Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.066675
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Plan International has changed many lives in Ghana where I come from. The have not only given children a voice even in the remotest of Villages but have supported families and communities to pull themselves out of poverty.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think it is best as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I'm sure that Plan International probably does a lot of good, but I will no longer be contributing to the organization, and it makes me sick that I have in the past. I found out tonight after doing some internet research that Plan International has supported Reproductive Health Uganda, which is affiliated with Planned Parenthood, the largest abortion provider in the United States. I have to agree with another reviewer who stated that Plan's marketing materials are very slick. Plan has a highly touted campaign against sex-selective abortions in countries like India, a campaign which I would normally support if I wasn't aware of their aid to Reproductive Health Uganda. As it is, my charitable dollars will be going elsewhere in the future. I know many well-meaning folks will disagree with my views about abortion, as I have a lot of friends on the other side of the issue, but I'm not leaving this review for them. I'm leaving this review for those like me who are opposed to abortion on demand and who don't want their charitable contributions going to organizations that support it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

advise Plan to be more upfront with where the organization stands on certain hot-button issues. Sure, taking a stand will cost some donors. However, I feel it's soliciting money under false pretenses to not be crystal clear on issues like abortion that people have strong feelings about.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Our foundation has completed three projects with Plan (Guatemala, India, Nicaragua -- and visited all three sites), and we are planning a project in Burkina Faso this fall. I have had sponsored children in these and many more countries over a period of 22 years. We have visited their HQ and have regular communication with them. I love this organization and talk it up every chance I get.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just keep doing what you're doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

January 7, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I started giving to this organization when it had a different name, many years ago. I sponsored children and received letters from them, wrote back, etc. After a while I agreed to let my monthly donation be p[aid directly by my credit card. After that the letters dried up, and I no longer knew w ho or where my money was going. After several years of this, my credit card expired and I got a letter asking for the new information. I wrote back saying I had decided not to renew my msupport.
Surprise! I immediate received two different letters from children in Africa - the actual country was not specified - one wrote thanking me for "choosing me to be your chld". I feel I am being subjected to emotinal blackmail - I never agreed to resume if the organization started arranging for letters again, but I feel terrible about not anwering these letters! and of course, there is an envelope enclosed so I can send my gifts by electronic funds transfer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 18, 2012

We have been donating to Plan International for nearly two decades and we feel like we've created a meaningful relationship with the organization and the community that they support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor for over 50 years. The child that is assigned to you till they are 18 writes a letter about every 8 weeks and I have ALWAYS RESPONED. I have had letters from around the world. So far the high point was visiting "our" child n China

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Reading these reviews, many people seem to be disappointed with the sponsorship program. You need to understand YOU ARE NO SPONSORING ONE CHILD! Plan makes it very clear that they work on COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT. This means that your sponsor child is just a symbolic link to the COMMUNITY you're supporting. They don't receive any more aid than another child in the community. This might be why they don't have as strong of a connection with the donor as you might have hoped. Additionally, people seem to be concerned that 1. administrative costs are increasing and 2. that communication is less than they'd like, without recognizing that you need admin to better communication. I recently had the opportunity to visit my sponsor child and her community, and I'm must say, I was incredibly impressed. The local staff was efficient and friendly, and Plan organized the logistics of my visit for me. I got to see the school, water access points, sanitation facilities and health care units that had previously been sent to me in photographs, so I know all correspondence I had with the community was accurate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with Plan International USA is wonderful thus far. The organization keeps me well informed of their activities and innovative programs. I like the way Plan International USA focuses in on building communities at the local level through programs for children and collaboration with local (NGO) Non-Governmental Organizations. I have been sponsoring a girl in Kenya since the summer of this year. I received communication from the girl's father a few months after beginning sponsorship. The girl is only five years of age, and I was not expecting to receive written letters from her. I was very excited to receive communication from her father though, as he expressed the gratitude of their family. I just sent a second letter this morning. I look forward to becoming more involved with Plan International USA.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 15, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 15, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor since 9/11 when I decided that we as a nation need to be doing more internationally to bridge the gap between the have's and the have nots. Since I did not want to go with a religious organization, and I wanted to have some interpersonal contact, and possibly go to visit my sponsor child, I researched hard and decided on PLAN. I am so glad I did. I have now sponsored, and also visited, two girls from different parts of Guatemala.

On both visits I was extremely impressed with the local staff and what they were doing in the very rural communities we visited. They are having a huge impact on many communities and many many children and families. It is one of the best things I have done in my 60 years and has culminated in a strong and permanent connection to Guatemala for me personally.

Like some of the other reviewers, I found it hard to have as much personal contact with my sponsored child as I would have preferred via letters. But after actually being in the communities, I realize that much of that is because we are dealing with different languages and cultures that do not have the kind of literacy we have in the U.S. I think it is more important for the staff to be out there helping people than figuring out how to communicate in a different language with someone from a different culture. And I'm not just talking English/Spanish, in my case with Guatemala, but one of the 22 different Mayan languages spoken in rural Guatemala. I am sure this is the same in most of the other countries PLAN operates in. They are doing a great job. Go see for yourself!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Guatemala; two different communities where PLAN operates.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more funds to work in more communities.

June 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 27, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I began as a sponsor for this organization in the early 1970's when it was Foster Parents Plan. At the time, I had little money and wanted to make sure it went where it would do the most good. FPP had an extremely low administrative overhead, and I appreciated the blunt tone of their manually-typed correspondence. They were open about where my money was going, gave recommendations as to whether the family I was sponsoring would benefit from additional funds, and communicated clearly what they were doing to keep administrative costs down. Communications from the organization had the feel of coming from someone who really cared and was probably not being paid very much him/herself.

Although nearly 30 years later I am still sponsoring multiple families through what is now Plan International, over time the organization has become increasingly "slick" in their communications, and that their administrative spending has been increasing relative to their program spending. This trend appears to be accelerating in the past few years. While I am continuing with the families I sponsor, my new donations are going to other organizations. As the current children I sponsor age out of the program, I will not renew with Plan.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Communication from caseworkers was once (1970's and 1980's) detailed and specific to the family; periodic letters from sponsored children (usually parent of sponsored child) continue. The first family I sponsored, I got a detailed analysis of what they needed, which children should be sent to school if I was able to send additional funds, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Look carefully at where the money is going, and whether they are doing the most good they could with their revenue. Especially determine what has gone wrong with the rapidly increasing administrative expenses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Just wanted to help struggling families in the world. When I started, the monthly sponsorship was a stretch for me, and I did enough research to decide that FPP would make the best use of my money. That is no longer true.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Continuing to sponsor the children/families I have committed to

What would you tell others about this organization?

It was once a great way to contribute, but now there are better options

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers