Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.784315
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2011

I know by experience that subtitles greatly enhance reading ability in children. Watching kids' programs with subtitles in English is one factor other than reading books with them that has greatly con... more

October 30, 2014

I am a BookBox volunteer for my language, Telugu. I am inspired to volunteer for it for 2 reasons: Quality and Service. BookBox stories are of great quality. Their attention to details that contribute to its quality and the persistence and patience with which they achieve it, impresses me and inspires me. The motive of service by making literacy not just kid friendly but people friendly in general, through planet read is is what makes it dear to me.
April 28, 2011

I know by experience that subtitles greatly enhance reading ability in children. Watching kids' programs with subtitles in English is one factor other than reading books with them that has greatly contributed to my kids' reading skills. There is no doubt that SLS program of planetread will benefit a big portion of India's population that has not had chance to continue education or the time and leisure to sit down with books. Television in India reaches a greater number of people than even public libraries. Not only that, since most education in India is encouraged in English Medium, local language literacy gets a great boost through planetread's SLS program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am a witness to the genuine fondness my kids have for BookBox stories and their eagerness to listen to these stories in other languages.This is so, inspite of the various other fast paced entertainments available to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I guess, increase awareness about the availabilty and effectiveness of this program. Its reach has to be increased and ofcourse more so in Telugu :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteering experience has given me great satisfaction. It has given me good friends. I keep learning a great deal about story telling and passion for education through my continued contribution.

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for this exemplary work of promoting the gift and power of literacy to millions of people all over the world, I have truly been gratified to lend my voice and any other literary skill asked for to this brilliantly simple but efficient technique. I have a feeling of touching the lives of children when I narrate their stories and it is most enthusing!
October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2013

The way PlanetRead maximizes its reach is amazing, "Providing literacy for a Billion" is no small task, but the way PlanetRead has approached the problem is very interesting. Educating and re-educatin... more

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with PlanetRead and their sister organization BookBox for some years and It's the simplicity of the idea that has always amazed me. The simple idea of promoting literacy through Bollywood is inspiring and a novel way of introducing education through a very tangible medium. It's brilliant and has had an incredible impact on literacy levels around India. The team at PlanetRead and BookBox are amazingly dedicated, smart and creative, and as committed as anyone I have met to their cause.
October 22, 2013

The way PlanetRead maximizes its reach is amazing, "Providing literacy for a Billion" is no small task, but the way PlanetRead has approached the problem is very interesting. Educating and re-educating the people in their native tongues through popular songs is definitely a new benchmark in the Edutainmnet field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase awareness and effectiveness of this program. Take the program to other channels.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've worked with PlanetRead as a volunteer for almost over a year now. All the team members, with utmost professionalism, have proactively guided different projects that I've been involved in. I'm sure to continue volunteering with PlanetRead in varying capacities moving forward, and remain associated with the great work that they've been doing in the field of education!
October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a very cost effective program and can be used in India and all over the world for literacy development. The simplicity of using film songs that are watched by millions of people every day ... is a great way to help people improve their reading skills.
October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Since many years I have been working for BookBox, which is an off-shoot of PlanetRead. I have been helping them translate and record some stories into French. I am happy to do it free of cost but not free of joy! This project helps people feel part of the greater picture of reading and literacy development around the world. The stories are interesting, sensitive, instructive and fun. The illustrations are charming, and give a boost to the joy of learning.
I wish all the PlanetRead team the most wonderful future, and thank them for the great work they are doing. Cristof Alward. Sri Aurobindo Ashram, Pondicherry.
October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked with PlanetRead for a year in a volunteer capacity. I've gotten to learn a lot about the organization and some of its key team members, and have always been extremely impressed by their passion and professionalism- which combined set the stage for much success. I will continue working with this organization as I know they are focused on a great cause and achieving great results, and would encourage others to do the same!
October 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been associated with Planet Read for nearly 3 years. They are good professionals and show good attitude in approaching the issues. Their work in the education field is exemplary.
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 14, 2012

PlanetRead contributes in giving the love of reading, which is unvaluable. Its original method is simple, powerful and it helps spreading literacy. Learning and reading can be fun thanks to Planet Rea... more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working as a volunteer in 2012. It was a positive and lovely experience. All the team loves Planet Read concept and works hardly to develop tools and videos.
Reading is an essential life skill. Thanks to Planet Read, learning how to read become easier, simple and funny. Reading is
like a game. So, let' play ;-)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PlanetRead contributes in giving the love of reading, which is unvaluable. Its original method is simple, powerful and it helps spreading literacy. Learning and reading can be fun thanks to Planet Read.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I came to know about the initiatives being taken by Book Box, which is part of PlanetRead, and was stunned completely. Today, most of us think that just to put one's signature assures that one is a literate; however, actually literacy has nothing to do with one's signature. Increasing literacy rate in a country like India could be a daunting task, but thanks to Book Box, who are doing a great job with their well-balanced team and have made this arduous task rather easy. To even think of such an idea is truly appreciative and the team completely tries to give in their best shot by applying their thoughts into actions. Education and fun go hand-in-hand here and this is all due to PlanetRead/Book Box's efforts. I hope they succeed in making our country "the highest literates in the world" country soon. Wishing all the best for their future endeavours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is pretty good and I would not want it to deviate from its current strategy

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers