Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.784315
Write A Review
November 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Good work by good people, spreading literacy in an innovative, inventive way.
Keep up the good work!
Michael Koot (Avitra, language services provider)
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What amazes me about the SLS concept is the fun way in which it spreads literacy in a subliminal yet powerful way. We Indians love our movie songs and what better way than to teach language through a medium no one can resist? Pure genius.

I salute the selfless volunteers and staff of
Planet Read, keep up the good work.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I think it's really amazing what PlanetRead is doing ! Being certified literate is useless when a person is unable to read or write everyday stuff. SLS is indeed a very innovative technology that entertains and educates people at the same time. And it's effective because a good part of the Indian population thrives on Bollywood. I really wish to be a volunteer for this incredible mission sometime soon.
By building more efficient human beings, we are directly creating a better tomorrow !
Hats off to you !
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2011

I know by experience that subtitles greatly enhance reading ability in children. Watching kids' programs with subtitles in English is one factor other than reading books with them that has greatly con... more

October 30, 2014

I am a BookBox volunteer for my language, Telugu. I am inspired to volunteer for it for 2 reasons: Quality and Service. BookBox stories are of great quality. Their attention to details that contribute to its quality and the persistence and patience with which they achieve it, impresses me and inspires me. The motive of service by making literacy not just kid friendly but people friendly in general, through planet read is is what makes it dear to me.
April 28, 2011

I know by experience that subtitles greatly enhance reading ability in children. Watching kids' programs with subtitles in English is one factor other than reading books with them that has greatly contributed to my kids' reading skills. There is no doubt that SLS program of planetread will benefit a big portion of India's population that has not had chance to continue education or the time and leisure to sit down with books. Television in India reaches a greater number of people than even public libraries. Not only that, since most education in India is encouraged in English Medium, local language literacy gets a great boost through planetread's SLS program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am a witness to the genuine fondness my kids have for BookBox stories and their eagerness to listen to these stories in other languages.This is so, inspite of the various other fast paced entertainments available to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I guess, increase awareness about the availabilty and effectiveness of this program. Its reach has to be increased and ofcourse more so in Telugu :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteering experience has given me great satisfaction. It has given me good friends. I keep learning a great deal about story telling and passion for education through my continued contribution.

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hey guys!! It is a nice platform for learning multiple languages.
When I came to Bangalore I understood Kannada & Hindi is must to survive here apart from English. Hence My roommates and I decided to learn new languages. some wants to learn tamil too.. Received suggestions from many to watch
movies and songs, as this is the way to learn languages easier. Finally we ended up with PlanetRead. Their new way subtitle helped a lot. Days passing and we started humming and slowly singing whatever we get. We hope moving forward we will be speaking different languages and could able to understand the languages as PlanetRead made them easy, fun while learning languages. Thats just the way we learn. Whole INDIA is learning along with you guys. Cheers!! Just Enjoy madi!!! Masti karo!!! ;) Learning never exhausts the mind. ~Da Vinci
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for this exemplary work of promoting the gift and power of literacy to millions of people all over the world, I have truly been gratified to lend my voice and any other literary skill asked for to this brilliantly simple but efficient technique. I have a feeling of touching the lives of children when I narrate their stories and it is most enthusing!
October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2013

The way PlanetRead maximizes its reach is amazing, "Providing literacy for a Billion" is no small task, but the way PlanetRead has approached the problem is very interesting. Educating and re-educatin... more

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with PlanetRead and their sister organization BookBox for some years and It's the simplicity of the idea that has always amazed me. The simple idea of promoting literacy through Bollywood is inspiring and a novel way of introducing education through a very tangible medium. It's brilliant and has had an incredible impact on literacy levels around India. The team at PlanetRead and BookBox are amazingly dedicated, smart and creative, and as committed as anyone I have met to their cause.
October 22, 2013

The way PlanetRead maximizes its reach is amazing, "Providing literacy for a Billion" is no small task, but the way PlanetRead has approached the problem is very interesting. Educating and re-educating the people in their native tongues through popular songs is definitely a new benchmark in the Edutainmnet field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase awareness and effectiveness of this program. Take the program to other channels.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer translator I feel very happy to offer my collaboration for this non profit organization.

In my view, to help the children learning reading and writing is to give them the tools for self knowledge and lifelong education.
October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've worked with PlanetRead as a volunteer for almost over a year now. All the team members, with utmost professionalism, have proactively guided different projects that I've been involved in. I'm sure to continue volunteering with PlanetRead in varying capacities moving forward, and remain associated with the great work that they've been doing in the field of education!
October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a very cost effective program and can be used in India and all over the world for literacy development. The simplicity of using film songs that are watched by millions of people every day ... is a great way to help people improve their reading skills.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers