Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
123.2222245
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 5, 2013

more

December 5, 2013

Petsmart Charities is an amazing and dynamic corporation that provides resources to groups that need their help to make a difference in all area of animal welfare. Our organization, HOPE for Animals started as a small rescue. We were quickly overwhelmed by the sheer numbers of cats and dogs needing homes. We came to understand that nothing but high volume spay/neuter would make significant changes in the overpopulation of pets. But where to start? How do we buy the equipment and supplies needed? Petsmart Charities to the rescue...in conjuntion with the Humane Alliance. Since opening our doors in mid 2010, Petsmart Charities has been there everytime we need them, with innovative programs specifically targeted through extensive data collection and analysis. HOPE for Animals has now been open almost 3.5 years and have spayed/Neutered over 27,000 local pets. As a result our local animal care and control has reported the first decreases in intake and euthanasia in over 40 years in our community. This year, although the numbers are not finalized, the trend shows decreases in intake and euthanasia up to 40% in certain breeds and species. If not for Petsmart Charities, our area (Northeast Indiana) would still be euthanizing 10,000-14,000 cats and dogs a year. Thank goodness for Petsmart Charities...besides being an organization dedicated to making positive change, everyone employee, manager and director has been professional, pleasant and caring about our needs. Thank you Petsmart Charities, we would be lost without your help and guidance.

Madeleine Laird
Executive Director
HOPE for Animals, Fort Wayne Indiana

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make people more aware of the great things they are doing, sometimes behind the scenes...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am very happy about the money that trickles through Petsmart Charities and actually makes it to the local shelters, but I think with a little research a person wanting to donate money could find a local non-profit (all-volunteer, non-profit 501 c-3 organization) that actually would utilize more money directly to the care of shelter animals.

As a volunteer who used to volunteer at a local Petsmart, there is a huge disconnect between what seems to be the mission of Petsmart Charities and the lower echelon Petsmart Corporate Personnel. Their priorities do not seem to be focused on the well being of the rescue/shelter animals or the volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Treat the rescues animals and volunteers better. Provide better adoption facilities and rescue animal friendly management.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 17, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

As a volunteer for a rescue at a Petsmart store I have seen how the store management oppresses the rescue personnel. The volunteers were not trained by the store and treated like second class citizens!
At first i loved going in to clean and play with the animals but in a few weeks i dreaded it.
It was so deflating, i didnt encourage my friends to volunteer at that store. I dont know why the volunteers were not welcomed with open arms if they are so committed to the adoption community. Im now convinced Petsmart Charities is only in effect because it ultimately makes them more money than if they did not promote it. I dont even shop there anymore as a result of my experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm glad I found this great charity and have been donating since 2008. Great work!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I only question the significant salary the exec. Director makes. Why so much in a charity, it turns donors off. I greatly appreciate what pets art does for animals, but salaries should not be 3-4 times more than what the donors make. I'm just saying, I would be motivated to donate more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

How can PetSmart claim to help animals when they take the bags of food not sold and discard it in the garbage and cutting the bag so it can not be take by people in need? I witnessed the employ discarding bags of dog and cat food in dumpsters cutting the bags open before doing so. Don't they realize that with there are a lot of shelters that could use that. I live in an area hit hard by Sandy and they could of gave it to the people in their own back yards. It's a disgrace!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

PETSMART CHARITIES INC uses the for profit company employees of PetSmart to acqurie dogs and cats for adoption. PETSMART CHARITIES INC does not train the PetSmart employees on the PETSMART CHARITIES INC standards it imposes on 501(c)(3) to bring dogs and cats into their adoption programs. PETSMART CHARITIES INC uses misinformed PetSmart employees to induce honest, respectable 501(c)(3) DOG & CAT Rescue Non-Profit Corporations to spend money, funds and resourses on rescued dogs and cats to go into the adoption WEEK-End events, then at the last minute or days before the EVENT, PETSMART CHARITIES INC. rejects the 501(c)(3) Rescue Non-Profit after having 501(c)(3) Rescue Non-Profit spend time, resources, funds, & money on the adoption project. I have been involved in the con-game that PETSMART CHARITIES INC & PetSmart employees play on local 501(c)(3) Rescue Non-Profits. You can not trust their business practices or their recruitment of local 501(c)(3) Rescue Non-Profits. Avoid this Charity At All Costs.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

we have the best fur boy anyone could ever want.....we adopted him from PETSMART in FV California 7 years ago. Charlie is our purfect boy. It's a win-win situation.....that these animals are adopted out to people who are looking to save an animal from homelessness. ADOPTION is the right thing to do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I can't believe this fabulous charity doesn't have a review yet! This month, they adopted out their 5 MILLIONTH PET from their in-store adoption centers. I adopted my dog Parker from one of these centers, and in fact signed up to volunteer shortly thereafter with the rescue group that was sponsoring the adoptions that day. SInce then, I've fostered more than 50 puppies for the group and transported hundreds more for them from rural shelters to the highly-populated DC area. PetSmart Chariities also gave a grant to another group that I volunteer with to do Trap Neuter and Return of feral cats in Arlington County, VA. TNR is a very important part of keeping the outdoor cat population healthy and of a manageable size. I love PetSmart Charities!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers