Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.96975
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Fantastic! Our coach has made huge difference on our campus. Students are better behaved and having more fun.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I am an elementary school principal in a high poverty school in Los Angeles County. We brought Playworks to our school 4 years ago to help our students gain the critical social skills that they must have in order to lead successful, happy lives. We were doing a great job with the academics but our playground and social environment was in need of improvement. I was seeing 4-6 students per day in the office because of playground conflict and poor decisions. That adds up to many kids missing instruction and at times being suspended. Since the FIRST day Playworks arrived on our campus, referrals to the office and suspensions have nearly disappeared! It may sound unbelievable but it was so true that several other schools in our district tried it and had the same results. Our district leadership took notice of the results and we have adopted Playworks as part of our district-wide program. Our time on learning has climbed and out referrals have plummeted all across our district

In education, everybody is always looking for a "magic wand" that creates massive positive change instantly. In my 30+ years in education, Playworks is the only "magic wand" I have ever found that actually works. If anything, Playworks over delivers excellence! Just walk onto my campus and ask any random group of kids what they think about "Coach" (our Playworks Coach) and you will get a HUGE CHEER from them! All 17 elementary principals in my district say it is the best thing that has come to their school ever!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I was involved in helping bring Playworks to Portland and the Pacific Northwest and have served on the board ever since. What separates Playworks is its simplicity, effectiveness and the profound impact it has on kids' lives and school climate. There's conclusive data that proves it but the real proof is going to school, seeing it in action and talking to kids, teachers, administrators and parents. They'll tell you how important Playworks really is in reducing bullying and producing a positive atmosphere. It's amazing how such a simple solution can have such a widespread, dramatic impact. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2013

This is an amazing organization with even more amazing leadership behind it. What they do for children and the community is outstanding and truly makes a difference in the lives of our future leaders.... more

October 21, 2014

I have worked with Playworks for over 2 years now on various capacities. I am constantly blown away by the strides they make and the difference they make in the community each day. The leadership team for is genuine and cares for the youth they serve. I have seen firsthand the results that the Playworks program has on kids. I am proud to be involved in such a rewarding organization who truly makes a difference.
October 17, 2013

This is an amazing organization with even more amazing leadership behind it. What they do for children and the community is outstanding and truly makes a difference in the lives of our future leaders. I have been involved with Playworks for over a year now and can't say enough good things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand into more cities across the country, this is a HUGE need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2014

Wow, what can I say about Playworks. The proof is in the numbers -- the number of kids and schools served as well as the data to back up the success of the program. The impact this program has on kids, schools and out communities is remarkable. Playtworks is really changing the future for the kids lucky enough to participate in the program. Playworks is a well run organization that has the data to back up the program. I have seen first had at the schools the change in behavior. It is truly amazing to witness.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I have seen a Playworks playground in action an it is a sight to behold. Tons of kids all playing cooperatively , having fun at recess. The skills for conflict resolution really work! Most importantly happy kids are going back to the classroom where they can focus on schoolwork and not on some playground problem. Refreshed, exercised children are known, by research, to be more engaged learners.
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I joined Playworks as a leadership council member for multiple reasons. A major one is that the principles and lessons learned through playworks is vital to the success of our future entrepreneurial community and workforce. The ability to lead, collaborate and work together is what will take us economically to the next level. A close second is because playing is fun. Having fun and being able to have fun as a child goes a long way. Last but not least, I use rock paper scissors to solve every and any conflict imaginable. It could range from a dumb bet to major business decision. It always works.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it easier for schools to receive the funding (budget cuts for programs like this) so work with highly leveraged businesses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I was fortunate enough to see this amazing program in action for 2 years in Oakland in 2002. The staff and program changed the dynamic of the elementary school and the lives of the students. The students were eager for recess and learned lifelong conflict resolution skills.
Recess is often a
time when students engage in negative behavior and this transfers throughout the rest of their school day. This can have a very powerful impact on their academic achievement.
I only wish Playworks was in the current school that I work in-we could really use their help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only continue to grow and expand, while keeping the core principals in place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

My company has done a fundraising day with Playworks, and has done some filming of their schools and organization. Playworks is one of the most innovative, holistic and promising nonprofits I have ever come across. I am personally inspired by their mission and all of their messages in my own life as a mother and community member. I am inspired to spread their message and ideas, and feel that is part of what they would like to happen. They are not only an organization that is affecting communities, schools and kids all over the country, but they are also clearly the start of a movement. And every part of what they do feels like the kind of changes our kids and our communities need - and most especially our schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I only wish they were in more cities and more schools, and somehow reached out to a multiplied amount of schools in other ways than being present there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

My time volunteering with this nonprofit was wonderful. I am a student, and the organization provided enough flexibility to make the opportunity comfortable and realistic, but provided a great atmosphere which made my time spent there worthwhile and rewarding. The organization allows volunteers a hands-on approach, and gives volunteers the opportunity to interact regularly with the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers