Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.45
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 16, 2013

more

December 16, 2013

I am trying to become a volunteer for this organization. I am rating this three stars, but with the potential to increase, but at this time, I have found my experience frustrating and confusing, with little resources or help to point me in the right direction.

I am trying to get my dog
certified as a Pet Partners therapy dog. I am over a year and a few hundred dollars into this process. The Pet Partners website isn't very clear on what the steps are to go through this, much of it is figuring it out on your own. I took the CGC test to enroll my dog in the therapy dog class, did well in the class according to my instructor. The test is independent of the class, but it's nearly impossible to find someone to administer the evaluation. The Pet Partners website doesn't offer any schedule, and when I emailed, they told me I had to email around to find someone to schedule it. This began in September, and it did not get scheduled until December (that's like a year and a half in dog years!) and I ended up emailing several individual people. Finally the evaluation day arrived, I showed up as prepared as I could be, and was humiliated, told that the class I took didn't count and didn't matter, that because the evaluator didn't know my class instructor she thought it was worthless, and basically walked out in tears after being told everything I had done didn't matter.

All my information came from either the Pet Partners website, or the class I took, much of which I had to figure out on my own. So now, after over a year (most of this waiting around to take the test and the course) and all the time and money I have spent, I am back where I started, and embarrassed in front of many local Pet Partner community members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make information on the website more clear. Make a step by step list of how to become a certified therapy dog team. Provide assistance and information on taking the required steps.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I have been exposed to Pet Partners' work for nearly 6 years now, and I am honored to be serving on the board. I continue to be impressed with the focus that the founders, staff and committed volunteers have to create the most ethical and effective pet interactions within a therapy environment. Whether that be for impromptu visits to nursing homes or directed visits to patients with specific therapy goals. The founders began this standard. I like to call it the "Delta Standard"(the organization was previously named the Delta Society). And the current staff and 11,000+ teams bring it to life in their work. When you talk with them or watch their work, you feel it. This is impressive and critically important because there is a growing level of "pet therapy" happening all across the country and the work must deliver safe and effective outcomes for both ends of the leash.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to have this organizations' pet therapy visits covered by human health insurance companies. Pets heal in a holistic way and many times this can be more cost-effective than other therapies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

being involved with Pet Partners (Delta Society) has been a life changing event. They have always done a great job supporting me first as a Pet Partner, then evaluator, team instructor and affiliate. I see first hand how the staff works together as a team and is supported by terrific board members who bring so much experience, knowledge and expertise to the table. Pet Partners is by far the best program of it's kind. Thank you for allowing me to be part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2013

more

September 14, 2013

As a board member and volunteer, I know Pet Partners is committed to the mission of demonstrating and promoting positive human-animal interaction.

My dog Guinness and I are a Pet Partner team and I know our visits help people feel better and have an improved outlook because of the effect
a caring human and affectionate animal have on them!

Pet Partners is a great organization to be a part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Great, life-changing cause with incredibly dedicated volunteers and staff members!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work to reduce fees associated with becoming a volunteer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I have had the opportunity to volunteer with this wonderful organization since June 2010. There have been countless encounters that I have been fortunate enough to share with each of my therapy dogs. The benefits we humans gain from interacting with therapy animals are enormous and are just beginning to be utilized. As one of the newest Board Members I look forward to spreading the word about Pet Partners and helping these benefits become used in everyday life in a responsible and safe way that both humans and animals can prosper.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

first take some time to gain a better understanding of policies and procedures before suggesting change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I recently joined the Board but have supported this organization for 16 years. I used to work there (in another life) and continue to be moved by the therapy-animal teams that have such a profound effect on people in need. Whether it's a visit to a senior in a nursing home or encouraging a child to participate in physical therapy (which I've witnessed personally), these teams make a huge difference in peoples' lives. I would encourage you to check them out and watch the video on their website (www.petpartners.org).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more visibility - they are the best kept secret!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

My French Bulldog, Charlotte and I have been Pet Partners for almost 4 years. Doing this important work with her has been the highlight of my life aside from the birth of my grandson. It has been my pleasure to meet so many wonderful people and to watch how faces and attitudes change simply by petting a little yellow dog.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I recently started working for a subsidiary of Pet Partners, Teton County PAL in Jackson Hole Wyoming. Because I'm so new, I've spent the last few weeks asking a lot of questions of Pet Partners and am so pleased with how much knowledge I have gained from them. They are extremely nice, quick to respond and have been VERY eager to help TC PAL sign up more evaluators. They have gone above and beyond to help us build a stronger presence in the Rocky Mountain West Region. Thank you PP!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the website a little easier to follow - it seems a little jumbled and clumsy. As a new person to the org, the verbiage they use is a little confusing as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

I am a volunteer Pet Therapy handler, along with my giant Labradoodle, Thumper. Pet Partners has supplied the excellent training, evaluation and support we need to help put a smile on the face of people who could use some comfort. They did such a great job, that I enrolled in their Team Evaluator training course, and can now help other teams serve their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their advertising in order to get more people aware of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers