Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been a member of the Philharmonic Association's music ensembles for the past 6 years. I am currently in the Triangle Youth Philharmonic. This organization has given me the means to challenge myself and has helped me reach my full musical potential. That is something that no other music program has done and I am so thankful to be a part of the Philharmonic Association.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

They are very professional and caring. I look forward to working with them again.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

My child has participated in Philharmonic Association programs since 2011. He has been involved in 4 different orchestras within the PA and each year has grown in his musicianship, technical skills, responsibility and love of music. Opportunities like this can not be provided without the huge commitment and sacrifice of its leadership who year after year continue to support the youth of this community.
There is room for every musician to participate regardless of skill level or ability to pay. Children find a community of other musicians who support and encourage them and life-long friendships are made. Young musicians get to experience what participation in a professional orchestra would be like.
I would thoroughly encourage any young area musicians to become involved in one of the many PA programs. The concerts are a wonderful capstone experience where the community can see our youth showcase their hard work and talent.
We are very lucky to have the Philharmonic Association in our area.
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Philharmonic Association gives young musicians a fantastic opportunity to play challenging music in a full size orchestra at different levels of experience under guidance of accomplished professional. At every level they raise the bar and it is amazing to see the improvement the young musicians make in a single year. The performances are wonderful and getting to play in a beautiful venue like Memandy Hall is an amazing opportunity for the young musicians. The staff members ares extremely dedicated and are continuously looking for ways to broaden the participants horizon. If you live in the area go and listen to one of the upcoming performances, you will be blown away.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

The Philharmonic Association is dedicated to giving young people of all ability levels the chance to experience high quality music programs they cannot get in any other way. They have high standards for the kids and for their staff and everyone rises to meet them. Nothing is dumbed down for these musicians—they are playing the best music under the best conductors.

My children have been involved in TYSO, TYO, TYS, and TYP and have truly loved working as a team with their peers. They enjoy rehearsals, but the absolute gem of the whole experience is getting to play in Meymandi Hall for their concerts! These opportunities are irreplaceable, and would not happen without the PA. We're so grateful to the Partridges and their staff for their continual work and sacrifice for the young people of this community.
March 5, 2012

more

March 5, 2012

Only the highest PRAISE for Margaret Partridge and the Triangle Youth Jazz Ensemble! Our 20th Anniversary Celebration for the Center for Volunteer Caregiving was a terrific success and the Triangle Youth Jazz Ensemble Quartet had a significant role in making it so! The musicians were so professional and their musical selections were lively and fun. They really set the tone for an enjoyable evening. Working with Margaret was a dream come true- within 24 hours and in our time of need she coordinated and arranged for the Ensemble to play for us. We are absolutely delighted to have had the pleasure of working with this fine group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 20, 2011

The Philharmonic Association is located in Raleigh, NC, and it is an organization that has six musical ensembles. Three of the ensembles are youth symphonies, two are string orchestras, and the sixth... more

January 22, 2012

My child has been a member of one of the ensembles of the Philharmonic Association for the last seven years. It has been an exceptional experience from having friends with similar interests to learning advanced music in a quality environment. This is an organization that takes up all the slack that our education system cannot cover because funding for music and the arts have been cut so drastically in the last few years. It is extremely beneficial in giving a music education to the individuals that want to pursue music to those who love it but will be come professionals in other careers. The individuals who run the program (especially Mr. and Mrs. Partridge) are extremely dedicated to giving the best possible experience for all the participants and the performances. This program never turns away any musician due to the lack of the ability to pay the fee required to play. This is very honorable and enables many students to have this great education no matter what they can afford. This is something that we should all applaud and support. There are many wonderful volunteers and incredible conductors that help make the program successful. The PA is run well and very efficiently. Please support them by coming to a concert!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2011

The Philharmonic Association is located in Raleigh, NC, and it is an organization that has six musical ensembles. Three of the ensembles are youth symphonies, two are string orchestras, and the sixth is a jazz ensemble of high school aged youth. The five orchestra/symphony ensembles study and perform classical music. With music education being decreased for our children in the public school system, I see the PA (Philharmonic Association) as an ESSENTIAL part of our community. I can write forever on the benefit of musical studies for students of any age; it truly develops the mind and makes children smarter. Because of the multiple levels of the PA ensembles, all children have an opportunity to learn and study classical music in an orchestra setting. The PA does not discriminate in any way with respect to someone not being able to afford the cost of participation. The PA will find a way for someone who gets into an orchestra to be able to participate; they waive fees for those who cannot afford them. That is such an honorable and great commitment and needs support from all of us. The PA works with the North Carolina Symphony enabling ensembles to have two rehearsals with an NCS coach for each orchestral section. In addition, the three top ensembles perform at the same venue as the NC Symphony. This is a great way for the young musicians to see what it is like to perform in a professional orchestra setting. Playing in a musical ensemble is a team sport for many of the youth and a great way to meet, socialize, and develop friendships with others who have similar interests and are from all over the area. The concerts are a joy for the audience as well as those performing. Many of our community come to see these young musicians as a way of enjoying classical music. The PA nurtures classical music and the minds of our children. Lastly, there are many dedicated people behind the scenes of the PA. Some of which are the conductors who give hours of their time and commitment to provide the young musicians with the best experience possible. The Philharmonic Association helps young people to develop not only as musicians but as well-rounded individuals. This is an association that I strongly support!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing performances and having my child and her friends involved in the PA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The PA could benefit a lot from its own facility and rehearsal space. This has been a goal for the group for some time. It will require a lot of financial support. This is something they are working on already. Give out the scores for auditions as done in all state auditions to make it more of a learning experience for the individual musician so that they can know how to improve.

February 15, 2011

more

February 15, 2011

Over the past year, I have had the pleasure of being involved with the Philharmonic Association, my daughter (age 10) having joined the Triangle Youth Orchestra as a violinist. I have been involved in many organizations over the years, but I must say that the Philharmonic Association is exceptional in all aspect. I have seen the dedication and passion exhibited by the leaders of the Association. I have also seen the pursuit for excellence in all that they do. The expectations for the students are high, but the yield is remarkable. Speaking from personal experience, I have seen my daughter flourish in her music since being involved with the Philharmonic Association. This is certainly an organization worthy of the title "Great Nonprofit".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have witnessed my ten year old daughter flourish in her violin playing since being involved with the Philharmonic Association

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any I would make.

February 3, 2011

more

February 3, 2011

I am lucky that I get to have a special relationship to the Philharmonic Association. I'm a current member of the board of directors, but 12 years ago, I was playing violin in the Triangle Youth Philharmonic (TYP).

I was blessed to have such an incredible outlet for music when I was in
high school. In the orchestra, we played high-level and classic works, and performed original pieces by local composers. We learned from members of the N.C. Symphony, and were directed by the talented Hugh Partridge.

But TYP meant a lot more to me than just pretty music. There I met some of my best friends, and had a magnificent time performing in places like the Spoleto Festival in Charleston, SC.

I joined the board because I believe in the organization and I wanted to make sure that other young musicians have the same life-changing experiences that TYP gave to me.

The Philharmonic Association has grown since my time in the orchestra thanks to the dedicated volunteers and staff. Now, even more kids are able to make beautiful music to share with our community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

hearing some amazing concerts. I also was a participant for many years!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing! OK, maybe a new rehearsal space, but they are amazingly efficient with a small staff and small budget.

January 31, 2011

more

January 31, 2011

I'm in my third year participating in the Philharmonic Association's youth orchestras. I've been playing violin since I was 4 and my private teacher encouraged me to try out for the orchestra because I had never played in that type of environment before. The first year I tried out, I was surprised that I was accepted as a Violin II in the Triangle Youth Orchestra. Then I became nervous that I would mess up in front of the whole orchestra at rehearsals. I wasn't really good at reading music then. During that year, I felt more and more comfortable in reading music and learned many other skills that are needed if you are in an orchestra.

The second year I tried out for the Triangle Youth Orchestra and the Triangle Youth Symphony. I was ecstatic when I received a call from my conductor telling me that I was accepted into both orchestras. I had to choose between being the Concertmaster of the Triangle Youth Orchestra or move up to the Triangle Youth Symphony. I never thought I would choose to take on the responsibility of a leadership position. But surprisingly, I immediately agreed to be Concertmaster. During that year, I learned how important the role is, how many people depend on you to keep the orchestra together. The skills that I learned in the first year of orchestra helped prepare me to carry out my leadership role successfully.

This year I moved up to the Triangle Youth Symphony as a Violin I. The music is more challenging, more exciting and it is definitely making me a better musician. My experience over the past few years has taught me to respect the Conductors and principals as well as the other musicians.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I read music better. I learned how to play in an ensemble. I'm a better musician than I was before, and I keep learning new things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish we had a permanent rehearsal space. I also think it would be fun if the kids could make suggestions for pieces to perform in the future.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers