Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have been a member of PlayGround for 8 years. They are an exceptional group of extremely hard working theater professionals dedicated to nurturing Playwrights and supporting local actors and directors. PlayGround is the main source of my inspiration as a writer and has given me the essential support and feedback that a writer needs to grow. And the great work continues; each season brings new programs and new opportunities. Above all, PlayGround has created a welcoming community for theater artists who collaborate not just on PlayGround projects, but on projects of all kinds. PlayGround is a powerful engine that drives new work and performance. This is all done on a tiny budget. If you are interested in the development of new work, consider joining PlayGround as a subscriber, writer, actor, director, or supporter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

PlayGround is the premiere play development theater company in the bay area. I had been a playwright in high school and college, but had abandoned it for a number of years. When I joined PlayGround in 2001, I was excited about renewing this part of my creative life. PlayGround immediately gave me a home -- including support such as peer support, dramaturgs and established playwrights, directors, and the best actors in the San Francisco Bay Area. I immediately had a network of talented and knowledgeable theater professionals, and best of all, I got produced! I got staged readings! I got visibility! My work got directed and acted by the best, most talented people I've ever worked with. Since then, PlayGround has expanded their services and their influence -- from adding coproductions with major Bay Area theaters (several years ago), to extending to Los Angeles (this year) and adding film to their theater credentials (also this year). In addition, they have in recent years given a good deal of attention to playwrights of color and diversity is a very important part of their vision. PlayGround is a model that works, and a non-profit that is brilliantly run and is not only surviving but thriving in this difficult economic atmosphere. Being associated with PlayGround has changed my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Playground is a wonderful organization, and one of the most important ones for the theater community in San Francisco. Playground recognizes rising talent in the local theater world and offers burgeoning and more accomplished playwrights, actors, and directors an opportunity to be part of a thriving community and to showcase their talents. I can't imagine what theater would be like in San Francisco without this vital --and ever growing -- force in the community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I love Playground. Why? It provides community, artistic opportunity, and just plain fun. It's aptly named, because as a participant I'm like a kid on a playground. Before I know it my cheeks are ruddy from the effort I've expended--but really I'm just having a great time with other folks in this great San Francisco theater community. It's an exceptional organization that I am proud to be affiliated with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

PlayGround is an extraordinary theatre company. I have worked as a director for this Bay Area jewel for the past six years. I have worked with scores of talented playwrights, excellent actors and the most loyal audience base imaginable. Playground's mission bonds and empowers playwrights (and the artists who work to reveal their voice and vision.) and builds community. New play commissions abound and company programming is ever changing and imaginative. As a company, we are respected, challenged and rewarded continually by leaps of faith and risk by all involved. You are hereby warned: The daring nature of Monday Night PlayGround is addictive for artists, donors and audiences members alike! Come see it and believe it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

PlayGround is an amazing organization that lies at the heart of the Bay Area theatre community. Through its Monday night series and many other programs offering opportunities to writers, actors, and directors, as well as audiences interested in seeing burgeoning professionals working on new plays in development. Nowhere else can you witness such a breadth of talent and such a massive collaborative effort between so many Bay Area artists. It is amongst the most important and vital non-profits in the Bay Area arts scene.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Far and away, the best non-profit theater company I have ever encountered. They do more program than you can imagine - and they continue to expand, respond to client needs and promote community, creativity and collaboration. I simply cannot say enough about PlayGround, and if I keep going, it might sound too effusive. Suffice it to say that I owe my entire career as a playwright (and now a producer with my own production company) to PlayGround. Not only am I a client, I am also a volunteer and active donor. As a donor, I couldn't be more pleased with resource allocation and dollars managed and spent. They are terrific.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

As an actor in the Playground company I have been treated with respect, given a wide range of roles to play, and met some wonderful people. Playground gives artists, both actors and writers, opportunities to grow and collaborate in wonderful ways and really invests itself in those artists. I have had several experiences with Playground, and all have been pleasant on both the producing and artistic side. I would definitely work for Playground again and recommend the company to friends and family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Through working for Playground I have met some phenomenal contacts in the bay area theatre circle.

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Playground is committed to helping playwrights develop their voice. From the Writers Pool and Monday Night Readings, to Commissions, and Co-Productions, Playground finds ways of bringing new theater from the page to the stage. Thank you Playground!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers