Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.642865
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

John and Lisa are two of the most generous and hard-working people I know, and they are using that work ethic to benefit those who deserve it most, our veterans. Not only will they be providing a sanctuary for our homeless veterans, they will be giving them hope and a sense of purpose. This is truly a worthy cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

What a wonderful vision by John. Providing homeless vets with not only a safe and secure place to live but also helping with improving independence, skills and self-esteem.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Pfc. Richard L. Veterans Village is a wonderful nonprofit working to assist homeless veterans have a place to live out their days in a quite and beautiful country environment. The Founder and his wonderful kind Fiance' have poured their hearts and sole into this organization. Although new, they are working night and day to achieve the required inspections and paperwork necessary to get this project off the ground. I believe once they have the funding necessary to complete their dream it will be a wonderful place for those who have served our country to beable to live and feel like they belong.

My best wishes go out to John and Lisa and all their wonderful volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

John and Lisa are on a mission to improve the lives of homeless veterans, and not just by providing a place to live, but by giving them the skills and means to be self-supportive through sustainable agriculture. Eating healthfully and living mindfully in a conplementary environment is the icing on the cake for this program. I'm confident that their model will set the standard for similar programs in the future. I highly recommend this worthy cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am writing this review for John and Lisa! They are doing something wonderful for our men and women who need a home. This is for purecyn: I don't know who you are and reading your comment I don't really want to. And I would almost bet my bottom dollar you have not been to the Village in awhile. I marked your comment as helpful because it will make me work harder, for non-believers like yourself, to eat your words. My husband is 61 and he could raise cattle and chickens with no problem, just because someone is over the age of 60 and homeless does not mean that they are helpless. Vanover Village is only two years old and it does take time for projects as bis as this will take off and get running. Keeping the Government out of it is the best way to do what needs to be done. Please be patient everyone and say a Prayer so that we the public can help John and Lisa.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

Vanover Veteran's Village is a wonderful organization that I am proud to be associated with. The founder of this project almost bankrupt himself funding the start-up costs for this project. As a veteran myself, the fact that the veterans will be able to assist in the farming is something they will be proud of, because we veterans are proud of what we've done and continue to take pride in our actions and activities. The organization is a 501C3, the books are open for ANYONE to view, and there has been no unscrupulous activities concerning donations or money - more than I can say for other charities claiming to represent the veterans. The Village is still in its initial phases, as purchasing 35 acres of land alone is a great start-up cost. I would invite anyone to visit the Village, look at the books, look at the plans, and realize something of this size cannot be accomplished overnight. As for not accepting government grants, the purpose behind this is to minimize red tape and costs. As a veteran, I can proudly state my involvement with the Vanover Veteran's Village.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I finally found what they are calling Vanover Village, I wanted to see for myself and I'll tell you I wouldn't want my father living there. For someone that has been raising money for this cause for several years and that is all they have accomplished I question their integrity. It looks like a tool shed. The fact that they don't want any government help to be accountable for, how the income is spent is suspect. They haven't assisted one Veteran!!!!! I looked up the Articles of Inc. and much to my confusion I'm not sure what "scientific purposes" means in relationship to this organization. Adding to the fact they are taking Veterans 62 yrs. and older and expect them to raise cattle, chickens and farm his land so they can be self sustaining! Really have you ever heard of the HUD-VASH program that the VA and HUD are working together in housing homeless veterans? They do report to the government.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

What a great service the Vanover Veteran's Village is providing for those who sacrificed so much for us. I am a proud donor of this organization even though I'm only making my first visit there myself next month. John Vanover has a vision and I am proud to say that I am helping, even if only in a small way, to help make that vision a reality. Our veterans deserve so much more than they often get, and I am so happy that Mr. Vanover is changing that. I couldn't be prouder to be associated with such a great organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Vanover Veterans Village is a organization that I proudly donate to. I know exactly where and how my contribution is being used. Being in its beginning stages it is easily something that a single person could give up on, but John's determination to make this work is the reason why I have donated and will donate again to. He's not asking for the world...just enough to make his dream of this Village for veterans self sufficient. I believe in him and the dream, every veteran should have a place to call home.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Being a vet, it breaks my heart when I see once proud men & women, who once served our country, homeless without the basic necessities of life. This village is beyond a shelter and offers hope and respect to these vets.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help to prepare first housing unit to be occupied; hang drywall; plumbing or electrical work; etc. Volunteer