Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.784315
Write A Review
November 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Good work by good people, spreading literacy in an innovative, inventive way.
Keep up the good work!
Michael Koot (Avitra, language services provider)
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer translator I feel very happy to offer my collaboration for this non profit organization.

In my view, to help the children learning reading and writing is to give them the tools for self knowledge and lifelong education.
October 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

What will make this world a better place to live in?
Education.

How?
Right education brings in knowledge, awareness, confidence, better exposure and reasoning power, and much more to an individual, which in turn reflects on the society by bringing in sustainability; diminishing
social, communal, and gender bias; raising living standards; boosting cleanliness, health, and hygiene; and contributing to its overall progress.

In India, there are millions of adults belonging to the lower strata of society, who can’t even read—or, maybe, can barely do that thanks to National Literacy Mission’s effort. They need to be made literate first. How can anybody make about 300 million+ people literate and more importantly give them regular reading practice that they stay literate?
India has the largest film industry in the world, Bollywood. The richest to the poorest in India likes Bollywood songs (avg. 5 songs/film). TV channels broadcast film songs. Almost all have access to TV sets. Put subtitles in the same language as the song and people will read, subconsciously, that they can learn the lyrics and enjoy the song better. Product: Entertainment, a new song learnt. Byproduct: Literacy! Does that sound like a viable solution?

Of course it does! Awesomely simple and extremely frugal and effective! Well, the only better alternative I can think might be a device that can manipulate people’s brains and mass transmit knowledge directly into them; a variant of the one they use in the film, MIB…one that instills rather than erases knowledge perhaps!

But, who’s behind this idea of subtitling?
PlanetRead; they have been doing it for years now. That’s why I support them.

I rest my case.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

PlanetRead is really making the Planet read. The organization is striving hard to make its name come true by the innovative and fun-filled idea of Same Language Subtitling (SLS) to popular bollywood songs which will reach the people's minds rapidly faster all over the world and unknowingly making them to read the newspaper of their language. This idea of SLS to make people read which in spite increases the rate of literacy is something very new and different concept. It is really working out and all sorts of people like early literates, alliterates, illiterates finding it beneficial throughout the country.

The most amazing thing attracted me a lot in this concept is that it paves a way for the people to read and learn other languages too by providing along with the translation and transliteration of the particular language instead of restricting them only to their own language which is very helpful and a fantastic thought.

I am very proud and thankful to Brij Kothari, the founder of PlanetRead, and the team for giving us this awesome concept for a social cause!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Planet Read as a Translator for articles on various subjects and also educational videos for children. It has been a great learning experience. Working with the team at Planet Read has been very cordial and enriching as the team is always willing to extend their help and are also open to new suggestions. Thanks Planet Read !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What amazes me about PlanetRead's innovation is the simplicity of the idea. Education through staple entertainment and that gives automatic reading practice. With about 300 million illiterates, India is still one of the fastest growing economies, imagine what we can do if the whole nation is literate. PlanetRead has an amazing team and they truly believe in what they are doing. The idea has great potential and they should find ways to scale up.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

What's the difference between a man and an animal? Education of course! It's a virtue none of us can live without. And if you observe the world around us, you'll realize that the lack of (right) education is the root cause of all anarchy in the world. We know that the first step of education is literacy. And how many illiterates are there in the world today? 900 million!!! PlanetRead, I came to know, reach out to 200 MILLION early literates and make them functional literates while they enjoy their favorite film songs! How is it done? Just by subtitling those film songs! If that's not impressive, then what is? Being an Indian, I am proud that such an NGO is working in my country, to make India literate. I wish them all the success in their good work and hope that they'll be able to expand their work globally so that we have a fully literate and better world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I am in the education field and I am still to find another method as simple and cost effective to propagate literacy such as the one PlanetRead uses. SLS is indeed a fun and subsconscious way to learn literacy!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2011

more

April 30, 2011

The simplicity of the work that PlanetRead does is amazing. I been a part of the team in the past and have done research in the field of how this idea helps improve children's reading skills. I am teacher and also run a children's creche and I know for sure SLS will help people with weak reading skills.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've see how people get excited about being able to understand the lyrics of the songs - it's great way to motivate people and make the weak readers learn quickly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the programs they do and take this idea international.

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

PlanetRead is doing a wonderful job of spreading literacy and providing reading practice to millions of people in India through innovative use of entertainment. I was so impressed by PlanetRead's initiatives that after graduation, I joined PlanetRead instead of taking up job offers from leading MNCs. As part of the PlanetRead team, I traveled to the far flung areas in rural India and saw for myself the effectiveness and the impact PlanetRead is having. PlanetRead's simple, yet powerful methodologies can be an answer to solving some of the most pressing challenges that the world faces.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping people get regular reading practice and develop better levels of literacy through highly enjoyable methods.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create more awareness about PlanetRead's efforts and expand the reach to more people.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers