Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

A Pittsburgh treasure for over 120 years, Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens is still the premier cultural venue in the region. From its old Victorian glass house to its Tropical Forest Conservatory to its new Center for Sustainable Landscapes, Phipps presents one of the greenest and most beautiful botanical garden in the land. So much to see and enjoy. And their award winning Cafe Phipps has a wonderful menu of healthy, delicious food choices. Don't forget to visit The Shop at Phipps! This is hands down a must see in Pittsburgh!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Phipps Conservatory is one of the most loveliest gardens ever. After entering thru the LEED certified Welcome Center and viewing the Chihuly chandelier, you walk into another world, filled with all sorts of flowers and various plants from absolutely everywhere. For a volunteer, I don't consider this work @ all, but a wonderful garden oasis that brings delight to all who visit Phipps. The special flower shows throughout the seasons ensure a continuim of beautiful garden displays all year long. Indoors and outdoors, there's truly always something blooming in the gardens.
One of the newest features of Phipps is the Center for Sustainable Landscapes (CSL). Truly a showcare to the world that building & operating a green sustainable office building is achievable & architecturally beautiful. From the green roof to the sustainable landscaped hillside, Phipps extends it's commitment to living green by sharing the CSL with us & to all future generations. As a CSL docent, I get to share Phipps story of the CSL but als get to hear Phipps visitors green stories. Phipps is truly a world class organization, devoted to caring for all that is green (plants) & blue (our planet)!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help to make parking and/or transportation to Phipps more abundant and free! Phipps visitors need to 'feed the meters' causing some anxiety as they visit the greenhouse and/or get a parking ticket (ugh). Plust I'd encourage more music in the outdoor gardens, free for the community - another way to give back to the supporting community & to open the doors to new members!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Whether an avid gardener or a botanical black thumb like me, Phipps provides a wonderful opportunity to appreciate all things green!! A great date with my husband or with the kids and their grandfather (very wheelchair friendly), we treasure having Phipps in our backyard!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More signage/flower identification for the horticulturally challenged.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My husband and I have volunteered for Phipps for the last several years and are so proud to be even a small part of such a well-run organization whose positive influence has spanned generations. Phipps remains the "jewel of our city" for many reasons -- their many displays and events provide a wide variety for folks of all interests and ages -- toddlers to seniors -- and their attention to detail with all of these offerings transcends language. On even the greyest of days, we know we will be surrounded by beauty, interesting and accomplished folks but most especially an organization that makes you feel valuable and appreciated for even the smallest of contributions.

It was our original intent to contribute and feel good about that so imagine our utter surprise when we actually "got" more than we "gave". Thank you Phipps -- may your many success continue!!

Carmen N. Sapir
Grateful Volunteer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their global profile. The accolades I have heard from many visitors reinforces how proud we are of Phipps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

The students at Shaler Area High School have worked with Phipps through the Fairchild Challenge for four years now. The level of positive competition and excellent, real-world challenges that the Fairchild Challenge creates for area students is top notch. No other cross curricular activity compares for its high level of rigor, well organized activities, and generosity to schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

n/a

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2011

more

December 9, 2011

What can you say about Phipps? The Green Heart of Pittsburgh, it has been a destination for well over 100 years...yet, the Conservatory has become the "greenest" botanical garden in the US!! They raise the bar on sustainability and are writing the book on sustainable practices with the building of their Center for Sustainable Landscapes. We're privileged in Pittsburgh to have such a jewel. Eat you hearts out, America!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

I'm a big fan of Phipps for their free weekend education. Most recently, I attended a public program on Peruvian Recipies, which was a lot of fun and gave me some good cooking tips to take home.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

free education programs are definitely a favorite, but the exhibits, of course, are always excellent too.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

It's nice to be able to come to a Pittsburgh destination that is not only an enjoyable day out, but also gives you valuable information you can take home and use.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

My most recent trip to Phipps was to see the Spring Flower Show, which is the biggest and best of the Phipps shows. This year was no exception :)

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

One of the best things about Phipps is the way they cahnge their exhibit every season, so you can have four different experiences each year.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make an even bigger better Conservatory. In the last five to ten years they have already added some amazing new buildings to the experience, including an excellent cafe.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

My family has been taking trips to Phipps at the holidays since I was a child. Today I have children of my own, and the warmth and blooming plants of Phipps are still the best way to beat the winter blues.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind and corteous, always willing to help and to give more information about the wonderful sights to see.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 28, 2010

more

April 28, 2010

I had a very enjoyable evening greeting and directing guests as a volunteer for Phipps' recent collaboration with the Pittsburgh Opera. This was a unique event in which opera performances were held in the conservatory rooms. All the guests had a wonderful time.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

meeting the interesting variety of people who come to the conservatory every day.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers