several times I informed them that she was not available. Finally after about three calls I asked why they were calling and they informed me of their annual awareness program. I informed that we were were not interested and to remove our phone number. The individual told me that he could not do that with out talking to my wife. I advised that I was the account holder on the telephone account and had legal athority to request my number be removed. He abroutly thanked me and hung up. About a week later they called again. This is a deliberate violation of federal regulation 16 C.F.R 310.4(b)(iii)(A) prohibits calling anybody who has previously asked not to be called.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 11, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

Thank you, Charity Navigator, for giving us basic information needed to make decisions on where we put our money. We have worked hard for the money we donate and want to inow that t is well spent fr the purpose we choose. When 80% is devoted to fundraising and program expenses have actually gone down 16%, we think, KEEP AWAY.

Our fundraiser was not rude, but employed diversionary tactics. When I asked for the specific name of the 501 c so I could look it up on Charity Navigator, he gave me a website policeusa.org. It took a search through that site to discover that the 501c was the Police Protective Fund, it is not locally based and it does not necessarily deliver locally, and the function was not what was indicated.

Thanks again, Charity Navigator, for bringing clairty t these fund raising calls. While at one time I would answer and say I never donate over the phone, now I always look them up (and am often hung up on!).

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Received a call from this group at my home. They presented themselves as a local Maryland fundraising group raising money for the death benefit for police families. When questioned where which agency they were raising funds for, I was told "Local." When questioned further they could not give me the name of a local police agency & just said they were working out of Rockville, Maryland. (Upon further review, found out they are based in Texas but have a Post Office Box in Texas. Before I realized they were local I told them I would make a donation. They tried to get me to give my credit card number to them over the phone. Said to send me literature, I would review & send a check. Told them I was surprised they would even ask me for a payment over the phone when I had no idea to prove who they were. The person was nasty, told me they have thousands of people who give their credit card over the phone & that by me sending them a check, it would cost them more money to process. Well I have recieved my literature and am turning it in to the Maryland State Police for they are NOT ligitimate. DO NOT GIVE TO THIS ORGANIZATION ..... THEY ARE DISHONEST AND MAY EVEN BE A SCAM!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Would have gladly sent in money... no problem UNTIL I received a 'callback' to check my 'pledge'. The person on the other end of the phone wanted to know how I was paying... and said, as before "by check". She then asked me for the numbers on my check to verify that I would send in a check. WELL. She wanted my ROUTING information... which would enable them to debit my account ... on the spot. Now, what happens to those who budget their 'donations' for specific times? In a moment, this organization or anyone pretending to be a legit organization) could 'wipe out your account'! Thanks, but no thanks. Don't like your practice... and when I confronted the caller, she said it was not their intention. So be it... They should be reported to 'the powers that be".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This organization phoned. The called was very upbeat and positive until I tried to tell him that we need information to review so we could make an informed decision. No "thank you for your time," "We'll be glad to send that," nothing.....just slammed the phone in my ear. Came to Charity Nav. to check them out....not good. "Real" charities will send you information and let you check them out....these guys must be scammers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Just got called by this group. I told the gentleman I never donate over the phone. When I tried to interrupt him as he was following up with his "no donation -- you just have to help us solicit several friends" speech, he hung up on me in the middle of my sentence. As one other commenter put it...that says it all!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers