Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

PAWS does a wonderful job, and as a volunteer I was lucky enough to see it first-hand. People who love their pets don't stop loving them when they're unable to care for them. My client adores her cats and was very happy that volunteers came to change the litter and do whatver else we could to make sure they were heslthy and cared for. At the same time I felt like every visit with my client was a gift to me - it was a gift to be part of her life and help her.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

PAWS is an amazing organization in pretty much every way. They have a great mission and seek out clients who truly need their help the most. I have been volunteering for about 6 months now, and I have had an amazing experience. I do not have a ton of time to commit to the organization (though I wish I had more!), but one of the great things about PAWS is that you choose your level of commitment and you can pick a client who lives in a convenient location for you and work out a schedule that works for you. I walk just one woman's dog two days a week, but have done so consistently for the past 6 months, and I have built a strong relationship with both the client and her dog. PAWS will link you up with a client in need and make sure that the home is safe for you to go to, but after that you are free to build your own relationship with your client(s) and communicate directly with them if you need to change a time or miss a day, and I think the independence given to volunteers is great. On the flip side, if an issue ever came up (though I haven't had any yet!), I would not hesitate to contact Rachel, the founder of PAWS NY, as she is an extremely approachable, rational, understanding person. Her first priority is always to make sure the volunteers feel safe and comfortable, and she does that very well. If you are looking to make a difference on a very individual, personal level - for both a person and an animal - consider volunteering for PAWS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2012

more

January 18, 2012

PAWS NY provides a wonderful set of much needed services, and I am proud to be a part of this organization. Having personally met and worked with many of our clients, I have seen first hand the incredible impact our volunteers have on the lives of each person and each pet that they help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

PAWS came to the rescue this past summer when my mother-in-law, Margaret Miller became ill and needed nursing home care. We thought it would be temporary so, Rachel provided a contact for us. Mary Heed, a volunteer took "Georgi Girl" under her wing for what we thought would be a month or two. As it turned out, Margaret was not able to return to her apt. so Mary very generously adopted her. Rachel and Mary were always very concerned and my husband & I greatly appreciate their service! They were life savers! Thank you PAWS for being there! Sincerely, Ronald & Maureen Miller

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

I became a part of the first group of PAWS volunteers here in NY and over the past few years, I've been rewarded with new friendships, humbling experiences and an overwhelming sense of joy. PAWS is an incredible organization with a bright idea that serves people at their core, in simple and personal ways. I'm so happy to be a PAWS volunteer and am looking forward to the many years of service ahead!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

PAWS NY is a genuine organization with a genuine humane and simple mission - keep humans and animals together. The special bond we have with our pets is undeniable. It is unfathomable to think that because someone may endure hardships or other illnesses that make their pets unaffordable or unmanageable that the pets should have to be taken away or given away or the unthinkable, put down. PAWS NY recognizes the value and support pets bring their owners no matter what state of life they are in. My service to PAWS is in memory of my dog Lulu Belle who despite debilitating hardships of her own and broken legs crumbled from years of steroids to keep her heart stable, she found the strength to stand up to greet me when I came home every day. If the roles were reversed I would want this for me and this is what PAWS does. I am very happy to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

I have been volunteering with PAWS for the past 4 months. I'm new to NYC and was looking for some volunteer work and came across this organization. I visit an elderly woman and her elderly husky mix every Wednesday night on the Upper west side. It's been an amazing experience for me because it feels great helping out with the dog and getting to know the client as well. I would highly recommend this organization if you are an animal lover who also enjoys making a difference in an elderly person's life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

I had the opportunity volunteer for PAWS NY at their annual event. The event was well planned and executed. I had a great time as volunteer , and it was great engaging with so many people that share the same passion as myself. It is a great way to give back to animals and people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

Pets Are Wonderful Support is a great organization. We help people who can't take care of their pets - so pets and owners can stay together. Once a week I visit the owner of two cats, and I play with the cats, brush them, change the litter box, make sure there's fresh water and food. Our client is such a great person, and the cats are really great - I think I get more out of my visits than anyone else. I feel very lucky to be a volunteer for PAWS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

PAWS NYC is great to work with. I've been helping out one owner with a chihuahua for a year now, and filing in for others when I can. A great way to hang out with pets and help people out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide 6 walks to dogs whose owners are unable to walk them on their own due to physical obstacles Volunteer