Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.851855
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

On the days when the answers don't seem so easy to process and the challenges are even greater, I know that the folks at PMG Awareness Organization are there to help me. We celebrate the milestones together and sympathize in a way that no one else can. I have made connections with others who have helped to navigate this road.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

i am an adult with bps pmg epc hit when i was 55yr old 2009
i am /was a nurse but am now a pt . disabled
what i have gone through has been a rollercoaster ride of reports and emotions
each month something new attacked my body and still is .
trying to understand what was
happening to my body and deal with the barrage
of tests and horrible meds has been a nightmare that no one else seems to be able to comprehend
all i get is " you look good" while the intractable neuro pain burns my Lt face hand and foot .
one month in i lost the ability to talk , spent a yr working at home every day and still have difficulties with S's , or any sound that requires a smile as 1/2 the face tongue larynx and trachea are frozen - muscle moves - nerves do not send correct message .
the worst part for a child i think is my epiglottis does not close , EVER , so saliva pools at my vocal chords and i must stop and take a breath in and then swallow , thousand times a day !
NEVER lay on your back !!! on affected side to sleep and drool onto pillow .
never feed mixed textured food eg require chewing and swallowing at the same time - soup w/ noodles . stay away from grapes , tart oranges or drinks , watermelon , keep head bend down so fluid stays in mouth until ready to swallow .
good foods , bananas , avocados , thick power drinks , grains , meat , sandwiches if not too wet ,
i use a straw to drink water , get it in fast and down the right tract . bolis of foods are good
i had diff. eating as i couldn't move the food around in my mouth properly / has improved with exercise . hearing loss , strange sounds , buzzing clicks hissing . crowded rooms VERY uncomfortable , hurricane in my head 24/7 pain pills help ?5% not worth the side effects and kidney damage. no longer feel my skin ,pain was so great shut off all sensation , pain internal now, plus allodynia in hand , touch anything cold or smooth glass, metal SCREAM ! must keep affected side warm . 2 yrs later can't feel muscles , and last yr , ligaments and tendons ! torn rotator cuff because i could not tell how much i was lifting . any extra pain experience to LT side is held onto for days longer . having balance issues , Lt leg does not lock into place very tiring to stand and limited walking . acute motor skills lost in hand , cannot tell diff. between hot and burning temps
people ask " what do you do all day"? it take twice the time to do anything and you must be aware of everything you are doing at all times . i aspirate all the time , usually the first bite when i am not ready , or the last bite when i put my guard down my life is all about concentration just to get through my ADL as an adult i have the knowledge to comprehend some of this and had the skills i lost to relearn , but as a parent with a child my heart goes out to you with their inability to communicate their pains and needs i wish you all the love and success required to bring you child through this difficult time


More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

This group goes above and beyond to get families together and to research all kinds of information and support for families with children who have been diagnosed with PMG. The organizers are driven by their liove and dedication to their own children and by their desire to gather up and help all families who have children in the same situation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

My son has PMG & when we first got the diagnosis, we were scared & felt alone. This organization made us realize that we're not alone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

My daughter was diagnosed with PMG at 9 months. I live in Australia and the doctors I was seeing at little knowledge of this malformation, the Internet just gave a brief explanation. Through this organisation I have gained so much knowledge and so much support. Just knowing you can speak to someone who knows what you are going through is a breath of fresh air and makes everyday a little easier. Thank you PMG.Org.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move them to Australia.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter was diagnosed at 2 months old with Polymicrogyria. We were scared and in desperate need of information and support and found very little at that time. Since then PMG Awareness has been created and it is such an amazing gift to the families of children with PMG. I wish we had had this to go to when we started our journey! They are doing great work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful non profit organization that has helped to connect so many families who's lives are affected by PMG and it has helped to inform and educate the public about this rare disorder. This organization has helped to give so many families hope for their children's future and comforted many in their times of need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Grateful that this group not only connects parents of children with PMG, offering much needed support, and a sense of community, but is fighting to educate and bring awareness of this disorder across the nation!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase media and marketing to help spread the word.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 25, 2012

What a wonderful organization. As far as I know it's the only one for PMG. I love being a part of their group, it's like extended family. You always have someone to turn to who is or has gone through ... more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What an AMAZING group of committed Parents and Caregivers to these beautiful children. I never knew about PMG before this organization. They work hard and tirelessly to get the word out so more kids can be properly diagnosed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful organization. As far as I know it's the only one for PMG. I love being a part of their group, it's like extended family. You always have someone to turn to who is or has gone through the same experiences. I love that a family started this organization after a family member was diagnosed, you know the passion is there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am both a parent of a child with PMG and a professional in the field serving children with developmental disabilities. This group helps parents share information they would not other wise have access to. This group is wonderful!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers