Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.769235
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

PlanetRead is really making the Planet read. The organization is striving hard to make its name come true by the innovative and fun-filled idea of Same Language Subtitling (SLS) to popular bollywood songs which will reach the people's minds rapidly faster all over the world and unknowingly making them to read the newspaper of their language. This idea of SLS to make people read which in spite increases the rate of literacy is something very new and different concept. It is really working out and all sorts of people like early literates, alliterates, illiterates finding it beneficial throughout the country.

The most amazing thing attracted me a lot in this concept is that it paves a way for the people to read and learn other languages too by providing along with the translation and transliteration of the particular language instead of restricting them only to their own language which is very helpful and a fantastic thought.

I am very proud and thankful to Brij Kothari, the founder of PlanetRead, and the team for giving us this awesome concept for a social cause!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

An unbelievable concept, a small tool, and a few, very few good peoples can make this entire planet different, where everybody can read.
Truly speaking, when i joined this Organization, I was not very sure that this concept can work. But within a year when I see a girl who never gone to school
nor read a book is reading a news paper my concept got changed.
Best of luck PlanetRead

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I came to know about the initiatives being taken by Book Box, which is part of PlanetRead, and was stunned completely. Today, most of us think that just to put one's signature assures that one is a literate; however, actually literacy has nothing to do with one's signature. Increasing literacy rate in a country like India could be a daunting task, but thanks to Book Box, who are doing a great job with their well-balanced team and have made this arduous task rather easy. To even think of such an idea is truly appreciative and the team completely tries to give in their best shot by applying their thoughts into actions. Education and fun go hand-in-hand here and this is all due to PlanetRead/Book Box's efforts. I hope they succeed in making our country "the highest literates in the world" country soon. Wishing all the best for their future endeavours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is pretty good and I would not want it to deviate from its current strategy

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is truly tragic that so many people around the world cannot experience so many things in life because they cannot read or write. It’s also tragic that many people who do take that for granted. The work of PlanetRead is admirable in every way possible and I wish them the best of luck in all their future projects!

As a volunteer translator and narrator for BookBox, one of PlanetRead’s many activities, I feel great satisfaction in taking part of what is a great movement to increase literacy worldwide! The BookBox team is very dedicated to their work and very flexible with their volunteers, and it is a pleasure to aide them in their mission, while enjoying what I do, because let’s face it, children stories are always fun to play around with!

If you ever have the chance to volunteer for BookBox or any other PlanetRead project, you should not only think of their hard work and noble mission, but also of all the unfortunate illiterate people who could benefit from your work, and go for it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Planet Read as a Translator for articles on various subjects and also educational videos for children. It has been a great learning experience. Working with the team at Planet Read has been very cordial and enriching as the team is always willing to extend their help and are also open to new suggestions. Thanks Planet Read !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a graphics production consultant to Bookbox/Planetread and having shown the SLS video stories to many people i must say that it has been the most successful and naturally quick method to become literate. The co-founder and team are one of the best i have worked with.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Its mind boggling and a simple idea to improve literarcy around the world with cost effective strategies build in. To start with an Asia country, its better to start off. When i came to know of this service i was awe inspired. FUN with education is the basic which i will always love to be part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As Ashoka's Volunteer Coordinator, I've had many occasions to hear about PlanetRead's needs and successes. Many of our volunteers are attracted to their work. They are always responsive and are obviously strong contributors to eradicating illiteracy!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What amazes me about PlanetRead's innovation is the simplicity of the idea. Education through staple entertainment and that gives automatic reading practice. With about 300 million illiterates, India is still one of the fastest growing economies, imagine what we can do if the whole nation is literate. PlanetRead has an amazing team and they truly believe in what they are doing. The idea has great potential and they should find ways to scale up.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

What's the difference between a man and an animal? Education of course! It's a virtue none of us can live without. And if you observe the world around us, you'll realize that the lack of (right) education is the root cause of all anarchy in the world. We know that the first step of education is literacy. And how many illiterates are there in the world today? 900 million!!! PlanetRead, I came to know, reach out to 200 MILLION early literates and make them functional literates while they enjoy their favorite film songs! How is it done? Just by subtitling those film songs! If that's not impressive, then what is? Being an Indian, I am proud that such an NGO is working in my country, to make India literate. I wish them all the success in their good work and hope that they'll be able to expand their work globally so that we have a fully literate and better world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers