Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This is a amazing organization that truly changes lives of children. It helps eliminate bullying and instead teaches children harmony and conflict resolution. The results are just phenomonal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them in more schools....a function of scale.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Playworks is an amazing organization that provides significant opportunities for schools, communities, sponsors and parents to make a difference in the lives of children. The simplicity of the theme makes it all the more powerful and rewarding for those who choose to become a part of the program. My role with Playworks is as a local Leadership Council member. I have seen the benefit the program has on kids and am a huge believer in its mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I love being a member of Playworks Arizona Leadership Council. Playworks works, and that is a big motivator for me when looking at where to spend my time and resources. There are many programs that are motivational yet lack the long term results that we are seeing with Playworks. From my time with the people, coaches and kids involved with Playworks I can see that the difference is time and people. Our coaches spend time with kids and teachers. The leadership team spends time with our board and council. Playworks is teaching leadership and relationship skills to kids, it's a great model.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow the leadership development (Junior Coach) program Nationwide so that any kid who wants to step up can realize the power of leadership in any role.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I am a local board member for Playworks Arizona (and Playworks Baltimore before that). I have been a huge supporter of Playworks for many years. I work for Urban Teacher Center--an alternative teacher preparation program, and I see how the work of a Playwork coaches has a huge impact on schools. With Playworks, recess is an organized and positive experience for kids. Getting kids to play not only helps them be healthier, but they also return to class ready to focus on learning. Playworks also teaches kids techniques to deescalate conflict and has a tremendous leadership program--Junior Coaches. Any school would benefit with a partnership with Playworks either with a full-time coach or through training. I highly recommend this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Playworks is the best use of time/ money and enegy i have ever seen. They are shaping a better citixen today for tomorrow.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Playworks is a tremendous program that is taking a proactive approach to getting kids on the right path and providing them social skills at an early age. The coaches are impacting the lives of these children, families and teachers on a daily basis, making school a safe and fun environment for kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change the organization, I would work to find more diverse and long term funding to help Playworks become the standard for recess programming.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

The philosphy behind Playworks is to build a culture of play for children everywhere. The value of learning how structured play positively impacts kids is clear and the opportunity to teach them how to resolve conflicts is a life long lesson. I have been volunteering at a local school for years and when I found out about Playworks I knew that I had to be a part of their mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

I have seen the impact Playworks has on the playground and it's truly phenomenal. Their staff are upbeat and passionate about working with kids, and it translates into kids with good attitudes and lots of healthy physical activity. They're growing fast and smart. And I love how they figured out how to take something as simple as recess and made it such a gamechanger not only for the school day, but for kids' overall success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

It is such a genuine pleasure to consult with Playworks because the staff is so passionate about what they do from top to bottom. Seeing them implementing change so effectively through their innovative model is really exciting and rewarding. This org walks the walk!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Playworks is a great non-profit. The team members are passionate about their goal of providing facilitating play for all children, which is what inspired me to become a part of the organization. The national leadership is strong and getting stronger, and the organization has a solid long-term strategic plan. Playworks is also experiencing growing pains -- as the number of cities expands, the challenges of maintaining quality of service and delivering a consistent message become greater. But there is also a flexibility to the organization that will enable them to overcome these issues. Playworks positively impacts the lives of hundreds of thousands of children, teachers, and administrators every day, and I am proud to be a part of it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the communications and collaboration between cities and the national office.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through the Salesforce.com Foundation -- I took my team to a volunteer event on a playground.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Enabling play opportunities for all children, especially at recess, especially in low- to middle-income schools.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Social change -- play and good health for all children.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers