Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My 2 kids have been at PUCS since kindergarten. This year, they are both in the middle school. We heard about PUCS, especially kindergarten, by word of mouth. The elementary school was a gem. But I have to say, now that my children are attending the middle school, this is the true gem of PUCS. While the kids are at a developmental age where they are trying to discover more of who they are and what's important to them, the school is providing a safe place for them to ask questions, push back, and figure out what it means to think about people and not just themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep the class sizes small, though the demand for an education at PUCS has led to wait lists for many grades the last two school years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have only recently joined the staff of Pittsburgh Urban Christian School, but I am impressed! The teachers and staff are truly gifted and committed to educating each child and helping them become the servant leaders of tomorrow. The diverse, nurturing environment allows each child to thrive, knowing that they are valued. What a wonderful school - I wish more children could go here!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it was double in size so that more children could attend.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have four children at PUCS and have been amazed at how a small faith-based school has addressed so competently each of their different learning styles, and embraced them as individuals. The love of learning, community building, and character formation that takes place at PUCS rivals some of the more expensive private schools in the Pittsburgh area. We are so blessed to have found this school community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I knew before I had kids that they would attend PUCS. When you walk through the doors of the school, immediately you feel empowered and loved. Our son is in first grade and often comes home saying that it was the best day because of what he learned at school. Each unit that he has studied, he has been excited about. We also love that amidst his learning that his relationship with Jesus is being cultivated. When you send your children away for the ENTIRE day it is an amazing feeling to know that the people that you have entrusted him with are like minded. They are teaching him biblical principles to prepare him for a Christ centered life. What a joy that is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have one daughter who attended PUCS K-8th, now in 10th grade attending a highly competitive private school, and another daughter currently in 6th grade at PUCS. Both our children are the recipients of an outstanding education provided by a faculty who care enough to nurture individual learning styles, but also create an atmosphere of team building, peer leadership, and healthy character formation. Our PUCS graduate to this day is so appreciative of her academic preparation in writing skills, and learning a second language. She now looks forward to volunteer her time and talents to PUCS, as she did during her Spring break from high school. The opportunities PUCS afforded her to "come out of her shell" now serve her well as as a Community Builder at her high school. Our 6th grader has enjoyed learning in an environment rich with an ethnically diverse and international student body that integrates faith with learning. We shudder to contemplate where we would be without the PUCS community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We joined PUCS after 5 years of homeschooling and we have had a wonderful experience. All three of my kids have felt supported and cared for by their teachers. I have been very happy with the curriculum and the hands-on learning that engages my somewhat reluctant learners. For instance, my middle schooler came home saying that he had just had the best history class ever -- his teacher made marshmallow shooters for each of them and allowed them to reenact the battles of Lexington and Concord. I'm sure that he will never forget it. At PUCS, my children are engaged in the learning experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have one child in the 6th grade at PUCS and two that have attended K-8 - "Lifers" as we call them. The older two are now at public high schools. Both feel they were well prepared by their PUCS teachers to not only survive the highs and lows of public education but to actually thrive. PUCS is an environment that communicates to their students the message, "We see you, we really see you!". Each child is treated as gifted and the "gift" is unwrapped and children are seen. Fiscally, I can't believe they can do so much with so little. Very reasonable tuition and even scholarship support make this diverse learning community a gem in the city!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have 4 children attending PUCS. Each of them can tell all the different things they enjoy so much about being apart of PUCS. Each of their teachers strives to challenge each one of them academically according to their own learning style. All their teachers support them and encourage them to learn all they can. We are thankful for how the teachers and all staff help our children incorporate their faith into all areas of learning and life. At PUCS, our children are not just learning how to be great students, but they are being challenged how to be good, faithful followers of God in all of life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My family has four children currently receiving an amazing PUCS education. They are thriving! I cried out in the hall after I visited PUCS kindergarten class the year that I decided to switch my oldest daughter out of the public school that she attended at that time. I cried with joy. I knew she would receive an excellent, engaging, challenging education in a nurturing diverse environment committed to community. I cried with sadness. I knew she would be leaving a classroom where twenty other students would continue to endure a stressful, tense daily environment filled with yelling and a developmentally ill-fitted teaching style. My husband and I wrestled with the idea that we would be abandoning the public school system. But, we have seen how well our children are taken care of there and how much they are learning, at every level! I wish that all schools would take on the serious task of loving kids and of teaching them to be life long learners! PUCS is that kind of school!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My children attend PUCS, and are receiving an education I didn't think was still available. The kindness and respect from the staff and the students,the commitment to the school as a community and extended family, and the first rate education - its all just amazing. I consider my family very lucky to have found PUCS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers