Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.962965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I joined Playworks as a leadership council member for multiple reasons. A major one is that the principles and lessons learned through playworks is vital to the success of our future entrepreneurial community and workforce. The ability to lead, collaborate and work together is what will take us economically to the next level. A close second is because playing is fun. Having fun and being able to have fun as a child goes a long way. Last but not least, I use rock paper scissors to solve every and any conflict imaginable. It could range from a dumb bet to major business decision. It always works.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it easier for schools to receive the funding (budget cuts for programs like this) so work with highly leveraged businesses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I was fortunate enough to see this amazing program in action for 2 years in Oakland in 2002. The staff and program changed the dynamic of the elementary school and the lives of the students. The students were eager for recess and learned lifelong conflict resolution skills.
Recess is often a
time when students engage in negative behavior and this transfers throughout the rest of their school day. This can have a very powerful impact on their academic achievement.
I only wish Playworks was in the current school that I work in-we could really use their help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only continue to grow and expand, while keeping the core principals in place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

My company has done a fundraising day with Playworks, and has done some filming of their schools and organization. Playworks is one of the most innovative, holistic and promising nonprofits I have ever come across. I am personally inspired by their mission and all of their messages in my own life as a mother and community member. I am inspired to spread their message and ideas, and feel that is part of what they would like to happen. They are not only an organization that is affecting communities, schools and kids all over the country, but they are also clearly the start of a movement. And every part of what they do feels like the kind of changes our kids and our communities need - and most especially our schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I only wish they were in more cities and more schools, and somehow reached out to a multiplied amount of schools in other ways than being present there.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

My time volunteering with this nonprofit was wonderful. I am a student, and the organization provided enough flexibility to make the opportunity comfortable and realistic, but provided a great atmosphere which made my time spent there worthwhile and rewarding. The organization allows volunteers a hands-on approach, and gives volunteers the opportunity to interact regularly with the children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

This internship was exactly what I was looking for. It allowed me to experience and learn so much. I have been able to take everything from my experience there and apply it to my life after college. I graduated in May 2013 and I'm currently traveling around the world, 11 countries in 11 months. I have done a lot of work with kids in the past 4 months of traveling, and I have been able to bring the games I learned with Playworks into these countries. They have been loved all around the world. I am so thankful for everyone I worked with and how open they all were to allow me enough room to grow and learn by participating, and not just taking a backseat view of how everything works. I got to be right in the middle of the action. I would go back and do it all over again. Not only was I getting college credit, but I really felt like I was making an actual difference in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

While with Playworks I helped out in two different roles. I had the opportunity to both volunteer at recess and work with one school's group of kids in after-school programming. Volunteering at recess really allowed me and my classmates to see how beneficial the organized play could be to avoid possible confrontation as well as redirect kids attention back to the games instead of fighting with each other if issues did arise. Working at recess with the children allows you also see how much the role of a Playworks coach empowers the older children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Playworks is by far the best organization I have been involved in. It reaches more children daily than most non-profits reach in months or years. I am truly honored to be a part of the group and look forward to helping them in any way I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would put them in EVERY school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is one of the best non-profit organizations that I have ever had the privilege of being involved with. The mission is simple and clear - every kid, regardless of circumstance, needs the opportunity to play every day in a safe and fun environment. Relatively simple tactics such as teaching four square and Rock-Paper-Scissors extends well beyond reducing bullying on the playground - impacting and improving classroom productivity and teaching children life and leadership skills. The leadership is passionate, engaged and tireless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have Playworks in residence at all schools in the country!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

This is an amazing organization with even more amazing leadership behind it. What they do for children and the community is outstanding and truly makes a difference in the lives of our future leaders. I have been involved with Playworks for over a year now and can't say enough good things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand into more cities across the country, this is a HUGE need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I've participated in, and worked with numerous non-profit organizations and Playworks is easily one of the best I've ever experienced. The energy of the staff is infectious and the results life altering for participants. It solves so many issues in such an easy way, it's easy to understand why the program is expanding so quickly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

move away from yearly grants and focus on an endowment model so that the money swings have less effect on year-to-year growth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers