Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I've had the opportunity to be a part of the Playworks organization for a while now and I continue to be amazed by the positive difference it is having in the lives of so many youth around the country. As a child, recess was always the highlight of the day. This organization has found a way to expand and enhance recess even further while teaching the youth of today valuable life and leadership lessons. Just a few days ago there was a Playworks hockey Jamboree in my city and if everyone had an opportunity to see the happiness and joy which illuminated from the children participating, the world would truly be a better place. I'm glad to volunteer for an organization as wonderful as Playworks, and I look forward to watching them continue to grow in the future.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The simple truth is that Playworks is fun but Playworks is also extremely necessary. Too often children grow up too quickly, and as a "grown up" myself I can solemnly declare that besides being able to have cake for breakfast if I feel like it, being an adult is not all it is cracked up to be! Adulthood is centered around work, but as anyone that has been to a schoolyard recess lately can attest to, playing is also a lot of work. Part of my 'adult work' is volunteering as an intern for Playworks Pacific Northwest and I have seen first hand how Playworks transforms playgrounds and also the very way that children play. The concepts of inclusion, healthy conflict resolution, and healthy play are not things to be left with the jump ropes and basketballs, however. The message of Playworks grows within the children that it reaches and I am privileged to work with an organization that allows children everywhere the space and tools to play and to learn. Playworks truly allows children the ability to have their cake and eat it too, and I am proud to be a part of that process no mater what time of day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Fantastic! Our coach has made huge difference on our campus. Students are better behaved and having more fun.
October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

My time volunteering with this nonprofit was wonderful. I am a student, and the organization provided enough flexibility to make the opportunity comfortable and realistic, but provided a great atmosphere which made my time spent there worthwhile and rewarding. The organization allows volunteers a hands-on approach, and gives volunteers the opportunity to interact regularly with the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

This internship was exactly what I was looking for. It allowed me to experience and learn so much. I have been able to take everything from my experience there and apply it to my life after college. I graduated in May 2013 and I'm currently traveling around the world, 11 countries in 11 months. I have done a lot of work with kids in the past 4 months of traveling, and I have been able to bring the games I learned with Playworks into these countries. They have been loved all around the world. I am so thankful for everyone I worked with and how open they all were to allow me enough room to grow and learn by participating, and not just taking a backseat view of how everything works. I got to be right in the middle of the action. I would go back and do it all over again. Not only was I getting college credit, but I really felt like I was making an actual difference in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

While with Playworks I helped out in two different roles. I had the opportunity to both volunteer at recess and work with one school's group of kids in after-school programming. Volunteering at recess really allowed me and my classmates to see how beneficial the organized play could be to avoid possible confrontation as well as redirect kids attention back to the games instead of fighting with each other if issues did arise. Working at recess with the children allows you also see how much the role of a Playworks coach empowers the older children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This is a amazing organization that truly changes lives of children. It helps eliminate bullying and instead teaches children harmony and conflict resolution. The results are just phenomonal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them in more schools....a function of scale.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Playworks is an amazing organization that provides significant opportunities for schools, communities, sponsors and parents to make a difference in the lives of children. The simplicity of the theme makes it all the more powerful and rewarding for those who choose to become a part of the program. My role with Playworks is as a local Leadership Council member. I have seen the benefit the program has on kids and am a huge believer in its mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Playworks is a tremendous program that is taking a proactive approach to getting kids on the right path and providing them social skills at an early age. The coaches are impacting the lives of these children, families and teachers on a daily basis, making school a safe and fun environment for kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change the organization, I would work to find more diverse and long term funding to help Playworks become the standard for recess programming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I volunteered with Playworks through their corporate recess program. Our team at Baird had an amazing time learning how Playworks helps kids not only at recess, but in school and life. The Playworks team was phenomenal, and they are clearly passionate about what they do. I would most certainly volunteer with them again, and I'm pursuing other ways that I can be a part of this fantastic organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers