Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 20, 2011

more

February 20, 2011

I have volunteered several times to sort and shelve books for Philadelphia Reads as part of my company's participation in service days. Each time I have been so impressed with the enthusiasm and dedication of the staff. Seeing the shelves fill up with books that can help hundreds or even thousands of children learn to read and to love it is inspiring.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A very fulfilling volunteer experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it lots of money to expand!

December 28, 2009

more

December 28, 2009

American Executive Centers has volunteered with Phladelphia Reads for the last three years. Our team has been very impressed with the work ethic of all the volunteers at Philadelphia Reads. The Reading Olympics is such a great event for all the children participating across the city and suburbs. This group really is raising a city of readers. A huge endeavor - but their dedication will make them successful. We plan on continuing to support Philadelphia Reads for many years to come.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very dedicated and determined to raise a City of Readers

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 24, 2009

more

December 24, 2009

Bonnie Stone of Philadelphia Reads provided excellent training for our group of seven tutors. She was enthusiastic, informative and supportive. She provided useful materials and tips and was skilled at balancing the training she offered with the needs and interests of the people she was listening to. In addition, our group of tutors uses many books from the well-organized collection of Philadelphia Reads, and we look forward to continuing to do so. Philadelphia Reads makes it easy to find books in good condition that are fun and age-appropriate for the children we work with.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

With more money Philadelphia Reads could encourage more one-on-one tutoring in and after school while improving the quality of the tutoring. It could also improve the service of the book collection by being able to staff more hours and pay organizers.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 23, 2009

more

December 23, 2009

My son did his Bar Mitzvah project through Philadelphia Reads. He collected books and recorded 20 books on tape for the project. It was a great experience for him and our whole family. Many hours of reading and helping others to read.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the easy access to important work to help get books to children who need them.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sort and shelve children's books at our Book Bank.
Read a children's book aloud onto tape for our books-on-tape program that helps teach children to read.
Work as a reading coach after-school or in a day care. Volunteer