Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.65
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 4, 2013

I have been following Playing for Change since their first CD. I was already a big fan of Grandpa Elliot, Washboard Chaz, and Roberto Luti,from my New Orleans days .I have never felt more inspired or ... more

April 19, 2014

Years ago I heard Grandpa Elliot singing on Royal street in New Orleans and I thought I had stumbled upon an angel. The last time I saw Grandpa Elliot in New Orleans I got his CD Sugar Sweet and later the Stand by Me CD. The first time I listened to the CD and watched the dvd I cried and smiled so big! I felt a deep heart connection to all the musicians in the Stand by Me video and I feel the same heart connection to the many musicians around the world who are making such a difference not only in the world but in the communities and in the lives of so many children. PFC is a true blessing on the world.
October 4, 2013

I have been following Playing for Change since their first CD. I was already a big fan of Grandpa Elliot, Washboard Chaz, and Roberto Luti,from my New Orleans days .I have never felt more inspired or moved by a group of musicians.They have such heart and soul I have no doubt their music and voices will change the world. What they are doing for the children and generations to come is the greatest gift imaginable. God bless them and the Playing for Change Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them sing with world leaders on occasion. I would love to hear them play with Barack Obama. :-)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Actually, I found out about them quite randomly, when a friend of mine sent me one of their songs when I was in a bad mood. It instantly changed my feelings. I searched more information about them online, and I believe a lot in the work they are doing. Although I am a little bit far away (all the way in Romania, europe), I would love to make an event Playing for Change! Love their work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Playing. For change foundation is an organisation that puts "their money where their mounths" are in terms of implementing their vision. The children of this world is our greatest asset and we should nurture and harvest their talents. We as an organisation in South Africa support them in their endeavours and also promote them for their good work because they deserve it. Alpha Fransman (SAFY) - South Africa

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We would strengthen the brand in partnership with local representatives

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I found Playing for Change during a time when I was completely disillusioned with nonprofits. Just watching their video of musicians from all over the world brought me to tears. I love the Universal language of love and music is it. I have bought their CDs, attended their concert in Atlanta with my husband and daughter, both musicians and all three of us were in tears of joy by the end. I attended Playing for Change Day this year in Florida at a Biker Bar (where I would not have ever gone) We were the only black people there, but wow, the Playing for Change crowd was just what we expected, full of love, good food and slamming music. Not only do we get to enjoy the music but we know our donations contribute to children all over the world benefiting from music.....which means if this continues and multiplies we should have the sound of "love" all over our planet in a few more generations with the intended purpose to bring love and peace to all of humanity. This is one charity I believe spends most of their dollars on the intended purpose, to build music schools, share the love of music and engage people of good will and conscious all over our planet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a music school on every corner in the inner cities across the world, staring in the USA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been following the Playing For Change outfit since before their first live tour and well before they were able to build their first school. What they are doing for humanity, through music (the world's best language) and using the proceeds to improve the lives of kids in 3rd world countries is absolutely amazing! I also had a chance to speak with Mark Johnson at the first New Orleans concert, many years ago, I felt proud to meet and speak with someone who cared so much about so many people he'd never met. If only I could afford to support this foundation...it's just impossible when you live and work at the poverty level.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Don't know that any need to be made.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was inspired by Playing For Change Foundation's outreach initiative, Playing For Change Day, in 2011. That year, I helped to facilitate 5 events on PFC Day to raise awareness and money to support PFCF's work. The following year, I had the opportunity to celebrate Playing For Change Day in Washington Square Park (NYC) with other artists, supporters and PFCF staff, where we raised our voices together in song and harmony. It was such an amazing feeling to know that as we were doing this, people around the world were simultaneously engaged in a similar intent of celebrating peace through the power of music. I've been a long-time arts advocate and organizer, and feel that this organization continues to lead by example in drawing attention to the important role that music plays in fostering peace and providing children in under-served places with the environments and resources to discover their own songs and explore their own creativity. What PFCF does is definitely groundbreaking and much needed!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more deeply explore the possibility of expanding their great work into communities based here in the United States, in places such as Los Angeles or Washington DC, where children and school districts are having their arts and music programs reduced or completely discontinued.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have followed Playing for Change since its inception and am amazed and I rejoice in what they have been able to accomplish in such a short space of time. Although I am not able to contribute much, I have given a few donations from time to time. Mark Johnson is truly a man of vision and music is proving to be an amazing tool for healing and brotherhood, thanks to their mission. I truly wish I were young enough to be physically involved in what they do. Their music is exceptional and wonderful, but the way PFC has opened doors for the poorest of the poor, and given them hope and joy where there was none is beyond imagination. God has truly blessed all involved with PFC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I love the concept of the Playing for Change organization and have been interested and intrigued by the potential opportunity to support the work of the related Playing for Change Foundation. I had planned to give Christmas donation gifts to 10 members of my family this year. Although they included information for this type of donation on their website, I had many questions because the instructions were unclear. They did not respond to 2 e-mails. Then I went online to find a phone number, called and left a message. The phone call was not returned. I have also been trying to get information about the percentage of donations that actually goes to the targeted music programs. I cannot find this information anywhere. I do not understand how or why a legitimate organization can be so disorganized that it doesn't even respond to repeated e-mails and phone calls from potential donors. I will not be making a donation until I am clearer about how they function and know more about their financial status.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers