Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have always loved Pie Ranch people and their mission! They provide high quality produce while building community and sharing farming knowledge with young people. They grow and bake the best pies too! All of the staff are friendly, warm and very knowledgeable. I live in Berkeley, but go down to buy and eat as often as I can. I wish I could live there myself. I have 2 grandsons and they always bug me to take them to the Ranch! Pie Ranch fills a great need in our communities, teaching the art of coaxing good, healthy, organic food from the earth! They are simply the best community farming venture in Northern California!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Pie Ranch is one of the best organizations I have ever advised.

When I walk into Pie Ranch and meet those who work and volunteer there, I experience a combination of high skill and experience with a "being the change you want to see in the world" attitude. Positivity and genuineness fill
the air and one connects to the land, its past, present, and future, unlike most farms I've ever visited.

When I walk out of Pie Ranch, I leave with a sense of presence, excitement, and community that helps me breathe more at ease, knowing what the future of organic farming, land stewardship, and social justice is, as exemplified by this place and all in it.

On top of it all, of course, there is the pie... The kind no one can pass up...

Alfredo Vergara-Lobo
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I'm absolutely in love with this place, the animals, and the people. The Pie Ranch staff are dedicated, diligent, and visionary. My oldest son has such a connection with the people, the animals and the farm. Participate in a work day, dance at a barn dance - keep coming back. When people ask me what an example might be of how our food system should look in the future, I point them to Pie Ranch. Go and visit and you will understand why.
November 14, 2013

more

November 14, 2013

Working in philanthropy, I've had the opportunity to get to know hundreds of nonprofit leaders. Jered and Nancy are among the best I've known. They truly live the vision that Pie Ranch seeks to achieve, and the rest of the staff are equally committed to creating a just and healthy food system. Beyond the people, the farm itself is a transformational place - you'll understand when you visit!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

This Place is amazing. They are full members of the larger community. I love going to the volunteer day/barn dances on the 3rd Saturday. Their outreach for education of the need for organic is remarkable.
and their pies rock ..... I'm glad they are there ...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

I have volunteered for several different events with Pie Ranch and it has always been a wonderful and valuable experience. Their mission, of sustainable farming and connecting youths to the land, is admirable and necessary. The link between land to the food on our table is a lesson that many people need. I have been afforded, as a volunteer, many occasions to experience life on a farm that would have never been available to me. Growing up in suburban California and now living in an urban environment, I wish I had had these opportunities as a child; opportunities that Pie Ranch now makes essential to many of the schools they partner with. A definite worthy and local organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Full disclosure: I was a Board member many years ago.

What I love about Pie Ranch is its generous sharing of knowledge, time and a way of relating to food, the self and others.

Being a part of the Pie Ranch community is a good feeling and I'm thrilled that immersion into that pool
of goodness is available to regional youth and community members.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

This is a truly fantastic organization! The opportunities they provide to volunteers and the students they served are unparalleled within the Bay Area. Weather exposing students to advocacy related to sustainable agriculture or providing a physical means by which students can connect to their food, Pie ranch provides the students it serves with knowledge that they cannot get anywhere else. Pie Ranch is a truly unique and completely remarkable organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I work in the philanthropic sector, advising family foundations on their charitable giving. In 2012, my organization oversaw and advised on the donation of over $62 million in grants to over 2,000 charitable organizations around the country and world, although the marjority of grants are in the greater San Francisco Bay Area. Bottom line is I know about a lot of nonprofits, and have see the best, the worst, and the great middle. Pie Ranch is one of the very few that I have gotten to know through my work and have fallen in love with their mission and their work. Pie Ranch is still in relative infancy, but its leadership has been doggedly focused on goals well beyond the core programs, which get high school kids to understand a healthy, local, sustainable food system. Pie Ranch wants to be a leader in a national revolution to push back against industrial food systems that are making us sick, taking away a basic human skill set of growing and cooking food, and harming our environment. It is a passionate and mission-driven organization with highly competent and dedicated leadership and a wonderful sense of place in Northern California, the U.S. and the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to work hard on governance maturity as Pie Ranch grows and evolves. Figure out how to invest in the people that make the organization thrive by paying above a living wage.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Pie Ranch is an incredibly ambitious organization with huge, culture shifting goals that it is succeeding in achieving. Everyone involved in the powerful work at Pie Ranch is incredibly knowledgeable, gracious, organized, and thoughtful. It is truly an honor to have experienced such a beautiful place and to be able to connect with the thinkers and action takers behind it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers