Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.444445
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

People Resource Conservation Fund ( PRCF) , an Conservation NGO working to strengthening the local communities to manage their natural resources.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked directly with the organisation in a community-based gibbon conservation project in northeastern Viet Nam in 2005 and 2006. At that time PRCF had a small office but impressively with dedicated and professional staff, both international and local, in biology, species conservation, forestry management, community based rural planning and development. PRCF was our project’s partner conducting an initial resource use assessment and socio-economic study landscape of our eastern black-crested gibbon conservation area in the Tay and Nung ethnic communities of Cao Bang province. What was unique in PRCF’s approach to conservation was its commitment and strong actions in developing local expertise by collaborating with local universities and research institutes, supporting local researchers and encouraging participation of local communities in all aspects of its work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

In Vietnam, PRCF is working with local people and authorities in biodiversity conservation. PRCF's staff are professional, dynamic and committed to work in the field. PRCF are contributing to conservation of endangered species of Vietnam.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PRCF is serious about people-centered biodiversity conservation. Their approach is hybrid of sorts -- part international organization specialized expertise and part local organization with knowledgeable and committed national staff. The activities PCRF supports and the unique geographical areas served represent some of the more difficult conservation challenges we face: critically endangered species; complex challenges to sustainable landscapes; and economic marginalization due to ethnic trends and poverty cycles. PCRF is making a difference in the communities and countries that is serves. I am certain they would welcome your support, advise and volunteered contributions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with PRCF for over three years. It is a great organization which focusses mostly on grassroot level conservation and capacity building. Together we have successfully established a community forest in Karen State, Burma and trained the villagers who are currently conserving the forest on their own. We also conjoinlty produced a hoolock gibbon status survey in Khe Shor Ter Forest, Burma by using the pro-people method. Summarized, I guarantee that this organization has genuine capacity and desire to work with all stakeholders for the purpose of pro-people natural conservation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with PRCF since 2004. Initially in my free time supporting to develop its biodiversity conservation programme in Vietnam, by developing project ideas, helping write grant proposals and providing technical advice in my fields of expertise. In the past few years I have become more involved regionally, including a scoping visit to the Philippines, involvement in regional strategy workshops and acting as Exec. Secretary to the Board. I am happy to give my free time to PRCF. It is staffed and supported by very committed individuals who put in great energy in response to PRCF's vision and collegial working spirit. The vision of PRCF places strong emphasis in supporting local communities in biodiversity conservation and natural resource management, which is both extremely challenging in this region and inspirational.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen PRCF grown from nothing in Vietnam to now playing a major contribution in relation to similar organisations to conservation of some of Vietnam's exceptional biodiversity. In particular, uniquely PRCF is engaged in the most exciting conservation work I have seen in Vietnam, that is to restore the habitat for a critically endangered gibbon species. In addition, I have also witnessed PRCF develop programmes in Myanmar and Cambodia following Vietnam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Following a period of expansion, PRCF needs a period to consolidate its current good work; focussing on developing technical capacity through a synthesis of current expertise within the organisation to develop a framework of strong technical protocols and exchange. A stronger funding strategy needs to be developed and a clear vision of PRCF's work articulated to external parties, such as donors and current and potential partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

There is a special atmosphere of committed individuals with strong technical expertise and passion for their work, who all believe in the vision of PRCF. This is reinforced with mutual respect among people involved in PRCF. The approach of PRCF lays a strong emphasis in working at the grassroots level to help local communities help themselves.

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PRCF is a relatively small environmental NGO working in several countries in SE Asia focusing on biodiversity, ecosystems, and landscapes of global conservation significance. For me what makes PRCF different to other conservation NGOs is their long term presence on the ground at their field sites and the emphasis on working with remote and often ethnic minority or tribal community groups. I worked for PRCF for just over 1 year in 2006-2007, managing an environmental education project at Ba Be National Park in northern Vietnam. PRCF has maintained a programme at Ba Be for a number of years and works closely with both the park staff and the resident ethnic Tay and Nung minority groups in conserving this very special limestone landscape. Much of their funding for this work comes from the Regional Network for Indigenous Peoples and indeed they facilitated the hosting of a RNIP workshop in 2008 at Ba Be, where ethnic minority leaders and staff of similar projects gathered to discuss rights-based approaches to conservation and development. My fondest memories were of the annual Tay New Year festival where we used to run a stall with environmental education activities for local children - very messy and lots of fun!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Environmental Education, Strengthening Community Ownership and Rights over Natural Resources, Community-based conservation, Endangered Species Research

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am no longer really in a position to comment on this however my impression is that like all smaller sized NGOs PRCF faces difficulties in obtaining the requisite funding to maintain a solid presence in the countries where they work. They are fighting to survive in a very competitive space and their programmes would benefit from greater assured or core funding which would provide a secure base from which to launch their conservation support programmes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

What is unique about this organization?

The way it works on the ground and in partnership with communities towards achieving conservation goals. The organisation promotes a rights-based approach which is as much about preserving the cultures and identity of indigenous groups as it is about biodiversity conservation. PRCF works through traditional natural resource management structures by engaging local communities as genuine partners. A lot of what the organisation does is to try and facilitate the securing of better ownership, tenure and resource use rights for indigenous communities and in so doing build in a conservation or sustainable management agenda. It does this by working hard at the grassroots level and by only focusing on very specific and relatively small target groups. In SE Asia, PRCF is now being brought in by larger and more well-known conservation NGOs (such as Birdlife, Fauna and Flora International, Wildlife Conservation Society and others) to perform this role. It is in this sense that PRCF is unique and they perform a vital niche role in the high priority conservation areas in which they work. To me, this is a fundamentally different angle to the approaches still adopted by many conservation organisations and projects.

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I haven't worked for People Resources and Conservation Foundation, but I am familiar with their work and projects. Although they are small organization, they have a very strong local presence and this helps them to achieve greater impact. PRCF focuses on involving the remote communities in identifying the best ways to conserve their environment, and very often this means conserving some of the most valuable landscapes or species in the Asia-Pacific region. PRCF staff are important link between local people and global research findings and markets. However, it's not always easy to be present on the ground, as it requires funds and resources. It is therefore very good to share PRCF work with the general public and secure more support to continue their conservation and capacity building work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PRCF is composed of dedicated staff, both on the management level as on the field level. The projects they implement are truly focused on conservation of biodiversity. What impressed me when I met the team in Indonesia is the loyalty to the organization based on their view that PRCF works on the ground with communities, something they themselves can help shape through their own actions. They are happy to work for PRCF because the nature of the organization lets them do that and they feel that PRCF is really focused on the community level. Funds that go to PRCF represents well spent money, as only a minimum goes into overhead, without a bloated set of staff. Topics that PRCF typically seeks to cover focuses on threatened and endangered species, looking for community based resource management options wherever possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers