Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.784315
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

PlanetRead is a Nonprofit organisation with a unique process for a great project and aim. Their motto says it all - "Literacy for a Billion". The idea of SLS (Same Language Subtitling) to educate is so SIMPLE, and so unique. Songs are popular worldwide - be they movie songs, Music videos, Anthems, Childhood rhymes, Poems, etc and the fact that they are now being used to 'literate' large numbers of illiterate populace is indeed highly commendable. Their numerous recognitions are ample proof of the greatness of this simple idea, and Team PlanetRead deserves a pat on their back for this initiative.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have known the PR Team for over 6 six years. They are doing a wonderful job. My suggestion is that there be NO CHANGE. Let the present team continue, and bring laurels to PR.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Ideas that are simple and innovative can create a great impact - PlanetRead has proved just that. With the simple idea of subtitling Bollywood songs telecast on national TV, Brij Kothari and his Team are paving way for the weak readers to become functional readers. I am sure this will have a direct impact in the literacy levels of our country, very soon.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a graphics production consultant to Bookbox/Planetread and having shown the SLS video stories to many people i must say that it has been the most successful and naturally quick method to become literate. The co-founder and team are one of the best i have worked with.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As Ashoka's Volunteer Coordinator, I've had many occasions to hear about PlanetRead's needs and successes. Many of our volunteers are attracted to their work. They are always responsive and are obviously strong contributors to eradicating illiteracy!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

Working with PlanetRead in the summer of 2006 gave me excellent exposure to using technology and media for educational change.


While things in India are often disorganized, and PlanetRead could focus more on internal organization, their mission and strategy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the results in the response of children first hand across India, and hearing the fantastic press generated by interactions with the Clinton Foundation and other expositions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the level of aggressiveness in media penetration.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers