Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

PUCS is one of Pittsburgh's greatest assets and best kept secrets. PUCS has dedicated and excellent teachers who create an exceptional educational experience for students on a regular basis for over 35 years. All four of my children have attended PUCS and if you have never seen a group of middle school students cry because they don't want middle school to ever end, then you haven't seen what is possible with fabulous teachers, rigorous curriculum, and loads of parental involvement! I cannot recommend PUCSmore highly

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter attended PUCS from kindergarten through 5th grade, and my son is currently a student, having started in kindergarten, as well. I have come to realize that one of the most important functions of this early schooling experience is establishing what my children view as "normal" in the classroom. They learn to treat each other with kindness and respect, and their teachers are very caring and approachable. Now that my daughter is in a public school, with a much larger class size, she knows which behaviors are not conducive to learning, and she acts as a leader and a model of more appropriate behavior. I enjoy the easy communication with the teachers. The integrated and creative curriculum is exciting for the children. The academics are excellent--my daughter found herself ahead of most of her classmates, when she moved to her new school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My son started attending here when we moved to Pittsburgh. He was a very reluctant student who many days said he did not want to go to school. This is his 5th year at PUCS, and these days he is a voracious reader, loves his teachers, and is performing well above grade level. He is also much more self-confident and compassionate, is comfortable in all kinds of situations, and is a positive leader in our neighborhood with younger children. I am so glad we found PUCS!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the wonderful, caring education my son has received in a multicultural community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise teacher salaries to help retain excellent faculty.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

A web search when we were moving to the city.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have two daughters that attend the school. One day in early June the classroom got very hot from the sun, and my daughter said, "It was the worst day ever at school--actually it was the only bad day ever at school!"
My children have grown not only academically, but socially, spiritually,
and creatively as well. They have fun at school in a way that is still rigorous and gets them very involved and interested in learning!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My children have been challenged to grow and give their best. They are loved and nurtured--their teachers communicate regularly with me. They help my daughters see themselves as amazing, loved children of God. I believe this helps them embrace other children from different backgrounds and to learn to love other people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have them invest in more fund development and marketing staff.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

I heard about PUCS long before I moved to Pittsburgh! Once I moved to Pittsburgh, I knew this would be the school for my children--10 years before they were born!

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Realizing that a diverse group of students can really love each other and work together as teams to grow academically.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers