Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1.333332345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 25, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2014

I don't think there's a need to write a lengthy story about my experience with Pet Food Stamps since it's basically the same as thousands of other in need people out there. Applied over a year ago, sent in all requested private information and never heard back anything, even when emailing and phoning them. It's terrible what PFS is doing to all of us, and if this place is truly legit, at least spend the time and money to officially send a mailed response to the people who applied. Stop spending precious time and effort on social media sites arguing and banning people an spend the time and effort doing what the organization was originally set up to do, help the poor continue to feed their pets!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of their stupid twitter and facebook accounts which is nothing but a bunch of childish behavior by the owners of PFS. Again, spend your time actually doing what you said you'd do, instead of playing games with everyone on those websites

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Legitimate noprofits not only can and do keep of the number of people they are helping but they are obligated to keep such records to support that their organization is infact charitable and not for profit. I am wondering what would make a nonprofit incapable of. Adapting sound business princicipals & what exactly is it that would prevent a non profit from being able to demonstrate accountability - this Pet Food Stamp sham is harming more than it is helping

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At least keep applicants current on funding , where donations are at, disclose the number of applicants they have had , how manu are being helped, how long the average wait

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am one of the people that did receive a food shipment from PFS on 10/2/2013. I was sent a 12lb bag of Wellness indoor formula and a 24pk of Wellness wet food. I was told by Marc o-CON that I would receive my second food shipment mid of last week. That week has come and gone and I have NOT received it. I have emailed o-CON twice and he refuses to answer me. He has also banned me from the PFS Facebook page after I was attacked by him and his cohorts under their fake accounts. I have all the emails of our exchange and Marc has blatantly lied to me and on me and refuses to give me an apology. I first emailed Marc on 9/25 after waiting over a month to be contacted after signing up. I like everybody else called the PFS number, left a message, and of course that message was never returned. So I contacted him and he contacted me back claiming there was no record of me on the site. I knew that was a lie and I said if there is no mention of me on the site then how am I able to log in. He checked again and saw I was registered. Claiming he misspelled my name. Lol how he misspelled it is a mystery since it was spelled out in front of him. So he then says they are still working on satisfying all customers and to give it a bit more time. Long story short I wasn't going to "give it a bit more time" when he had stated they were done with Feb apps and said they were on July apps. But yet there were people on the page that hadn't been contacted or sent food shipments from Feb. The info didn't add up. Anyway he emailed me back saying me accusing him of being dishonest wasn't appreciated and told me to tell him what I feed my cats and that a shipment would be sent out. I did and I received a shipment a few days or a week later. I apologized to Marc for accusing him of being dishonest and even offered to volunteer to help him. Of course he ignored that. I also told him one pack of 24 cans wasn't enough to feed my 2 cats for a month. He ignored that also. I do not strictly have my cats on a dry diet because I heard they can get urinary tract infections, kidney stones etc. So I feed them 3/4 cup of dry food in the morning and one can of wet food in the afternoon. 2 packs of wet food lasts my cats a month. Marc also never said we were restricted with which brands we could order nor did he ever say we had a financial limit on our orders or how much our pets were approved for. All he asks is "what do you feed your cats". Now Mr.o-CON has said he goes by the ASPCA feeding instructions and that they say you are to feed your pets 3lbs a food a month. That is a complete lie. I checked the ASPCA website and there is no mention of that. They say to feed your cats by weight and energy level. Now a vet and other places will tell you feeding instructions are on the back of the bags and cans. He told me that 3lb B/S because I posted publicly about being out of food and him not responding. When I checked my cats weight and how much to feed them it said 3/4 of dry food and one small can of wet food. Which is EXACTLY what I do. O-CON is trying to dictate feeding instructions due to PFS not having the funds to satisfy customers. Which is another thing Marc was forced by fox300 news station or whichever news station to give all the answers he refuses to give us. People have asked him what is going on with their personal information and time and time he refuses to answer that question. But he finally told the reporter our info is under lock and key and safe. Then he says there is a lack of funding and that they started out with 65,000 in grants. But yet o-CON was everywhere on TV and radio telling people to sign up when he KNEW he didn't have all the funds to support everybody. Why would you go on national TV and radio, tell people to sign up, knowing you don't have all the funds to help people??? Now there is also a verification process. What I would like to know is how is he able to verify if we are low income? I know my award letter I sent in doesn't have my S.S number on it but he does have my D.L number. He refuses to answer that question also. If you call up any government agency they are not going to tell you who is on public assistance and how much they get. So how are they verifying our info? Plus people have come forward saying their S.S checks have been stolen and someone from PFS called their banks trying to get their info. Amongst other things happening. Marc has also said he was going to tell us who their big sponsors were etc etc. He hasn't told us that. Also now he is claiming a lack of funding and people wanting to sponsor PFS. Which was another thing he was not open and honest about. Plus there are RARELY updates on the Facebook page. Maybe once a month there will be an update. Go look at other non profit organizations and how they run their social media pages. Updates 24/7 and they always respond to people. PFS is not run like that. I hear PFS isn't even set up in an office but in Marc's home and the phone has been disconnected. I notice how Marc only bans the people that question him and his operation but the people that defend him and bully others don't get banned from the Facebook page. More than likely those bullies are Marc, his brother, and people they know under fake accounts. Marc has also stated that I have been bashing him and PFS even after receiving help on numerous websites. Again that is FALSE. I bashed Marc BEFORE I received my first food shipment and then after I received my first food shipment and that was because he blatantly lied on me publicly. I only bashed him on the PFS FB page. When I asked him for proof of the websites I have been on he didn't produce it lol. I have contacted the BBB, left bad feedback on here, and plan on calling the NY or Texas attorney general on him. Supposedly the NY attorney general is already investigating him. Marc has brought all of this on himself. His refusal to answer people's questions or emails, refusal to call people back, not using common sense when running his program, his many lies, and his all around nastiness when he does decide to respond to people. He is a very dishonest snake and I can see why he doesn't have any donors and investors in his program. I can also see why PFS is failing. One thing I must mention is when I contacted him about my 2nd shipment he said that my food shipment was $71 more than the average shipments they sent out and if there was another brand I could choose. Anybody with common sense knows you cannot just switch your cat's food cold turkey. That will make them sick but also there are certain ingredients in various brands that some cats can have and some can't have. I told him no and if that was the case then why didn't he let me know this BEFORE he placed my first order. Again PFS never said we were limited with prices and brands. So that is a mistake on his part. I'm not gonna switch foods because he has a lack of funding. That's his problem. Maybe he should put restrictions on orders and open his mouth and tell people these things in the beginning. Of course he never gave me an answer as to why he didn't tell me this from the start as usual. That's o'l Marc for ya. Just ignores you. So beware when commenting on the FB page because you will be banned attacked. But mostly please report pfs and Marc to the BBB, NY attorney general(or your state's attorney general), the NY charity fraud division, and any other place. Get the word out about o-CON and his dishonesty and nastiness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find someone else to run this program. Someone with the BRAINS and common sense. I would also stop accepting applications and try to service the people already signed up. I would be more open and honest with applicants, try to get more volunteers to help out, and do more marketing and networking. But most importantly I never would have went public with this program until I made sure I had ALL of the proper funding to help people. I would have made sure I had investors and other donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I signed up for Pet Food Stamps in February. I sent all requested information, created my page on the website, and waited.

I received a phone call on October 9 or 10th from PFS calling to set up delivery. I missed the call but was called back on October 14th. We discussed how many pets I
had, of which breed, and their food requirements. I received my pet food shipment on October 18th.

I understand what a huge undertaking Mr. Okon has attempted. I have only seen negative posts here that sound very much like the people stirring up so much trouble at the PFS Facebook page. I felt it was necessary to inform the public that they (PFS) are sending out some orders. They are working their way through the huge list of applicants. I don't know if I will be getting regular orders for the full 6 months, at the moment, I really don't care. It would be wonderful if I did, but for now, my pets are being fed with food provided from Pet Food Stamps. And I am sending out a huge THANK YOU to them for their help!!!

I would love to leave a 5 star rating, but they are just getting established and do not yet 'far exceed' expectations. I hope,one day soon, to be able to edit my rating to a 5!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the group of troublemakers off the fb page for starters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I applied to Pet Food Stamps over 5 months ago, and have heard nothing back from them. I sent to them copies of my SNAP documentation, a copy of my NYS driver license (with photo), my SS#, date of birth and address, phone number, email. Everything they need to scam me. I emailed them three times and have not even got back a reply telling me they are over worked, or any kind of excuse. I have contacted the NY Attorney General and they at least sent me back a reply telling me a case has been opened and they are investigating. It is a real shame that this man (who if you look at his photos, he looks thuggish) took advantage of people who are struggling, and also used animals as a pity point, because there are so many people who are willing to donate much money if it is to benefit an animal. I hope this guy and his scam partners go to jail for a long, long time, if indeed it is true they they have ripped off everyone.

Just a note: I was reading the Pet Food Stamps website, and in the instructions part where you enter the names of all your pets (in Connections tab), they tell you that a donor will choose a pet and if that pet happens to be yours, then you receive the donation they sent in to use to get pet food at their pet food site. So my question is, if no one chooses your pet, then you never get any pet food? I am a little confused and sickened, too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do the entire thing honestly. Take the donations and distribute it to the people who applied. Simple as that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Been waiting for any word back from these guys since I signed up and nothing! Not even an e-mail stating what would happen next. Their turn around is supposed to be about two months..it's been 5. I recently went back to the website to log into my account and now the main site automatically redirects you to their social networking website that is still under construction without ANY link to access your account. I had to google the account site and log in that way. I promptly deleted the personal information I had posted months prior. I know that doesn't take it off their servers however. I'm worried this is a giant scam and possibly stealing identities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Actually set up a valid contact that will respond to your questions! Their phones have been taken down!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 31, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I needed the help from this organization and applied in Feb 2013. I was advised to send in my personal information in May or June and have heard nothing since. To date, this organization has not helped anybody except for a few which are believed to be shills to build confidence in those that are skeptical. I wish I never sent my information to them and you should think twice before sending cash. Too many things do not add up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a person in charge that can actually run a program like this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 30, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

If you are considering being a donor or applicant to Pet Food Stamps please BEWARE! Marc Okon started this organization in February 2013 and the first thing he did was to solicit a great deal of national media coverage. He did this before he had an office, funding for the program or developed sound application processes and procedures. Due to the media coverage thousands of poor, elderly and disabled people applied for Pet Food Stamps. Per Okon's instructions to applicants, they provided him with personal documents and data. To this day (August 30, 2013) it does not appear that he has provided free pet food to applicants. In addition, he does not respond to phone calls, emails or facebook posts from applicants. He has collected all of this personal data and understandably many applicants are now angry and confused and believe they have fallen for a scam. Complaints have been made to the New York Better Business Bureau and the New York Attorney General. (If you are a concerned applicant, please consider filing a complaint with these agencies.) For more information please see "Pet Food Stamps" Facebook page as well as the "Pet Food Stamps Scam?" Facebook page.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pet Food Stamps needs to be shut-down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 29, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Pet Foods Stamps is a sham. No where is proof of being a non-profit, no where is proof of actual people being helped outside of 3 or 4 who "might" have gotten some food since Feb....no where is there an actual physical address or a working phone number (which was taken down a month ago)...no where is there markers showing how many pet owners have been helped or donations made. HOWEVER...what there IS proof of are many, many who have waited since Feb without so much as an email, returned phone call or letter to keep in touch with how the process is going (you can read for yourself on his FB page under Pet Food Stamps).. comments asking for someone to contact them, asking how much longer will the wait be, what's happened to our personal financial information, where can I see your non-profit information....on and on and on. They won't even answer the most simple question regarding who the actual supplier of the food is (they lie about that also)...how is the food delivered...how long can we look forward to food...are we notified of delivery to be sure we're home. Marc Okon is a liar, a crook, and a fraud. The NYS Att Gen has been notified as well as the FTC. I’ve already gotten my letter from the NYS Att Gen and PFS is being investigated, and they did NOT register at anytime with that department. There are many, many of us now, all filing complaint forms with the authorities. He is using our personal information, and what of donations??? Where is the money going? When you call the supplier, PetFlow, they tell you that they are linked to him to fill donations orders, but to date, nothing has been shipped. I have email verifying that also, from the PetFlow co-founder. So who is getting the donations??? We’ve caught him in lies, and still there are those who hope beyond hope that food will arrive for their pets. We are the elderly, we are the disabled and we are those struggling from one paycheck to another, hoping we can not only feed ourselves, but our pets who we love and need. He is using us in the worst way. I have been waiting for news on anything to show me I haven’t been scammed. Since Feb ! You would think that if you see it splashed all over national news, it would certainly have to be legitimate. One woman already has had her SSI benefits tampered with leaving her without her depended check, and her GreenDot card has been hacked. He’s constantly promising things that clearly won’t happen. Marc Okon is a nothing....except for having a big mouth and the gall to pull the wool over everyone’s eyes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close them down.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers