Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My 2 kids have been at PUCS since kindergarten. This year, they are both in the middle school. We heard about PUCS, especially kindergarten, by word of mouth. The elementary school was a gem. But I have to say, now that my children are attending the middle school, this is the true gem of PUCS. While the kids are at a developmental age where they are trying to discover more of who they are and what's important to them, the school is providing a safe place for them to ask questions, push back, and figure out what it means to think about people and not just themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep the class sizes small, though the demand for an education at PUCS has led to wait lists for many grades the last two school years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have four children at PUCS and have been amazed at how a small faith-based school has addressed so competently each of their different learning styles, and embraced them as individuals. The love of learning, community building, and character formation that takes place at PUCS rivals some of the more expensive private schools in the Pittsburgh area. We are so blessed to have found this school community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I knew before I had kids that they would attend PUCS. When you walk through the doors of the school, immediately you feel empowered and loved. Our son is in first grade and often comes home saying that it was the best day because of what he learned at school. Each unit that he has studied, he has been excited about. We also love that amidst his learning that his relationship with Jesus is being cultivated. When you send your children away for the ENTIRE day it is an amazing feeling to know that the people that you have entrusted him with are like minded. They are teaching him biblical principles to prepare him for a Christ centered life. What a joy that is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have one daughter who attended PUCS K-8th, now in 10th grade attending a highly competitive private school, and another daughter currently in 6th grade at PUCS. Both our children are the recipients of an outstanding education provided by a faculty who care enough to nurture individual learning styles, but also create an atmosphere of team building, peer leadership, and healthy character formation. Our PUCS graduate to this day is so appreciative of her academic preparation in writing skills, and learning a second language. She now looks forward to volunteer her time and talents to PUCS, as she did during her Spring break from high school. The opportunities PUCS afforded her to "come out of her shell" now serve her well as as a Community Builder at her high school. Our 6th grader has enjoyed learning in an environment rich with an ethnically diverse and international student body that integrates faith with learning. We shudder to contemplate where we would be without the PUCS community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have 4 children attending PUCS. Each of them can tell all the different things they enjoy so much about being apart of PUCS. Each of their teachers strives to challenge each one of them academically according to their own learning style. All their teachers support them and encourage them to learn all they can. We are thankful for how the teachers and all staff help our children incorporate their faith into all areas of learning and life. At PUCS, our children are not just learning how to be great students, but they are being challenged how to be good, faithful followers of God in all of life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My family has four children currently receiving an amazing PUCS education. They are thriving! I cried out in the hall after I visited PUCS kindergarten class the year that I decided to switch my oldest daughter out of the public school that she attended at that time. I cried with joy. I knew she would receive an excellent, engaging, challenging education in a nurturing diverse environment committed to community. I cried with sadness. I knew she would be leaving a classroom where twenty other students would continue to endure a stressful, tense daily environment filled with yelling and a developmentally ill-fitted teaching style. My husband and I wrestled with the idea that we would be abandoning the public school system. But, we have seen how well our children are taken care of there and how much they are learning, at every level! I wish that all schools would take on the serious task of loving kids and of teaching them to be life long learners! PUCS is that kind of school!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My children attend PUCS, and are receiving an education I didn't think was still available. The kindness and respect from the staff and the students,the commitment to the school as a community and extended family, and the first rate education - its all just amazing. I consider my family very lucky to have found PUCS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

PUCS is one of Pittsburgh's greatest assets and best kept secrets. PUCS has dedicated and excellent teachers who create an exceptional educational experience for students on a regular basis for over 35 years. All four of my children have attended PUCS and if you have never seen a group of middle school students cry because they don't want middle school to ever end, then you haven't seen what is possible with fabulous teachers, rigorous curriculum, and loads of parental involvement! I cannot recommend PUCSmore highly

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter attended PUCS from kindergarten through 5th grade, and my son is currently a student, having started in kindergarten, as well. I have come to realize that one of the most important functions of this early schooling experience is establishing what my children view as "normal" in the classroom. They learn to treat each other with kindness and respect, and their teachers are very caring and approachable. Now that my daughter is in a public school, with a much larger class size, she knows which behaviors are not conducive to learning, and she acts as a leader and a model of more appropriate behavior. I enjoy the easy communication with the teachers. The integrated and creative curriculum is exciting for the children. The academics are excellent--my daughter found herself ahead of most of her classmates, when she moved to her new school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My son started attending here when we moved to Pittsburgh. He was a very reluctant student who many days said he did not want to go to school. This is his 5th year at PUCS, and these days he is a voracious reader, loves his teachers, and is performing well above grade level. He is also much more self-confident and compassionate, is comfortable in all kinds of situations, and is a positive leader in our neighborhood with younger children. I am so glad we found PUCS!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the wonderful, caring education my son has received in a multicultural community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise teacher salaries to help retain excellent faculty.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

A web search when we were moving to the city.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers